County Municipal Histories

Share & Bookmark, Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option
Print

Acknowledgements

The Division of Cultural & Heritage would like to express appreciation to the following groups and/or individuals for their contributions and permission to use their images and information.

Alpha Borough Clerks' Office
Brenda Heinrich Higgins
Blairstown Historic Preservation Committee
Canal Society of New Jersey
Charlie Fineran (Allamuchy Open Space)
Christine Beegle
Warren County Commissioner Lori Ciesla
Frelinghuysen Historical Society 
Friends of Ramsaysburg 
Greenwich Historical Society
Harmony Township Clerks' Office
Harmony Township Historic Commission
Hope Historical Society
Hope Historic Preservation Commission 
Knowlton Township Historic Commission
Metrotrails 
North Jersey Rail Commuter Association
Phillipsburg Area Historical Society
Washington Borough Historical Society

Also, the Division of Cultural & Heritage Affairs would like to acknowledge the support of the Bicentennial Cultural & Heritage Advisory Board, WC Department of Land Preservation, WC Department of Public Information, and the Warren County Board of County Commissioners.

As is sometimes the case, our history is only as good as the resources we have access to and therefore, some prior histories and/or historians may have inconsistent information, dates, names, etc. due to limitations with access to proper information.
If there are any significant errors (and you can provide the proper documentation), please contact Gina Rosseland.

 Did you miss Gina Rosseland's Bicentennial presentation on the 
"Origins of Warren Co."?
Click
 here for the PDF version of her presentation.

SHORT HISTORY OF NEW JERSEY & WARREN COUNTY

European settlers began to explore the Americas in the 15th c., claiming land for their respective nations. Oftentimes, they came into contact with the indigenous peoples of the Americans who had themselves migrated to this continent from Asia and Africa around 16,500 years ago.

The Eastern Algonquin Confederacy in New Jersey referred to themselves the "Lenni Lenape" or "Original People" and there were three subdivisions: Minsi/Munsee ("people of the stony country," wolf clan) to the north, Unami ("people of down the river," turkey clan) in central Jersey, and Unilachtigo ("people who live near the ocean," turtle clan) in south Jersey and Delaware. The Lenape society was "more dispersed and egalitarian, and leadership would often convene together to discuss shared issues and negotiate treaties affecting all Lenape people" ("History of the Delaware Nation").

 LENAPE ("Lenapehoking") PLACE NAMES IN WARREN CO., NJ
 Allamuchy (Allamachtey or "place within the hills")
Lopatcong ("Lowan peek achtu onk" or "winter water place for deer") 
Manunka Chunk ("Menankahchunk")
Located on border of White and Knowlton Townships
 Mount Mohepinoke  ("Mochcumpin" or "Blood roots")
Border of Liberty and White Townships
 Mount Tammany ("Chief Tamenend")
 Musconetcong River ("Moschakgeu" or "clear stream")
Pahaquarry ("Pahaquarra", "Pohoqualin"or "the place between the mountains besides the water")
 Pequest River ("Pequash" or "open land")
 Pohatcong ("Packatnsacunk" or "stream between split hills")
 Pophandusing Brook ("Po pachgandamen" or "to beat clothes place")

 The Origins of New Jersey Place Names. Trenton, NJ: NJ Public Library Commission. 1945.

The English name the river and consequently the Lenape after the first Governor of the Virginia Company, Lord De La Warr (12th Baron De La Warr). It was estimated that the native population of New Jersey decreased from about 2,000 warriors in 1658 to about 1,000 within 25 years, and severely affected the population within 50 years due to European-transmitted diseases (smallpox), emigration, and warfare/extermination by white settlers (Snyder, 1).

Map of the Subdivision of the Lenape in New Jersey Region
(Delaware & Lehigh National Heritage Corridor)

The Dutch explorers were given permission to visit and navigate lands between New France and the Virginia territory in 1614 and by 1623, the Dutch West India Company (DWIC) was formed in Holland explicitly for trade and commerce (Snyder, 1). In 1623, the DWIC sent a ship with settlers led by Cornelius Jacobse Mey to explore the coast from modern Cape May to the Delaware River (former "South River"). Mey named the southernmost tip of New Jersey for himself and established a fort in Gloucester Co. on the Delaware River (Snyder, 2).

Sweden's colony ("New Sweden"), established in 1655, grew very slowly and received little support from their country.  They settled mostly along Jersey coastline of the Delaware Bay (Snyder, 4).

The Dutch protested Swedish claims to the land along the Delaware River around 1639. Since neither side had many soldiers, both were unable to make a decisive move. The first English colonists to settle along the Delaware River were a part of the English Delaware Co. in New Haven, CT.  Most of the New Netherlands colonial settlements were in East Jersey, nearest the Hudson River.

SOME EXAMPLES OF DUTCH PLACE NAMES IN NJ
Achter Col
Achter Kol (17th c.)
"Rear Pass" or "Behind the Ridge" (Dutch)
Newark Bay and Hackensack River area
 ("Behind the ridge" or "behind the Palisades")
 Achter Kill
Arthur Kill
"Back Channel" (Dutch)
(Tidal straight or Staten Island Sound)
 Barnegat (Bay, Inlet, Lighthouse, etc.)
Barendegat or Barnde Gat
"Inlet of the breakers" or "surf cove" (Dutch)

Bergen County 
Province of New Netherland

Bergen Square (village of Bergen)
Began as factory at Communipaw (c. 1615)
 Communipaw
Factorij, or trading post, was established in 1617 by New Netherlands.
It is now a part of Jersey City.

 Hackensack
Factorij established in 1639.
Name honors "Sagamore of Hacquinsacq", Lenni Lenape Chief Oratam (b. 1577)
Achkinheshcky tribe (Lenni Lenape)
(
"A little river")

 Hoboken ("Hoeck")
("Cape" or "Peninsula")
"Hopoghan Hackingh" or "Land of the Tobacco Pipe" (Lenni Lenape)
"Hoebuck" or "High Bluff" (Dutch)
 Losen Slote
Little Ferry/Meadowlands
"Winding Creek" (Dutch)
 Pavonia
Jersey City
Patroonship in 1630
Named for Michiel Reyniersz Pauw (one of the directors of the West India Co.)
 Tiene Vly
Tene Vlay or Tenafly (1677)
"Ten Swamps", "Willow Meadow" or "Little Valley" (Dutch)

 Tiene Neck
Teaneck
"Neck of land" or "n
eck where there are willows" (Dutch)

The Origin of New Jersey Place Names. New Jersey Public Library Commission.  1945.

On March 25, 1584, Queen Elizabeth I (1533-1603) awarded Sir Walter Raleigh (ca. 1552-1618) a charter that granted his company all the American lands between 33° and 40° north latitude. English settlements were established along the rivers and streams connecting to the Hudson River. By 1676, New Jersey was surveyed into East and West Jersey (Snyder, 8).

Following the 1664 Anglo-Dutch Wars, England obtained all of New Netherlands from the Dutch. Between 1674 and 1702, the colony of New Jersey was divided in half-- West faced the Delaware River and East faced the Hudson River. Benjamin Franklin (1706-1790) called New Jersey, "a barrel tapped at both ends", and a productive region exploited by both Philadelphia and New York (Soderlund).

The Colony of New Jersey became a proprietary colony under Charles II (1630-1685), king of England. He granted the land to his brother, James the Duke of York (future King James II), who then granted it to Sir John Berkeley (1602-1670) and Sir George Carteret (c. 1610-1680). Ten years later, the proprietorship of New Jersey was divided in half with Berkeley taking West Jersey (who he sold to John Fenwick, c. 1618-1683 in trust for Edward Byllyne*, c. 1623-1687). East Jersey was then taken by Carteret.
* Variations in spelling: Byllynge, Billinge

At times, when Fenwick, an English Quaker, and Byllynge quarreled and the three Quaker trustees (or receivers), who included William Penn (1644-1718), Gawan Lawrie (d.c. 1716), and Nicholas Lucas, to mediate the dispute. The Duke of York, who was not helping matters, refused to transfer West Jersey to the three Quaker trustees (Soderlund). As a result of the conflicts between Byllynge and Fenwick, two Quaker settlements were established in West Jersey: Salem (founded 1675) and Burlington (founded 1677). 

The area of Warren County was originally part of West Jersey and included in Hunterdon County (1713-14 until 1738-39), Morris County (1738-39 to 1753) and lastly Sussex County (1753 to 1824/25). 

Following the division of New Jersey into East and West, the land was surveyed several times, and the province line that separated it was redrawn several times (West Jersey). The lines include:

  1. The Quintipartite Deed/Lawrence Line (1676, 1743, 1855-present) was originally signed by Penn, Lawry, Lucas and Byllynge, originally split the Province of New Jersey into East and West from 1674 to 1702.  The NJ Supreme Court determined this to be the legal line for property settlements in 1850.
  2. Keith's Line, or Province Line (1687) ran diagonally across the colony from Little Egg Harbor on the Atlantic coastline to the northwest. The northern third of this survey was not finished (and would include a good portion of modern-day Warren County) because of a discrepancy from the Quintipartite Deed. Province Line Road near Princeton is the Keith Line.
  3. Keith-Coxe-Barclary Line (1688-1695) was an extension of Keith's line and was a compromise between the governors of East and West Jersey. It was disavowed by East Jersey in 1695 and abolished by colonial legislature in 1719 in favor of the Quintipartite Deed.
  4. Thornton Line (1696) was created to fix the errors of the Keith Line and amending the Coxe-Barclay Line. It is seen on the Worlidge map of the Jerseys. This was never formally adopted.
  5. Lawrence Line (1743), created by surveyor John Lawrence as a final resolution to land disputes between East and West Jersey. By 1702, the two Jerseys merged into one.

Line-Between-East-and-West
NJ Map (East-West, 1780)(Philadelphia Encyclopedia)

Note: The lines not only defined the colony, but also placed what will become Warren County in the lands of West Jersey. Early deeds obtained by landholders in the Warren County area obtained land grants by the West Jersey Proprietors. 

From 1683 to 1763, a global European conflict called the "Seven Years' War" reached North America in 1754 and is referred as the "French & Indian War" (French, their native allies and small number of colonists vs. the English, their native allies and colonists).  The North American part of this global war occurred between the British and French regarding boundaries between their colonies. Using their native allies and colonists to do the majority of the fighting, failed attempts by both sides to assert dominance led to an eventual win by the British. Following the war, and a few hundred years of fighting, the British incurred a great deal of war debt (£75 million in 1756 to £133 million in 1763). In order to manage the debt, the British imposed taxes on the American colonists, which was a major cause of the American Revolution.

Map French & Indian War 1754-63
French & Indian War (1754-1763)
(Edmaps.com)

During the French & Indian War, block houses and fortifications were created along the Delaware River through the current Delaware Water Gap National Recreation Area (DWGNRA) along "Old Mine Road", one of the oldest continuously used roads in the United States. It was built by Dutch settlers in order to transport copper from the mines in Pahaquarry (Warren County) to the Eposus, NY, located along the Hudson River. The route was 104 miles in length and is currently (mostly) accessible by vehicle today. 

There were several French & Indian War forts along the Delaware River in what is now Warren County: Fort Reading (c. 1756, Belvidere), McMurtrie's Fort (1756, Belvidere), Ellison's Fort (1756, Delaware), and New Fort (1758, Columbia). The thousand-man regiment ("Jersey Blues") to garrison these forts/fortified homes, which defended the western portion of the colony of New Jersey (Koppenhaver, "Hampton's Map").

At the beginning of the French & Indian War, Abraham Van Campen (1698-1767) was appointed colonel of a colonial militia. He was born in Kingston, NY and was considered one of the wealthiest property owners in the Water Gap region. 

William Maxwell ( 1733-1796), who would later gain notoriety during the Revolution, served with General Edward Braddock (1695-1755) at the Battle of Fort Duquesne on July 9, 1755 and also with General Abercrombie during his expedition against Ticonderoga in July 1759. He was also reported to have served under General Wolfe at the fall of Quebec in 1759. He was attached to the commissary department of the British army in Mackinaw, MI as a colonel (Cummins, 31).  The war ended with the Treaty of Paris (1763).

The French & Indian War provided "valuable military experience for New Jersians who would later fight in the American Revolution" (NJ Militia Museum). As a result of American involvement in this part of the Seven Years' War, the British imposed a series of taxes, some excessive, to force the colonists to pay part of the war debt. The French and Indian War is considered one of the major causes of the American Revolution (1775-1783).

Although the County is not situated in the middle of the battles during the Revolution, it served in other capacities-- manpower and supplies.  

Following the Battle of Bunker Hill (June 17, 1775), men of Sussex County (including Warren County) signed up to fight the British.

The highest ranking officer of the Continental Army to be buried in Warren County is Brig. General William "Scotch Willie" Maxwell (1733-1796). He served under General Edward Braddock (1695-1755) during the French & Indian War (1754-1763) and under General Washington during the Revolution. He began his service in the Revolution as a Colonel of the 2nd Regiment NJ Line in 1775 and resigned from service in 1780. He was born in Tyrone, Ireland and came to America in 1747. He died in Lansdowne, NJ (south of Clinton, Hunterdon Co.) on 12 November 1796.  

New Jersey played a significant military and political role during the Revolution, including significant battles at Trenton, Princetonand Monmouth. Washington led his forces across the state four times and encamped at Jockey Hollow in Morristown during three harsh winters (including 1777 and 1780), which earned the state the title of "Crossroads of the American Revolution." Residents of Warren County contributed to the war effort with grain and other food sources, manpower, and supplies. 

Both Captain John McMurtrie (1738-1792), a tavern owner, and Lieutenant William White (1737-1792) were members of the Oxford Township (Sussex Committee) of Safety, and joined the army at Boston following the Battle of Bunker Hill (Cummins, 216). The Committees of Public Safety were grassroots organizations that consisted of men who supported the idea of independence. McMurtrie, "being desirous of going to Boston where the Americans were rallying under the standard of Washington, then just appointed Commander-in-Chief of the Continental forces, requested the Committee to certify as to his place of abode, character and reputation, which was at once complied with" ("McMurtries/McMurtrys In the American Revolution"). Veterans and those who died during the Revolution are buried throughout the county in church cemeteries and private family burying grounds. Revolutionary Veterans are buried in the old cemeteries (both public and private) around the county.
     * The son of Capt. John McMurtrie was John Hancock McMurtrie (1776-1851). He married the eldest daughter of Joseph W. Shippen (1737-1795) and Martha Axford (1740-1791) in 1803, Ann Shippen (1776-1854). They lived in Moon Twp., Allegheny Twp., PA. Joseph W. Shippen was the second son of Dr. William Shippen, Sr. (1712-1801), the Continental Congressman and eventual owner of Shippen Manor, Oxford Furnace, and the area mines.

 Asbury Methodist Church Cemetery
(Asbury)
 Belvidere Cemetery 
(Belvidere)
 
Union Brick Cemetery
(Blairstown)
 Danville Presbyterian Church Cemetery
(Great Meadows) 
 First Presbyterian Church of Oxford
(Hazen)
*This is the oldest Presbyterian Cemetery in the County 
Mansfield-Woodhouse Presbyterian Church Cemetery
(Washington Twp.)  
Old Greenwich Presbyterian Church Cemetery
(Greenwich) 
Old Presbyterian Burying Grounds
(Hackettstown)  
Ramsaysburg Cemetery
(Delaware)
Saint James Lutheran Cemetery 
Straw Church
(Pohatcong)  

 Some of the publicly accessible cemeteries with Revolutionary War veterans interred within. 

In the late 1700s to the early 1900s, the principal manner of crossing the Delaware was by ferry. Several crossed the Delaware between Warren County and eastern Pennsylvania as a much-needed passageway for the transportation of goods, people and supplies. Ferries were "large flat-bottomed wooden barges called scows" that were hand-operated with the use of heavy chains, cables or ropes that were strung across the river and attached to large pulleys along the shoreline (Leiser).

FERRIES ALONG THE DELAWARE RIVER

Dimmick's or Fisher's Ferry
Middle Smithfield Twp, PA/Pahaquarry, NJ
Run by the Shoemaker Family from early 1800s until it was sold to W.L. Fisher in 1874. Fisher sold it seven years later to Michael H. Dimmick (house/hotel, large barn, ice house, blacksmith shop, chicken coop on 100 acres of farmland). Peter, son of Michael Dimmick, ran the ferry until his death in 1937. The property was auctioned in 1939 and sold to Earnest Olselwsky for $4,500 (Leiser; Cummins, 241). The fee to cross the ferry in the 1920s and 1930s was 25 cents per vehicle (Monroe County).

Dill's/Decker's/Lamb's/Weller's/Ott's Ferry
Delaware/Columbia
 Built by Daniel Decker in 1756 and possibly transported soldiers during Sullivan's 1779 march against the Iroquois Nation. Led by Col. Philip Van Corlandt, the men traveled from Port Jervis, NY and camped at Decker's Ferry for three days, eventually crossing the Delaware past Fort DePui (Shawnee, PA) to Fort Penn (Stroudsburg, PA) (Leisler). It is said that "the ferry transported soldiers during Gen. John Sullivan's 1779 march against the Iroquois nation" (Monroe History).

 McCain/Myers/Broadman's Ferry
Belvidere
Active around 1800, this ferry was located at Water Street along the Delaware and the ferryman was Daniel McCain who produced nails on an anvil for ten to twelve cents per pound (Cummins, 114).
*Unsure if this is the same mentioned on page 118, "Before 1836 a ferry was operated just below the bridge."

Snyder Ferry
Brainards (Harmony)
Samuel Vannatta (1785-1855) purchased 160 acres of land at Brainard's in 1803, "including the Snyder Ferry, which he and his son, Silas, after him ran successfully for man years (Cummins, 162). 

 Martin's Ferry
Phillipsburg/Easton
The Martin Tract and Ferry Rights were purchased by Rev. Peters and sold to Richard Penn, who then sold them to others. In 1739, David Martin was granted the right to a ferry across the Delaware in the vicinity of Lopatcong and Musconetcong Creeks. The grant included 105 acres of land above the Coxe tract along the Phillipsburg town line. In 1742, this ferry crossed the river "but was a canoe to take over people while their horses swam alongside." Shortly thereafter, Rev. Mr. Peters bought the Martin tract and ferry rights and sold them to Richard Penn, and he sold them to Jacob Arndt Sr., who in 1794 conveyed the 105 acres to Lewis Goch, and he to Thomas Bullman in 1798" (Cummins, 25, 165, 228).

 Hughes/Roper's Ferry
Carpentersville (Pohatcong)
Located in Carpentersville, the ferry operated as early as 1769 (Cummins, 240, 242).
Shank/Riegel Ferry
Pohatcong
Before 1800, three brothers (Shank) in Finesville occupied a log house on the other side of the river and operated a ferry. The property was purchased by Benjamin Riegel in 1807 and the bridge at Riegelsville was built across the Delaware in 1838 (Cummins, 241). 
 Stillwell's/Brinker's Ferry
Durham/Pohatcong

The old Chelsea Forge in Finesville obtained its pig iron from the Durham Furnace (produced iron as early as 1727) through Stillwell's or Brinker's Ferry in Pennsylvania (Cummins, 243).

This is a list of the known ferries between Knowlton to the north and Pohatcong to the southwest.

New Jersey developed as a pre-industrial and early industrial state with iron furnaces and forges, mining, mills and eventually larger factories, railroads, and canals.

During the "Turnpike Era" (1801-1829), the New Jersey Turnpike Co. (incorporated in 1806) built a 4-rod (66-feet) wide road from Albany, NY to Brunswick, NJ to Easton, PA. This led to the construction of roadways that connected various points throughout the state and country, some of which traversed Warren County, such as the Easton-New Brunswick Turnpike (South Main St., Phillipsburg) that was chartered in 1806 and the Washington Turnpike (Rt 57), a toll road between Morristown and Phillipsburg ("State Highways of New Jersey, 57"; Cummins, 229).
     * The present-day alignment of Route 57, west of Penwell, was built as part of the Washington Turnpike in 1806. It ran from Morristown to Phillipsburg. Later, it was a part of the William Penn  Highway (1916) from NYC to Pittsburgh ("Eastern Ohio, Western Pennsylvania..."). It is also known as the "Morris Turnpike" (Cummins, 229).

Early industries in Warren County were somewhat reliant upon water-power, initially at least. One example of this is the Columbia Glassworks (Knowlton Township). In 1812, Francis Meyerhoff, a German immigrant, built a glass factory along the Delaware River near the current pedestrian bridge. He ran the operations here until his debt caused him to close it down in 1825. Afterwards, the business changed hands a few times until it was abandoned in 1845 (Cummins, 189). These industries varied in their type, output and duration and included the Oxford Furnaces (#1: 1741-1884, #2: 1871-1895, 1910-1921), silk and other textile mills, grist and saw mills that dotted the county and were found along creeks, streams and rivers while blacksmiths and carpenters were found in nearly every community. 

Columbia Glassworks
"View of the Water Gap and Columbia Glassworks - River Delaware"
Aquatint by William Strickland from an oil by Thomas Birch.
(WCCHA Collection)

In 1824, the Morris Canal & Banking Company (MC&BC) was chartered to build a canal across the northern part of the state to transport anthracite coal to markets in eastern markets and New York City.  The Morris Canal opened in 1831 from Phillipsburg on the Delaware River to Newark. By 1836, the canal extended 102 miles across the highlands to its summit level near Lake Hopatcong then down to Jersey City. There was a system of 23 lift locks, 11 guard locks, and 23 inclined planes constructed to overcome the 1,674 foot elevation changes (760 feet from Phillipsburg to Lake Hopatcong and 914 feet from mean tide at Jersey City to Lake Hopatcong), and the water-powered inclined planes were an engineering marvel that permitted for the raising and lowering of canal boats up to 100 feet at a time.  A one-way trip along the Morris Canal, from Phillipsburg to Jersey City would take 5 days using a team of two mules as the boat's power source ("Explore the Morris Canal"). By the early 20th c., the canal had become obsolete and by 1924, a plan was approved and adopted that would close and dismantle it. Ownership of the water resources such as Lake Hopatcong, Lake Musconetcong, and Greenwood Lake all passed into the hands of the State. Today, the Morris Canal Greenway, "a partnership between local communities and the Canal Society of New Jersey, seeks to preserve the surviving historic remains of the canal, interpret canal sites, and offer recreational opportunities to the public" ("Explore the Morris Canal").

morris-canal-map
Map of the Morris Canal
(Canal Society of NJ)

The County of Warren was created by State Legislature on November 20, 1824, "All the lower part of the county of Sussex beginning' on the river Delaware at the mouth of the Flatbrook, in the township of Walpack, and running from thence a straight course to the northeast corner of Hardwick church, situated on the south side of the main road leading from Johnsonburg to Newton, and from thence in the same course to the middle of Musconetcong creek, be, and the same is hereby erected into a separate county, to be called 'the County of Warren'; and a line running from thence down the middle of the said Musconetcong creek to where it empties into the Delaware, shall hereafter be the division line between the counties of Morris and Hunterdon and the said county of Warren." The new county was named in honor of General Dr. Joseph Warren (1741-1775), a Founding Father, leading member of the Sons of Liberty, American physician and notable Revolutionary leader from Boston who died during the Battle of Bunker Hill.  

SIGN GARRET D. WALL PARK
Historic Marker, Garret Wall Park (Belvidere)
(HMdb)

Following the legislation, the County's Freeholders were chosen, but a location for the county seat (where its courthouse and other government buildings could be located) had not been decided upon. A vote of county citizens occurred from April 19-20, 1825 in order to determine which town should be chosen-- from Hope, to Oxford, Washington and Knowlton. Due to the generous donation of land for the Courthouse and a park by Burlington Co. resident Garret Dorset Wall in 1825, the County seat was established in Belvidere. The first board of Chosen Freeholders met in Belvidere on May 11, 1825, which officiates Warren County's separation from Sussex. The Freeholders ordered $3,500 to be raised in order to build a brick courthouse with a jail, Surrogate and Clerk's office on the first floor and a courtroom on the second floor. By 1825, there were seven townships in the County: Greenwich, Hardwick, Pahaquarry, Mansfield, Oxford, Knowlton and Independence (NJGenWeb Project). 

The Chosen Freeholders (now referred to Board of County Commissioners) were determined on May 11, 1825 to be: Moses Vancampen & Jacob Brotzman (Pahaquarry), Uzal O. Howell and George Mott (Hardwick), John Schmuck and Robert Thompson (Independence), Daniel Swayze and David Reid (Knowlton), Nathan Hoagland and Alexander White (Oxford), Archibald Robeson and Garret Lacey (Mansfield), and Peter Kline and Jonathan Robins (Greenwich). According to the May 12, 1825 minutes of the County Freeholders, "Resolved that the Board of Chosen Freeholders recomend (sic) to the Commissioners appointed by the Legislature of the State of New Jersey to fix uppon (sic) the Site for the location of the public buildings in and for the County of Warren, do fix the site at any place within the limets (sic) of their power, wherever the largest sum of money may be offered for the purpose and use of the public buildings for the County of Warren" (4).  

On 18 May 1825, Garret D. Wall, "appeared before the Board and presented a deed made by him to the Board of Chosen Freeholders of the County of Warren and their successors in office for a lot of ground on which the public buildings for the County of Warren should be erected and likewise presented certificates to satisfy the Board of its validity" (Minutes Book, page 6). On June 9, Garret D. Wall, "deposited with the Board a deed for a lot of ground on which the public buildings in and for the County of Warren should be erected, likewise releases from Thomas Croxall & Mary his wife, Daniel C. Croxell [sic] and Mary his wife executed by them to him for the said lot or lots of ground, and releases from Thomas Artley and John Savage executed by them to him-" (Minutes Book, page 7).
     * Mary "Polly" Morris Croxall (1763-1824) was the daughter of Robert Morris (1734-1806), a Founding Father, Continental Congressman and politician from Pennsylvania. She married Captain Charles Moale Croxall (1756-1831). Her father built the "Croxall House", located at 116 Greenwich Street in Belvidere (private residence, next to the Belvidere Theatre).

 WC Courthouse
Warren County Courthouse, Belvidere
(Warren Co. Bar Association)

In the years leading up to the Civil War, it has been recorded that New Jersey sent over 88,000 soldiers (both white and black) to join the Union forces. These men were a part of 40 regiments, five artillery batteries, three cavalry regiments (16th, 32nd, and 36th) and 37 infantry regiments, including US Colored Troops and naval forces (Stryker). In addition, men (both black and white) served in the three branches of the US Military (Army, including the infantry and cavalry, Navy, and Marines). Also, there were Warren Co. men who served in a variety of out-of-state regiments (NY, PA, WI, District of Columbia, IL, MO, MD, KY, IN, OH, ME, CT, DE), and a few served as chaplains. Some men were wounded, succumbed to their injuries or diseases, were captured, and others survived and mustered out of service while a few fought for the Confederacy or deserted (Richards).

The men from the NJ Regiments primarily fought in Eastern theater battles such as Antietam, Fredericksburg, Gettysburg, and the Wilderness. Three notable men from Warren County who fought at Gettysburg included: Brigadier General Robert McAllister (1813-1891) and Lt. John Schoonover (1839-1930) with the 11th NJ and Lt. Col. William Henry, Jr.(1830-1889) with the 1st NJ Battalion (1st NJ), and Col. Charles Scranton (1823-1909) who was aide-de-camp to Governor Olden at Camp Fair Oaks (Flemington). 

 

 11NJ Gettysburg

Left face (north side of monument)
11th New Jersey Vols.
Col. Robert McAllister
1st Brig. 2nd Div. 3d Corps
July 2, 1863
Mustered in Aug 19, 1862.
Mustered out July 1865.
Engaged in 29 battles.
Erected by the State of New Jersey.
1888
____

Right face (south side of monument):
This stone marks the spot reached by the right of the regiment the left extending towards the south-east. The position was held under a severe fire which killed or disabled nearly three-fifths of the regiment, including every officer present above the rank of lieutenant.

Number engaged 275.
Killed 31, wounded 109,
Missing 12, total 152.
Of the missing six are supposed to have been killed.

11th New Jersey Infantry Regiment, Emmitsburg Rd., Gettysburg
("Gettysburg Monuments," NPS)

Colonel Robert McAllister (Belvidere) commanded the 11th NJ at Gettysburg. Within the first few hours of fighting on the second day of battle (July 2 1863), McAllister was severely wounded. Major Philip Kearney (1841-1863) was already mortally wounded, leaving Captain Luther Martin (1827-1863) of Co. D to take over as the regiment's senior officer. Martin was then wounded in the food and shot in the thigh and chest while trying to make his way to the rear before dying from his wounds. Both Martin and McAllister were carried off of the field. Captain William Lloyd briefly took command until he was wounded. This left Lt. John Schoonover (1839-1930, Oxford) to take over until late in the afternoon when he was also wounded. The regiment ended the day under the command of Captain Samuel T. Sleeper ("11th New Jersey Infantry Regiment"). McAllister was later breveted Major General in recognition for his four years of service.
     * McAllister and the 11th NJ were a part of the 2nd Division, 1st Brigade under Brig. Gen. Joseph B. Carr ("Gettysburg").

Warren County black men who served in various US Colored Troop regiments (3rd, 8th, 22nd, 25th, 32nd, 34th, 41st, 43rd, 45th, 127th) as well as the 54th Massachusetts Infantry Regiment and the 5th Massachusetts Cavalry were also instrumental in the Civil War. The men who fought in these all-black regiments from NJ and PA trained at Camp William Penn, outside of Philadelphia, PA.
 * The 54th MA is the first all-black regiment of the Civil War and led by Col. Robert Gould Shaw (1837-1863) and black regiments were led by white officers in the Civil War). 

On April 9, 1865, after four long years of fighting, General Robert E. Lee and the Army of Northern Virginia surrendered to Gen. U.S. Grant and the Army of the Potomac at the McLean house in Appomattox Courthouse, Virginia. Even though the South capitulated to the North, the war was catastrophic to the entire country-- injuries, loss of life, loss of horses, destruction of farmland, houses, businesses/industries, and the railroad in large swaths of the South.

Lee surrenders to Grant 1865
Gen. U.S. Grant (L) accepts surrender of the Army of Northern Virginia from Gen. Robert E. Lee (R) in the parlor of Wilmer McLean at Appomattox Court House, VA
on April 9, 1865. 
[Landmark Events]

Following the Civil War, the United States began the Reconstruction Era (1865-1877).  The United States struggled with reintegrating Southern states into the Union while trying to acclimate to the status of newly freed African Americans. This was a struggle that would last until the Civil Rights Movement less than 100 years later.

In the 350 years of innovation in the State, men such as Thomas Alva Edison (1847-1931) created or improved upon technology of the era. Edison founded the Edison Portland Cement Company in 1899 in New Village, Franklin Township, Warren County . During the production years of the Edison Portland Cement, the company supplied concrete for the construction of the original Yankee Stadium (1922). His production had the first long, rotating kilns in the world that stood as tall as 150 feet. To help improve his financial stability and to enable his competitions to increase production, he licensed his kilns to other manufacturers. About three miles west of the plant is the Concrete Mile, constructed in 1912 with Edison Portland Cement in New Village. This was the first concrete highway in New Jersey and one of the first in the United States.  

 EDISON CEMENT WORKS

Edison's Portland Cement plant, New Village 
(WCCHA Archives)

Between 1870 and 1914, the Second Industrial Revolution occurred in the United States and was a period of massive technological and industrial growth with the presence of new materials (petroleum, chemicals, and electricity) enabled some manufacturers to expand (Engelman). In 1909, the (Standard Silk Company in Phillipsburg expanded with an additional 200 looms to make it one of the largest silk mills in the nation. By 1910, the Continental Silk Mills at Paterson moved their 80-loom plant to their new site in Phillipsburg ("New Jersey Silk Mills").

The United States entered World War I on April 6, 1917 and sent human and material resources to support the war effort. During the few years prior to direct American involvement, New Jersey's industries supplied "munitions, ships, chemicals, automobile parts, and petroleum products to the Allies" ("New Jersey and the Great War").  Over 140,000 New Jersians served in World I war, including 72,946 conscripts (draftees), and 46,960 volunteers ("The Great War & New Jersey"). During the War, of those who served in World War I, 289 died or were listed as missing in action. Although the war ended in Europe in November 1918, the Treaty was signed at the Palace of Versailles (Treaty of Versailles), France in June 1919, formally ending military engagements.

Towards the end of the war, America was embroiled in its own issues--prohibition, women's rights, and discrimination. In 1920, New Jersey was the first state to ratify Prohibition, enacted by the 18th Amendment that outlawed the manufacture, sale and transportation of alcoholic beverages. This led to a rise in organized crime and bootlegging., which would ultimately lead to a repeal of the 18th Amendment in 1933.

The most publicized event of 1927 was the cross-Atlantic flight of Charles Lindbergh (1902-1974), who flew non-stop from New York to Paris. The engine that powered his airplane was made in Paterson, New Jersey.  In 1932, Charles Lindbergh and his wife, Anne Morrow Lindbergh (1906-2001), lost their son, Charles Augustus Lindbergh, Jr. (1930-1932), when he was kidnapped from his crib in their home near Hopewell (Hunterdon Co.), NJ. The 20-month old was later found dead, which sparked national sensation and was labeled "the crime of the century" ("Lindbergh Kidnapping").

In the years between the world wars, as a result of rapid industrialization, consumerism and social changes, the "Era of Prosperity" (was brief and followed by more than a decade of a severe economic depression ("the Great Depression"). In in 1930s, Pres. Franklin D. Roosevelt (1882-1945) created the "New Deal" that included the creation of programs to help get Americans back to work. By 1936, more than 120,000 New Jersians worked for the Works Progress Administration (WPA) and another 91,500 in the Civilian Conservation Corps, which impacted the landscape of New Jersey through the erection of 199 bridges, building of 47 dams and planting more than 21 million trees" ("A Short History of New Jersey"). 

Strotz Road Bridge Widening (Asbury)
 
Grade Separation
(Great Meadows)

Completed January 1937
 
 Hackettstown State Fish Hatchery (Hackettstown)
1933
 

Brook Clearing (Hackettstown)
1936

Franklin Street Storm Sewer (Hackettstown)
1936

Post Office (Hackettstown)
1935
  
 Road Grading (Oxford)
March 1937
Post Office (Phillipsburg)
1933
 
Post Office (Washington)
1939
 
Post Office Mural
(Washington)

Warren Hills Regional Middle School (Washington)
1936

William Henry Walters Park (Phillipsburg)
 1936
 

 "New Jersey Sites." Living New Deal. Department of Geography. University of California. 
Historical Marker Database (hmdb.org) 

Following the attack on Pearl Harbor (December 7, 1941), the United States entered World War 2 on behalf of the Allied forces. New Jersey's economy continued to be affected by the Great Depression through the 1930s, but began to show strong recovery as industry converted to war-time production. Factories in New Jersey produced a wide range of military-grade weapons, munitions, vehicles and equipment for the war effort ("History-- World War II"). The United States was resolute and on December 8, 1941, declared war against Japan. Three days later, Germany and Italy (allies of Japan) declared war on the United States. New Jersey played a significant role in the war efforts. Larger cities such as Paterson and Newark were key industrial locations while the military base (Fort Dix) was a departure point for soldiers.  More than 560,501 New Jersey men and women served in the military during the 2nd World War. Casualties numbered at 10,372 who were killed or died in accidents or from illnesses ("History-- World War II").

During the Cold War conflicts, particularly the Korean and Vietnam Wars, there were a significant number of New Jersians that served on behalf of the American forces. In the Korean War, there were over 150,000 New Jersians with 3,836 casualties. The Combat Wounded Veterans Military Order of the Purple Heart (1782-1932) is located in Belvidere, NJ and is dedicated to all the recipients of the Purple Heart in Warren County.

Various memorials have been installed throughout the county that honor veterans of World War I, World War II, Korea and Vietnam, in addition to the more modern conflicts. The estimated Warren County war casualties (killed in action or missing in action) from these conflicts is about 287 men and two women. The County memorial for those who perished in World War I, World War II, Korea and Vietnam is situated outside of the courthouse in Belvidere.

Today, Warren County is still primarily agrarian with some remaining or new industries. The railroad is less active and far-reaching as it once was, while the canal parks offer insight to a technology that was one marveled a time long ago.

RESOURCES:

"A Short History of New Jersey." State of New Jersey.  [Digital]

Aun, Fred J. "A Fine Old Line Across New Jersey". Survey History. January 1995. Originally from New Jersey Society of Professional Land Surveyors, Spring 1993, Vol 15, No 1.  [Digital]

Covart, Elizabeth. "New Sweden: A Brief History." Unearthing the Past: Student Research on Pennsylvania History. Penn State University Libraries. [Digital]

Dunlap, Arthur Ray. Dutch and Swedish Place-Names in Delaware. Newark, DE: Delaware: University of Delaware Press, 1956.

Engleman, Ryan. "The Second Industrial Revolution, 1870-1914." U.S. History Scene. [Digital]

"Explore the Morris Canal." Canal Society of New Jersey. [Digital]

"French & Indian Wars." National Guard Militia Museum of New Jersey. [Digital]

"French & Indian War/Seven Years' War, 1754-1763." Office of the Historian. US Department of State. [Digital]

"Gettysburg." National Military Park Pennsylvania. National Park Service. [Digital]

Hine, C.G. The Old Mine Road. New Brunswick, NJ: Rutgers University Press. 1963. 

"History-- World War II." New Jersey Almanac. [Digital]

Koppenhaver, Robert. "Hampton's Map." Skylands Visitor. Spring 2011/2025. [Digital]

Johnson, Amandus. The Swedish Settlements on the Delaware, 1638-1664. Volume 1. Philadelphia: Swedish Colonial Society. 1911. [Digital]

Leiser, Amy. "When Ferries Crossed the Delaware River." Monroe County Historical Association. 8 Aug 2015.  [Digital]

"Lindbergh Kidnapping." History. FBI. [Digital]

"McMurtries/McMurtrys In the American Revolution." September 1993. [Digital]

Nack, William. "This Old House." Sports Illustrated Vault. 7 June 1999.  [Digital]

Neville, Gabriel. "The 'B Team' of 1777: Maxwell's Light Infantry." Journal of the American Revolution. 10 April 2018. [Digital]

"New Jersey and the Great War." The United States World War One Centennial Commission. [Digital]

"New Jersey Silk Mills, Phillipsburg." Textiles History. NC State University. [Digital]

"Organization of Warren County." NJGenWeb Project.  [Digital]

Rand McNally and Co. "Eastern Ohio, Western Pennsylvania, South East Michigan, Southern Ontario, Western New York: District No. 4". Rand McNally Official Auto Trails Map, 3rd ed., 1924, pp. 168-169. David Rumsey Historical Map Collection, David Rumsey (curator), Cartography Associates, Accessed Nov 4, 2019. [Digital]

Richards, Jay C. Officers & Men of Warren County in the Civil War, 1861-1865. Phillipsburg, NJ: 1998/2005.

Rossi, John A. A Brief History of Glassmaking. Precision Electronic Glass Incorporated. 1998. [Digital]

Snyder, John P. The Story of New Jersey's Civil Boundaries, 1606-1968. Trenton, NJ: Bureau of Geology and Topography. 1969.

Soderlund, Jean R. "West New Jersey." The Encyclopedia of Greater Philadelphia. [Digital]

"State Highways of New Jersey- 31." State Highways of New Jersey. [Digital]

"State Highways of New Jersey- 46." State Highways of New Jersey.  [Digital]

"State Highways of New Jersey- 57." State Highways of New Jersey. [Digital

"The Great War & New Jersey." Rutgers University Libraries' Special Collections & University Archives. [Digital]

"The History of Delaware Nation." Delaware Nation. [Digital]

"The Origin of New Jersey Place Names." Trenton, NJ: NJ Public Library Commission. 1945. [Digital]

"View of the Water Gap and Columbia Glass Works - River Delaware." Warren County Cultural & Heritage Affairs. Image.

Warren Co. History & Directory, or Farmer’s Manual & Business Men’s Guide, Press of the Review, 1886. pp 104-106. [Digital]

"When ferries crossed the Delaware River." Monroe Co. Historical Association. 8 Aug 2015. [Digital]

"Where was the West Jersey/East Jersey Line?" West Jersey and South Jersey Heritage.  [Digital]

"White Township History from the Days of the Indian to the Present." White Township Tercentenary Committee. 1964.  [Digital]

Allamuchy Township

Incorporated by an act of the NJ Legislature on April 4, 1873.

WINTHROP RUTHERFURD ESTATE 2

Rutherfurd Hall, c. 1911 (WCCHA Collection)

Allamuchy Township, located in the northeast portion of Warren County, was originally named for a Lenape village located within its modern-day boundaries that was named for the local Lenape Chief Allamuchahokkingen, which translates to "Allamucha" or "a place within the hills" (Allamuchy).  According to George Wyckoff Cummins in his book, The History of Warren County, New Jersey (1911), this Lenape name was recorded in 1715 in early surveys of the region (108). The township has comprised of several smaller hamlets and villages including Quaker Grove, Meadville and Warrenville (currently Panther Valley). Allamuchy was created from a part of Independence Township.

In 1715, Allamuchy was a part of a tract of land surveyed by John Reading for William Penn, which became a Quaker settlement. As a result, these settlers were the first white settlers to the region. They established a meeting house and burying ground at the northern end of Great Meadows on Johnsonburg Road (CR 612). On July 8, 1745, "Samuel Willson, Jr. was appointed by the Kingwood meeting of Hunterdon County to serve as an overseer at the Hardwick particular meeting" (Cummins, 109). 

Deputy surveyor, John Reading II (1686-1767), issued a warrant on March 10, 1715 to lay out a tract of William Penn's land and described it as, "On both side of the Paquaessing [Pequest] River upon an Indian path which leads from Allamuchahokin [Allamuchy] to Pakackqualong [Pahaquarry]... on both sides of the Pequest River upon an Indian path which leads from Allamuchy to Pahaquarry" (Cummins, 109). Richard Penn, the grandson of William Penn the proprietor of Pennsylvania, gave a deed for the land "for a Friends' meeting house forever" in 1752. Located near the corner of Quaker Church Road and Johnsonburg Road (CR 612), the original Quaker Meeting House was built of log, this meeting house was succeeded by a stone structure in 1762 (Dale, 1). This sturdy stone structure remained for about a century before it was torn down and in its place a Quaker public school house was built (Cummins, 110), which is currently a private residence. During the 19th century when Quakers became ardent supporters of the abolition movement, the settlement became a station on the "Underground Railroad" and was located between Quakertown (Hunterdon Co.) and the "Drowned Lands" of Sussex County.

In the late 18th c., John Rutherfurd (1760-1840), "a grandson of James Alexander, surveyor-general, and one of the proprietors of New Jersey, settled on the estate at Tranquility and Allamuchy, still occupied [in 1911] by his descendants" (Cummins, 108). Mr. Rutherfurd became a member of the State Legislature (1788) and was a US Senator (1790, 1796) (US Congress).

Born in New York City on September 20, 1760 and the son of Major Walter Rutherfurd (1723-1804), a veteran of the British Army and Catherine Alexander (d. 1801). Upon retiring from the military, Walter Rutherfurd received a patent for 5,000 acres of land in the Province of New Jersey in 1760 and 1775 for his military service (Morrison). Major Rutherfurd, the brother-in-law of Lord Sterling (William Alexander was one of Gen. Washington's most loyal subordinates ), was held captive by American forces during the Revolution.

1955_Allamuchy Freight House
Freight House, 1955
(WCCHA Archives)

By 1834, the town of Allamuchy had a grist and saw mill, a grain distillery, store, tavern and about a dozen residential houses. Just outside of the town center was the railroad station for the Lehigh & Hudson River Railroad. Currently, only the freight house (built 1906), a single-story frame structure remains (National Register of Historic Places).

The Rutherfurd family, descendants of John Rutherfurd, had established a grand estate in what is now Allamuchy (Warren Co.) and Green (Sussex Co.) Townships. In 1906, Winthrop Chanler Rutherfurd (1862-1944) requested that Whitney Warren (1864-1943), a famous architect from New York City, to build a summer cottage in Allamuchy called the "Rutherfurd House."  In addition, elaborate gardens were designed by the Olmsted Brothers, whose father, Frederick Law Olmsted designed New York City's Central Park in the 1850s (Rutherfurdhall.org). Winthrop was the 2x great-grandson of John Rutherfurd. The family lived at Rutherfurd Hall, and its neighboring properties until 1950. Rutherfurd Hall was then sold to the Congregation of the Daughters of Divine Charity, who maintained the property until 2005. It is currently owned by the Allamuchy Township Board of Education. This structure is listed on the National and State Registers of Historic Places.

Map of Allamuchy Town (1874) 
(WCCHA Archives)

Along CR 612 (Johnsonburg Road), north west of Rutherfurd Hall, is the Hardwick Friends Meeting Burying Ground. The original Quaker meeting house was built by descendants of William Penn. This area was selected by the early Quaker settlers in the region. In 1735, the settlers chose this piece of land just east of the meeting house and west of the Pequest River as their burial site. Some of the founding families are buried in this cemetery and include the Lundys, Schooleys, Willsons, Stephensons, Buckleys, Adams, Laings, and Schmucks. Born in the area in what was then Sussex County, Benjamin Lundy (1789-1839) became active in the antislavery movement of the 1820s and organized abolitionist societies, held many lectures, and contributed to abolitionist publications.

Devout Quaker and founding settler of Oxford, John C. Axford (1692-1771) left 40 shillings to the Managers of the Friends Burying Ground, with the intent of being buried there along with his wife, Joanna Biles Beakes (1696-1767). They were supposed to be buried in this cemetery, but upon further inquiry with the Randolph Meeting, their names are no included in those records (it is possible they are buried there, but not recorded). According to The Axfords of Oxford, New Jersey, A Genealogy Beginning in 1725, John and [Jo]Anna Axford were members of the Religious Society of Friends, and belonged to the Hardwick Meeting. They are buried in the Quaker graveyard on the bank of the Pequest River in Allamuchy Township. John, in his will dates 1772, left forty shillings to build a wall around the [burial] ground. The will mentions four sons, Abraham, Samuel, Jonathan, and John" (Clinton, 6).
     * Martha Axford (1740-1801) was the common-law wife of Joseph W. Shippen (1737-1795), and they lived at Shippen Manor in Oxford, NJ with their seven children. There is no legal proof found regarding the marriage of Joseph and Martha.
     * It is possible that John and Joanna were buried here, but there are no current stones attributed to either.
     * Quakers were also referred to as Society of Religious Friends" or "Friends". This movement emerged in England in the mid-17th c. and Quakers are followers of George Fox (d. 1691). They rose up to become a significant with the abolitionist movement.
     * Axford's will is referred in Armstrong, William Clinton. The Axfords of Oxford, on page 10. Also note that there are errors with the genealogy of this generation, at minimum.

By 1905, the burying ground was in a state of disrepair as graves were sinking and the site was overgrown. Occasionally, someone would mow with a scythe. David Wilson (also Willson), the last person buried in the cemetery in 1918, left money in his will to restore the wall. There is a large granite tablet near the entrance gate that reads, "The Burying Ground of the Hardwick Monthly Meeting of the Society of Friends, 1735-1920. This wall erected by David Willson a descendant of the first settlers." The executor of Wilson's will made the burying ground smaller, leaving some of the graves outside of the wall. In 1948, middle school students of the Allamuchy School, learning about local history, worked with the assistance of civic-minded students to restore the burying grounds. That October, the dedication included members of the community and the Friends (Quaker) meeting associated with the region. As a result of this joint-effort, the Allamuchy Historical Society, Inc. was formed with the intent of preserving and maintaining this site (Fineran).

Resources

"Allamuchy Freight House (Lehigh & Hudson River Railway Company)." National Register of Historic Places Registration Form. 12 Oct 2001.  [Digital]

"Allamuchy's Rich History." Allamuchy Township. 2023. [Digital]

Clinton, William Armstrong. The Axfords of Oxford, New Jersey, a genealogy beginning in 1725. Morrison, IL: Shawyer Publishing Co., 1931. [Digital]

Cummins, George Wyckoff. History of Warren County, New Jersey. New York: Lewis Historical Publishing Company, 1911.

Dale, Frank. The History of Allamuchy-- Village and Township. January 2006. Book 25. 

Ervy, Cassie, Nicole Lindow & Melissa Maltese. "Allamuchy: Yesterday, Today and Tomorrow." May 2002.  Allamuchy Historical Society. 

Fineran, Charlie. "Charlie Presents: Local Quaker History." Inside Warren. 31 Aug 2020.  [Digital]

Johnson, Helen R. "The History of Allamuchy Township." 1973. [Digital]

Morrison, George Austin. History of Saint Andrew's Society of the State of New York with Biographical Data, Part 1.  1911New York: Saint Andrew's Society of the State of NY. Google Books.

"Rutherfurd Hall History." Rutherfurdhall.org. [Digital]

"Rutherfurd, John." Biographical Directory of the United States. 23 Oct 2024. Congress.  [Digital]

Sibley, Marilyn M. "Benjamin Lundy: Antislavery Advocate and Colonization Pioneer." Texas State Historical Association. [Digital]

Alpha, Borough of

Incorporated by an Act of the NJ Legislature on June 26, 1911.

The Borough of Alpha was formed from Pohatcong Township by referendum on May 31, 1911. At the time, there were about seven houses within the boundaries of the town. One of the original homes was a two-room log cabin built by the Pursel family. This house was adjacent to an old Indian Trail that is on the former property of the Vulcanite Portland Cement Company on New Brunswick Ave. (formerly an old Lenape trail and by 1769, the New Brunswick Turnpike ("Borough of Alpha", 111).

Alpha was originally laid out in 1898 and had a series of names-- Bonneville (after A.B. Bonneville who built a small cement plant here), 1891-1893, Whitaker (for Whitaker Cement Co.), 1893-1895, Vulcanite (for the Vulcanite Cement Co.), 1894-1932, and lastly, Alpha (for the Alpha Portland Cement Co.), 1895-1915 (Ramsbotham).

In 1891, the Whitaker Cement Company was established by Thomas D. Whitaker. He started with a small rotary kiln next to his quarry in Bonneville Station (now Alpha) and produced Portland cement ("Jacksonburg Limestone", 3).  The "Bonneville's plant was the first in the United States to produce Portland cement. Fire destroyed a section of the plant and after a company reorganization a new corporation was formed with Thomas Whitaker as its president" and the new company was named "Whitaker Cement Company" (Historical Sites, 11).

By 1898, NJ produced about "16 percent of the Portland cement manufactured in the United States, second only to Pennsylvania, which produced 56 percent...At the turn of the twentieth century, New Jersey had three producers of Portland cement, the Alpha Portland Cement Company, the Vulcanite Portland Cement Company, and the Edison Portland Cement Company" ("The Jacksonburg Limestone").


Whitaker Cement Co., Hexamer General Surveys, Volume 29
Philadelphia Architects and Buildings

The Vulcanite Cement Company "began operations in August [1895]. The material is a black slaty rock containing carbonate of lime and clay in nearly the proportius (sp) for a correct cement mixture. The rotary process of burning is employed, as at the Alpha works" (Newberry, 885). By 1901, Vulcanite covered 300 acres in Alpha ("Historical Sites", 12).

Around 1853, the Central Railroad of New Jersey (CCNJ) became the first railroad to connect the anthracite coal mines in Pennsylvania with the port of New York, traveling through Alpha in the process.  During the same time, the Lehigh Valley Railroad, which also hauled anthracite coal from the northeastern coal regions of Pennsylvania to markets in Philadelphia, New York City and other major trading cities, Alpha. 

As fast as the community grew prior to its incorporation, by 1912 the growth was in decline. The original Alpha Portland Cement Co. mill closed and two years later, the second Alpha Co. mill closed. During World War I, the 2nd mill opened for a short time. By the end of the war, both plants were razed along with the closure of the Vulcanite Cement Company. The site of Vulcanite is located in the Alpha Industrial Park where several industrial firms have constructed plants (Historical Sites, 12-13).
     * On August 20, 1970, the Alpha Portland Cement Co. officials announced the plant would permanently close ("unprofitable facility") in Ironton, which affected 175 employees ("On this Date").

Alpha Portland Cement Co
The Alpha Portland Cement Company.
[Ironton Tribune]

Most of the farmland that surrounded the Alpha Quarry and cement mills were owned by Morris Frace, who surveyed the land and laid out building lots in 1898 (Historical Sites, 13). With its incorporation, more houses were constructed and the street car line was extended from Phillipsburg to Alpha. 

The Portland cement industry had product that resembled the color of a famous building stone found on the Isle of Portland in England and the product is obtained by finely pulverizing clinker, which results from "the burning to incipient fusion of an intimate artificial mixture of finely ground calcareous and argillaceous materials" It is also about "20 per cent silica, 10 per cent alumina, plus ferric oxide, 65 per cent of lime and 5 per cent of other compounds." (History of the Portland Cement Industry, 3).

Alpha Safety Follows Wisdom monument
"Safety Follows Wisdom" Monument was an award for perfect safety record
(HMbd.org, 1930)

Resources:

Alpha Historical Society. Borough of Alpha: The First 100 Years (1911-2011). Alpha, NJ: Sheridan Printing, 2011.

Historical Sites of Warren County. Warren County Board of Chosen Freeholders. 1965. 

"History of the Portland Cement Industry in the United States. Chapter 1: Cements and their Definition."  [Digital]

"Live! Live! Live! Live!" Alpha Borough Life. Borough of Alpha, NJ. 24 Oct 2024. [Digital]

Newberry, Spencer B. "Cement: Portland Cement." USGS. 1895. 

"On this Date: Alpha Portland Cement Closed After Seven Decades." The Ironton Tribune. 17 Aug 2019. [Digital]

Ramsbotham, Marion L. Warren County Past and Present. 1963.

"The Jacksonburg Limestone and the Portland Cement Industry of New Jersey." NJDEP. NJGWS. 2015.  [Digital]

"Whitaker Cement Co." 1894. Hexamer General Surveys, Volume 29. Greater Philadelphia GeoHistory Network. Philadelphia Architects and Buildings. Image. 24 Oct 2024. [Digital]

Belvidere, Town of
County Seat 
Incorporated by Act of the NJ Legislature on April 7, 1845

Prior to 1754, the area where Belvidere is currently located was a part of the Township of Greenwich. Until 1845, the County Seat of Belvidere was a part of Oxford Township. The location of this town along the Delaware and Pequest Rivers is an important geographic feature of Belvidere. Mills and factories grew and developed around these two bodies of water.

John Reading (1686-1767) surveyed two tracks of land separated by the Pequest River on October 8-9, 1716. The tract north of the line consisted of 1,250 or more acres and was surveyed for William Penn. The tract to the south was approximately the same size and surveyed by Colonel John Alford ( 1685-1761) from Charleston, Massachusetts (Cummins, 112).

In 1750, Captain Joseph McMurtrie (1733-1790), Robert McMurtrie (b. 1731) and Thomas McMurtrie (1725-1788), James Hanna and Robert Houey (possibly brothers-in-law of the McMurtries) came into possession of the Alford tract of 1,250 acres.  Nine years later, the first settler (and tinsmsith) Robert Patterson, a tinsmith, bought the Penn tract of about the same size (Cummins, 112; "McMurtrie Family") and built a double log house on the site of the Warren House, which lasted until 1838.
     * McMurtrie's Flour and Grist Mills ("Twin Mills") is located on the south side of the Pequest in "Lower Belvidere" just upriver from Hoops old mill (Dale, 17). The mill produced over 1000 bushels of wheat daily in the later 19th c. in addition to grains and flour, which shipped out on railroad carloads by three major rail lines (Dale, 18). The McMurtrie Feed Mill experienced a memorable fire in the 1960s and it was said that firefighters shoveled 40 tons of grain out of the grain bin that was on fire (Lindsay).

Belvidere Double Mills
George K. McMurtrie & Co. Twin Mills (c. 1840)
(WCCHA Archives)

Major Robert Hoops (1734-1806) arrived in Mercer, renaming it Belvidere, and obtained the property to the north of the Pequest until 1800 (Cummins, 113). Hoops sold the property to the south of the Pequest to Robert Morris (1734-1806), a signer of the Declaration, Continental Congressman, US Senator and Signer of the US Constitution from Philadelphia, PA. In 1780, Morris built a house on Greenwich Street for his daughter, Mrs. Mary ("Polly") Morris Croxall (1763-1824), wife of Captain Charles Moale Croxall (1756-1831) whom he conveyed by deed along with 614 acres of land in 1793, which would prevent development of that land until legislation in 1818 gave ownership of the land to four heirs in "fee simple" (Cummins, 112-113).
     * Major Robert Hoops was an "active business man" in Belvidere and owned a sawmill and a grist mill, dealing in grain, flour and produce, which were shipped to Philadelphia on the Delaware River by using Durham boats. In a letter to Richard Backhouse, Esq. of Durham, Hoops wrote, "The day you left me in the afternoon with seven hands I made a beginning and compleated [sic] Passage through the little foul Rift fit for a Boat to pass with 100 or 150 Bushels without touching..." (Cummins, 113-114). 
     * John Insley Blair, the railroad magnate, entrepreneur and philanthropist was born at Foul Rift in 1802 (Cummins, 126) and it was reported that his father, James (1769-1816), ran the dock near Foul Rift for the Oxford Furnace.
     * Major Adam Hoops (1760-1846), brother of Major Robert Hoops, served as an Aide-de-Camp to General John Sullivan during the Sullivan Expedition against the Iroquois Nation in NY (1779). 
     * Mary "Polly" Morris Croxall (1763-1824) is believed to be the illegitimate daughter of Robert Morris. Her mother's name is lost to history at this time. She married Captain Charles Moale Croxall (1756-1831) on June 12, 1781 in Baltimore, MD. He served in the Battle of Brandywine, was wounded and taken prisoners from 1775 to 1780. He was an ensign of the 11th PA troops and was originally commissioned as a first lieutenant.

  

Warren County Courthouse, Belvidere, date unknown.
(WCCHA Archives)

The Robert Morris tract, located south of the Pequest, consisted of 614 acres of land. It was purchased by Garret Dorset Wall (1783-1850) in 1825. Born in Middletown (Burlington Co.), Wall was an attorney in Burlington, NJ. He also served as NJ Supreme Court Clerk (1812-1817), Quartermaster General of NJ (1815-1837), member of the NJ Assembly (1827), and US Attorney for the District of New Jersey (1829). He was elected governor in 1829, but chose to not serve. Wall set aside the land for a four-acre park, County Courthouse , as well as the Methodist and Presbyterian churches situated around the park in. The deed of Garret D. Wall with the County Freeholders discusses the conditions and boundaries of the land such as, "All those two certain lots or parcels of land, situate in the village of Belvidere, in the township of Oxford and the County of Warren aforesaid, Bounded and Described as follows, - to wit: First, the Court-House Lot, Beginning at a stone on the North Side of Second Street, two chains East of the Corner of Second and Mansfield Streets, and Corner of Lot No. 28..., as designated in the town plan of Belvidere..." (Snell, 475).
     * Prior to Wall's donation of the land for the Courthouse, park and churches, there was a vote for the County Seat. Of the 2,561 votes cast, residents in several townships voted accordingly (Snell, 475):

  • Belvidere (total: 1,320)
  • Hope (total: 635)
  • Washington (total: 511)
  • Oxford Furnace (total 55)
  • The Centre (total: 38)
  • Hackettstown (total: 1)
  • Bridgeville (total: 1)

Two years later, Wall sold the Croxall mansion to John Maxwell Sherrerd, Esq. (1794-1871)the County's first clerk. Sherrerd laid out out building lots on the rest of the tract and shortly thereafter, the town boomed. 
     * Sherrerd married Ann Clifford Maxwell (1771-1815), daughter of Captain John Maxwell (1739-1828), and niece of Gen. William "Scotch Willie" Maxwell (1733-1796) of Revolutionary War notoriety. 

The oldest building site in Belvidere is located on the northeast corner of Front and Greenwich Streets. On this site, Robert Patterson built his double log house, which lasted until 1838 when it was torn down by Major Benjamin Depue (1796-1884). In its place, the current structure stands. 
     * Depue's mother was Susannah Depue Vancampen (c. 1734-1804), daughter of Abraham VanCampen (1698-1767) and Susanna Dupuy (1698-1752) and niece of Isaac Vancampen (1708-1801) who owned a homestead along Old Mine Road in the 18th c.

 Warren House no date
Warren House, 301 Front Street (no date)
(WCCHA Archives)

In the Belvidere Cemetery, there are veterans from all wars, including the Revolution and Civil War. In addition, there are the Henry-Scranton family members who were associated with Oxford Furnace and Shippen Manor buried there as well. 

American Revolution.

 Pvt. John Henry Butz
(1753-1843)
8th Co., Capt. Shaw
Capt. Sewitz's Company,
5th Regiment
 Philip Quick, Sr.
(1751-1843)
 Abijah Hunt
(1762-1852)
Continental Army at Valley Forge
(winter 1777-1778)
Substitute for brother, Josiah,
who was ill
Served in 
Navy on Luzerne
and South Carolina
Captured twice and imprisoned
(Imprisoned in Old Bailey Jail
in England and on prison ship,
Skorpion in NY Harbor)
 George Titman, Jr.
(1750-1796)
NJ Regiment 

Civil War.

Pvt. John M. Bryan
(1812-1894)
Co. K, 31st NJ Volunteers
 Lt. Col. William Henry, Jr.
(1830-1889)
1st NJ Volunteers
Enlisted as 1st Lt.
Mustered out as Colonel
Son of William Henry III,
brother of Capt. Joseph Henry,
brother-in-law of
Col. Charles Scranton
and Selden T. Scranton--
Oxford Iron & Nail Co.
 
1st Lt. James W. Prall
(1827-1914)
Co. 1, 31st NJ Infantry
Pvt. Jacob O. Burdett
 (1844-1900)
Co. D, 15th NJ Volunteers  
 Dr. John R. Hilton
(1826-1863)
Pvt. in Co., 15th NJ
Volunteers

Hospital Steward,
Field and Staff

Assistant Surgeon,
2nd NJ Volunteers

Died of typhoid fever at regimental camp,
White Oak Church (VA)
on 17 March 1863
 
Pvt. James J. Randolph
(1841-1910)
Co. I, 132nd PA Volunteers 
 Dr. Edwin Byington
(1833-1869)
Assistant Surgeon,
11th NJ Volunteers
 
Pvt. William Harrison Jennings
(1835-1913)
Co. D, 67th PA Volunteers
  
Brig. Gen. George Maxwell Robeson
(1829-1897)
NJ Militia, raised, trained troops for
Union Army, Commandant of
Camp Stockton (Woodbury, NJ)
Appointed Secretary of the Navy (1869-1877)
US House of Representatives (1870-1883)
2x great-grandson of Jonathan Robeson
(Oxford Furnace)  
Mahlon C. Case
(1846-1915)
D Co., 4th Battery, NJ Light Infantry
Served in different batteries
Prisoner of War (Appomattox)
  
Pvt. Frank Sellers Joiner
(1847-1932)
38th NJ Vo
lunteers   
Brig. Gen. William Penn Robeson, Jr.
(1837-1881)
1st Lt., Co. E, 3rd NJ Volunteers
Capt. & commander
(Aug 13, 1862)
Lt. Col. (Sept 23, 1864)
Appomattox for surrender
Mustered out Aug 1, 1864
  Pvt. Henry Burnett Church
(1845-1931)
Co. A, 2nd FL Infantry (CSA)
Co. 1, 210th PA Volunteers (Union)
   Pvt. John Jones
(1837-1903)
 Co. G, 8th USCT
(African American)
 
George W. Rockafellow
(1831-1909)
Co. E, 47th PA Volunteers 
 Corp. Edward W. Clayton
(1841-1879)
Co. H, 31st NJ Volunteers 
  Amos Jumper
(1840-1910)
Co. A, 47th PA Volunteers  
John Rowe
(1830-1908)
Co. I, 31 NJ Volunteers
Captain Henry Post (GAR)  
William Armstrong Cramer
(1840-1884)
Co. I, 31st NJ Volunteers
 
 J.C. Kist
(1835-1905)
Thomas Royston
(1843-1913)
US Navy
Henry L. Cummins
(1827-1890)
Co. E, 31st NJ Volunteers 
Pvt. Seneca B. Kitchin
(1824-1895)
Co. I, 31st NJ Volunteers 
Pvt. (Rev) Phineas G. Ruckman
(1842-1912)
Co. B, 30th NJ Volunteers
Pvt. George Davis
(1841-1895)
Co. D, 11th NJ Volunteer
 
Capt. Joseph B. Lawrence
(1828-1864)
Enlisted as 2nd LT.,
Co. H, 9th NJ

Co. I, 9th NJ Volunteers
Wounded in action at
Fortress Monroe (VA)
from injuries at Diver's
Bluff (16 May 1864)
Died  31 May 1864
 
Pvt. Lorenzo Schoch
(1842-1899)
Co. K, 153rd PA Volunteers
 Pvt. John Dickey
(1808-1892) 
Co. I, 9th NJ Volunteers 
Pvt. Thomas Lomasson
(1839-1912)
Co. I, 31st NJ Volunteers
  
Col. Charles Scranton
(1822-1888)
Aide-de-Camp to
NJ Gov. Olden

Partner at Oxford Industries
Operated iron mines 
 John P. Dickey
(1844-1912)
Co. I, 11th PA Cavalry
 
 Pvt. James Mase
(1826-1897)
Co. B, 31st NJ Volunteers
Aaron S. Slack
(1841-1933)
Co. D, 30th NJ Volunteers
 John Diesel
(1832-1917)
Co. I, 31st NJ Volunteers
 Pvt. John McAllister
(1826-1904)
Co. D, 4th US Battery
  
John R. Smith
(1841-1922)
Co. C, 88th PA Volunteers 
  Pvt. John Dolan
(1844-1880)
Co. K, 21st NJ Volunteers   
Col. Robert McAllister
(1813-1891)
11th NJ Volunteers
Wounded on Day 2 at Gettysburg
(2 July 1862)
Returned to Belvidere for
4 months to heal
Breveted Brigadier Gen.,
US Vols
Appomattox for Lee's Surrender
Involved in constructing the
Van Nest (Oxford) Tunnel  
 Sgt. Joseph C. Smith
(1834-1863)
Co. H, 62nd NY Volunteers
Died at Chancellorsville
 Sgt. George Fox
(1849-1891)
Co. I, 31st NJ Volunteers 
Thomas McIntyre
(1843-1939)
USCT
(African American)
Dug trenches at Morris Island 
near Charleston, SC  
Pvt. John Quick Tims
(1842-1926)
 Co. H, 7th NJ Infantry
Co. A, 7th NJ Infantry
 Peter A. Frey
(b. 1844)
Co. I, 31st NJ Volunteers
 
 Obediah McMurtrie
(1822-1872)   
George W. Tunis
(1815-1885) 
  Cpl. George F. Fritts
(1839-1864)
Co. H, 62nd NY Infantry
Enlisted as Pvt., promoted to Corp.
Killed in Action (5 May 1864) at
Battle of the Wilderness (VA)
 
 Miller Mershon
(1842-1917)    
Joseph Chattel Tunis
(1844-1880)
Co. I, 31st NJ Volunteers
  John N. Furman
(1811-1899)
Co. E, 86th OH Volunteers
 
Andrew Mucklin
(1820-1892)
Battery E, 5th NJ Artillery 
 
Thomas F. Uhler
(1836-1908) 
   William N. Furman
(1843-1918)
Co. D, 11th NJ Volunteers 
(Gen. Robert McAllister)
 Sgt. Henry D. Neimeyer
(1813-1879)
Co. E, 3rd NJ Infantry   
Pvt. Benjamin Ward
(1834-1912)
Co. B, 31st NJ Volunteers
 
  Jason Gariss
(1846-1926)  
Col. Charles Rodman Paul
(1843-1901)
Co. C, 7th NJ Infantry
Mustered in as a private
P
romoted to Commissary Sergeant, 
Field & Staff (30 Nov 1861)
2nd Lt. of Co. B, 15th NJ Volunteers
Promoted 1stLt then Capt. of
Co. E, 
15th NJ Volunteers
Temporary Capt. of Co. C,
2nd NJ Volunteers
1st Lieutenant in 16th US Infantry (23 Feb 1866)
Transferred to 25th US Infantry (21 Sept 1866)
Transferred to 18th US Infantry (26 April 1869)
Served as an officer in the Spanish-American War
Became sick in the Philippines and
invalidated at Philadelphia, where he died
at Hahnemann Hospital on 8 Nov 1901.
Interred at Arlington National Cemetery
Cenotaph erected in family plot.
Pvt. Thomas M. Williams
(1840-1903)
Co. I, 31st NJ Volunteers 
   Capt. John N. Givens
(1832-1882)
1st Lt., Co. H, 31st NJ Volunteers
1st Lt., Co. M,
2nd NJ Volunteer
Cavalry
Captain, Co. H,
2nd NJ Cavalry
William Paul
(1829-1904)  
 Pvt. Henry J.V. Heed
(1837-1923)
Co. B, 15th NJ Volunteers
 
 Pvt. John Nicolas Phillips
(1810-1884)
Co. H, 179th PA Infantry
 
  Capt. Joseph J. Henry
(1834-1862)
Co. H, 9th NJ
Killed in action (8 Feb 1862)
Battle of Roanoke (NC)
Son of Oxford Furnace Ironmaster,
William Henry III (1794-1878)
Brother of Col. William Henry, Jr. (1830-1889)
Brother-in-law of 
Col. Charles Scranton and
Selden T. Scranton,
Oxford Iron & Nail Co.
 
Pvt. William Plotts
(1846-1925)
Co. B, 1st NJ Artillery   

 Veterans identified as verified are done so through Stryker Vol 1 & 2, NPS Soldiers & Sailors, and other resources.

On the northside of the Pequest is the Old Market Street Cemetery (also known as the Wesley Chapel Cemetery). It is currently on private property, but once was adjacent to the former Presbyterian Church (later merging with another church to create the United Presbyterian Church of Belvidere).

Civil War.

  • Pvt. Moore G. Coen (1803-1895), Co. H, 15th NJ, discharged for disability at Frederick, MD on March 3, 1863.

The railroads that traversed Belvidere, including the Belvidere Delaware Railroad (Bel-Del), chartered on March 2, 1836 and constructed between 1850 and 1855 along the eastern shore of the Delaware River from Trenton to Phillipsburg and connected to the Delaware, Lackawanna & Western (DL&W) at Manunka Chunk in Knowlton Twp. It was an important feeder line for the Lehigh Valley Railroad and joined the Central Railroad of NJ, which was built in Phillipsburg around the same time. On 7 June 1854, the Bel-Del agreed to run the Flemington Railroad and Transportation Co., which connected the Central Railroad of NJ. In 1882, the Lehigh and Hudson River Railroad joined with the Pennsylvania Railroad (PRR) to operate the Bel-Del from Phillipsburg to Belvidere, where the L&HR's tracks led to Maybrook, NY. 
     * CRRNJ Terminal and Ferry Terminal at Jersey City is on the State & National Registers of Historic Places.

USA-NYC-Jersey_Historic_Train_Station
Central Railroad of NJ Terminal at Liberty State Park, Jersey City, NJ
[Hudson Co., NJ]

In 1955, floodwaters on the Delaware caused by Hurricane Diane washed out whole parts of the northern Bel-Del line near Route 46. In 1957, the Bel-Del merged with the United NJ Railroad & Canal Company-- with passenger service that ended on Oct 26, 1960.

Resources

"Belvidere History." Belvidere Heritage. 2018.  [Digital]

Cummins, George Wyckoff. History of Warren County, New Jersey. New York: Lewis Historical Publishing Company, 1911. [Digital]

Dale, Frank. More Grist Mills. Warren County Chronicles. Book 12. September 2000. 

Historical Sites of Warren County. Warren County Board of Chosen Freeholders. 1965. 

Lindsay, Jacqueline. "Good Will Fire Co. celebrates 125 years." NJN Publishing. 16 Aug 2007. [Digital]

Mackenzie, George Norbury. Colonial Families of the United States. NY, The Grafton Press. 1907. [Digital]

"McMurtrie Family of Sussex/Warren Co., NJ." 

Soderlund, Jean R. "West New Jersey." Philadelphia Encyclopedia. [Digital]

Snell, James P., Clayton, W.W. 

"The Alfords of the United States of America." The Alford Association. [Digital]

"Wall, Garret Dorset, 1783-1850." Biographical Directory of the United States Congress. [Digital]

Blairstown Township

Incorporated by an Act of NJ Legislature on April 14, 1845

Located in the Paulinskill Valley, Blairstown had a few earlier names, but would eventually be named in honor of its local resident, John Insley Blair (1802-1899) and comprised of land from Knowlton Township.


John Insley Blair
[American Aristocracy]

As a village of just a few structures in 1755 it was referred to as “Smith's Mills" after grist and sawmill owner Benjamin Smith. In 1795, the village was called "Butts’ Bridge" after local landowner Michael Butts and later, his son Jacob Butts. Around 1825, it was now a small town and renamed to "Gravel Hill" until January 23, 1839, when the name was changed for the final time to "Blairstown.”  The hamlets of Blairstown Township include: Jacksonburg, Kalarama, Paulina, Vail, Mt. Vernon, and Walnut Valley. 

One early land purchase in what is now Blairstown Township was made by John Hyndshaw, who in 1729 purchased 1,000 (900 + 100) acres west and north of Walnut Valley creek.  The property was lying within “the last Indian purchase” made between the Lenni Lenape Indians and the Council of Proprietors of West Jersey.  Early known settlers of the area include Lodewick Ditman/Titman (Ludwig Titman, 1706-1772) who settled in 1737, Titman bought 400 acres of land at the foot of Blue Mountain. Other early settlers include John Peter Lanterman (1714 – 1794) and Charles Crisman (1756-1817) who located in the southeast section and Alexander Adams whose large parcel included 1700 acres in the southwest section. Hankinson, Diltz (Dills), Henry, Raub, Reed, Motte, and Kishpaugh are amongst the known names who settled in the mid to late 1700s.  “It is quite probable that there were white settlers in this vicinity as early as 1700” (Snell, Clayton, 637).

 John Insley Blair was born in a log cabin near the "big spring" (or "Shippen's Spring") along the Foul Rift Road just outside of Belvidere, New Jersey on August 22, 1802. His father, James* (1769-1816) worked as a foreman at Oxford Furnace’s loading dock along the Delaware River.  About 1806 James Blair changed occupations to farming, and the family moved to an ancestral farm (Beaver Brook) near Hope, NJ.  In his early teens, John I. Blair worked in Hope as a store clerk and helped his mother/siblings to run the farm after his father passed away. At age 17 he moved to Buttz Bridge (now Blairstown) to start a mercantile business with a relative. He soon became Blairstown’s postmaster amongst other leadership roles.  Blair’s life ventures took place on a national level and included banking, land development, milling, mining, manufacturing, and plantation ownership, but it was his involvement with iron mines and railroads (Lackawanna Coal & Iron Co., Delaware, Lackawanna, & Western Railroad, Warren Railroad, Western railroads and the Transcontinental Railroad) that propelled his wealth. He earned an estimated $70 million by the time of his death on December 2, 1899, and was the wealthiest man in New Jersey as a result.  With inflation taken in consideration, Blair remains the wealthiest New Jersian of all time.
     
* James Blair is buried alongside his wife, Rachel Insley (1777-1857) and son,  William 1800-1866) at the First Presbyterian Church of Oxford Churchyard in Hazen. The black obelisk marking his grave was installed by John I. Blair and is a smaller version of the obelisk at the Blair family plot at the Blairstown Cemetery.

Blair Homestead with porches
[Blairstown Historical Preservation Commission]

Blairstown was served by two rail lines, and five separate stations were built to service the lines. The first rail line was the Blairstown Railway, a shortline installed by John I. Blair in 1876 (inaugural run on July 4th, 1877) from Blairstown to Delaware, New Jersey where it connected to the Old Main Line of the Delaware, Lackawanna and Western.  There were four stations in Blairstown Township located at: Paulina, Blairstown, Kalarama and Vail.  The Blairstown station complex once stood where the parking area of Footbridge Park is now and contained a lumber/coal yard and creamery. 

The advent of the railroad brought a boom to the town expanding the trade and shipping business as well as the passenger service which accommodated residents, Blair Academy students, and visitors to the resorts/camps that started to dot the landscape.   By 1882 the New York, Susquehanna and Western (NYS&W) acquired the Blairstown Railway and it wasn't until 1940 that passenger and freight service by the NYS&W to Blairstown ended.  The exceptions being coal, cement and other freights that were carried by the Lehigh and New England line. In 1958 the Blairstown station was abandoned and in 1963 the NYS&W station burned down.   The tracks were removed in 1962, and in 1992 the track right-of-way was preserved by the State as the 26-mile long Paulinskill Valley Trail.  It is used today for walking, bicycling and horseback riding.  Footbridge Park was established in 1976 to commemorate the railroad during our Nation’s Bicentennial.


Susquehanna Depot, Blairstown, c. 1910
[Blairstown Historic Preservation Commission]

From 1908-1911 a second line was constructed and crossed through Blairstown. The Lackawanna Cut-Off, a high-speed, double-track rail line that traveled over 28 miles from Port Morris, NJ to Slateford, PA. It was constructed by the Delaware, Lackawanna & Western Railroad (DL&W) to shorten the travel time. The famous Phoebe Snow train carried passengers from Blairstown to their destinations.  The Blairstown station still exists on Route 521 about one mile south of the Route 94 intersection. On October 17, 1960, the DL&W merged with the Erie Railroad to form the Erie Lackawanna Railroad (ELRR). A decade later, due to declining revenues, passenger service over the Cut-Off was discontinued. By 1979, freight service ended and three years after that, the ELRR was absorbed by Conrail (Consolidated Railroad Corporation). 

There are several cemeteries in Blairstown, some of which have Civil War and other veterans interred.  Interred at the Blairstown Cemetery are John Insley Blair (1802-1899), several members of the Blair and Vail families as well as John Bunnell (1817-1900), founder of Blair Academy. In the Cedar Ridge Cemetery, Isaac Fonger Read (1834-1922), owner and operator of the Jacksonburg mill that produced Read's Apple Jack hard cider. Interred in the Union Brick Cemetery, the family of Susan Shippen Crisman (1784-1856), daughter of Joseph W. Shippen & Martha Axford (Shippen Manor, Oxford Furnace) is interred. In the Union Cemetery, Garrett Albertson (1735-1813) served in the French & Indian War, and also as a Major in the Revolution.
Known veterans in the Blairstown area cemeteries (French & Indian War= FIW; Revolution = AR; Civil War= CW).

Blairstown Cemetery 

 Cedar Ridge
Cemetery

 Marksboro Presbyterian
Church Cemetery
Union Brick
Cemetery
 
Union
Cemetery 
Pvt. George F. France
(1845-1876) 
Co. C, 58th PA
CW
Pvt. John W. Adams
(1838-1904)
8th Independent Battery, WI Lt. Artillery
CW
 Sgt. Theodore H. Andress
(1835-1863)
C. G, 31st NJ
Died in camp near White Oak Church, VA
CW

Pvt. John Hill Bescherer
(1841-1922) 
Co. H, 31st NJ
CW
(Stryker 1, 954)

 Pvt. Edward Horace Albertson
(1839-1931)
Co. H, 31st NJ
CW
(NPS)
 George W. Sofield
(1842-1918)
Co. D, 11th NJ Infantry
CW
[USCWG]

Pvt. Jonas S. Croupe
(1833-1905)
Co. E, 98th PA
 
CW

Pvt. Charles W. Huff
(1835-1900)
 Co. F, 2nd NJ Cavalry
CW
(Stryker 2, 1285)
Pvt. David Carter
(1844-1883)
Co. G & M, 
2nd NJ Cavalry
{USCWG]

2nd Maj. Garrett Albertson
(1735-1813)
2nd Regiment,
Hunterdon Co.
Strykers mentioned his commission was cancelled & he was removed from Country
FIW
AR 
[Strykers, 362]
[NSDAR #A000957]

 Pvt. Andrew J. Swisher
(1827-1871)
Co. K, 56th PA Veteran Volunteers
CW
[USCWG]
 Pvt. James H. Edgerton
(1838-1917)
Co. K, 1st NJ Cavalry
CW
Embla Drake Mann
(1828-1892)
Musician, Co. G, 31st NJ
CW
John Watson Cook 
(1841-1908)
*Possibly Sgt. John W. Cook
Co. H, 2nd Cavalry
CW
(Strykers 2, 1294)
Sgt. John M. Hendershot 
(1827-1885)
Co. K, 1st NJ
Co. B, 6th NJ
CW
(Stryker 2, 1235)
 
   Sgt. Jeremiah Lambert Eick
(1837-1921)
Co. C, 7th PA Cavalry
Saddler
CW
John Ryman
(1844-1922)
Blacksmith,
Co. M, 2nd NJ Cavalry
CW

Sgt. Levi C. Drake
(1840-1923)
Co. G, 142nd PA
 
CW
 
  Pvt. Hiram France
(1836-1918)
J. Oscar Lorain's Co. C, 5th PA Reserve Vols;
1st Brig. Gen. Geo. McCall's Div., 5th Corps
Wounded in battle multiple times; disabled
CW

LTC John Albright Wildrick
(1838-1918)
 1st Lt. - Sussex Rifle Co.
Lt - Co. B, 2nd NJ
1st Lt & Capt. - Co. B, 2nd NJ
28th NJ
POW- Libby Prison (32 days, paroled)
NJ General Assembly
(1903-1905)
CW

Sgt David R. Martin
(1830-1861)
Co. K, 49th OH
CW 
 
   Pvt. Charles W. Huff 
(1835-1900)
Co. F, 2nd NJ Cavalry
CW
   Pvt. John Ogden Martin
(1833-1864)
Co. B, 15th NJ
Possibly died at Spotsylvania Courthouse, VA
CW

(NPS)
 
  Daniel P. Matlock
(1835-1909)
Co. G, 31st NJ
CW
  Philetus B. Martin
(1845-1928)
Co. B, 15th NJ Infantry
Deserted
before being mustered in
[USCWG]
 
  Pvt. James A. McCarthy
(1830-1915)
Co. A, 1st DE
 
CW
   Pvt. Jacob A. Smith
(1842-1924)
Co. H, 31st NJ 
CW
(Stryker, 953)
 
 
  Charles E. Pope
(1838-1892)
Co. I, NJ Vols
 
CW
   
   James VanDine
(1826-1909)
Co. A, 25th NJ
CW
   
  Pvt. Joseph R. Wilgus
(1828-1905)
Co. H, 9th NJ
 
CW
   

Notation is made if verified if Revolutionary War veteran (Strykers or NS DAR), or Civil War (NPS Soldiers & Sailors and/or the Stryker volumes 1 or 2).

Resources

"Blairstown Historic District." The Historical Marker Database. [Digital]

"Blairstown History." Blairstown Historic Preservation Committee. Blairstown, NJ. 2025. 

Blairstown Press. (1877-2005).

Cummins, George W. "Chapter XV, Blairstown." The History of Warren County, New Jersey. 1911. [Digital]

Heilich, Frederick W. The History of the Blairstown Railway, Blairstown, NJ.  Railroadians of America. 1981.

"John Insley Blair." Blair Historic Preservation Alliance. [Digital] 

"John Insley Blair (1802-1899)." American Artistocracy. [Digital]

Koppenhaver, Robert. "The Blair Trail." Skylands Visitor. [Digital]

"Lodewick Titman." Family Search. [Digital]

Snell, James P.; Clayton, W.W., "Blairstown." The History of Sussex and Warren Counties, New Jersey. Philadelphia: Everts & Peck. 1881. [Digital]

Franklin Township

Incorporated by an Act of the NJ Legislature on February 15, 1839.

Franklin Township was settled prior to the Revolutionary War and was named in honor of Benjamin Franklin (1706-1790).

In 1753, one of the twenty-four proprietors of East Jersey, Benjamin Warne (1753-1810), came to the area from Monmouth County with his cousins, Cornelius, Jacob and Richard Carhart and settled near Broadway on a farm named Warne Farm (currently privately owned on the corner of Mill Road and Route 57 in Broadway). He constructed a wooden gristmill along the Mill Brook after the Revolution. Later, it was replaced by a three-story stone grist. Benjamin was the cousin-in-law of Margaret "Peggy" Vliet Warne (1746-1840), whose father and brothers served in local militias during the Revolution.

The original Warne Mill (Route 57, Broadway) was constructed in the village of Broadway in c. 1753, but burned down in 1800. The next year, the current mill was constructed and continues to stand. It is a part of the official Seal of the township. Franklin Township was created from parts of Greenwich, Mansfield and Oxford Townships through an Act of the General Assembly of New Jersey (February 15, 1839). Within the township are three villages of Asbury (Hall's Mills), Broadway and New Village. 

Warne Mill
Warne Mill, c. 1801 
(Brenda Heinrich Higgins)

The village of Asbury was settled prior to the Revolution and was formerly known as Hall's Mills, named for the Hall family that operated the grist mills along the Musconetcong River. In 1796, the village's name changed to Asbury in honor of Bishop Francis Asbury (1745-1816). In 1784, Colonel William McCullough (1759-1840), a veteran of the American Revolution, settled in Asbury and built his house on the banks of the Musconetcong (today, it is a private residence). He enlisted in 1776 in the Sussex Militia and served until 1801. When he resigned, McCullough held the rank of Lieutenant Colonel. The Musconetcong River served a significant role in the establishment of this village.

Asbury was a mill town that predated the Revolution and originally called "Hall's Mills" (Dale, 22). There were originally two grist mills operating as early as 1784. One was operated by Adam Hall in 1784 and the second crushed flaxseed and produced linseed oil. In 1792, Hall sold his grist mill to  (1759-1840) in July 1776. McCullough served in the Sussex Militia and settled in Asbury upon retirement as a Lieutenant Colonel. When Bishop Asbury (1745-1816) visited Hall's Mills in 1796, the new Methodist Church was dedicated in his honor (Dale, 22).
     * Bishop Francis Asbury was a British-American Methodist minister who became one of the first two bishops of the Methodist Episcopal Church in the U.S. He spread Methodism as a part of the Second Great Awakening

Asbury Mill_no date
Asbury Mill
(WCCHA)

The Asbury Methodist Episcopal Cemetery, on Main Street in Asbury has seventeen Civil War veterans buried there including, but not limited to:

Corp. Benjamin Bates
(n.d.)
Co. H, 15th NJ Infantry
[USCWG]
 Pvt. Edward L. Holmes
(1843-1899)
Co. D, 6th NY Cavalry
[NPSUSCWG]
 Pvt. Thomas Benjamin 
(1841-1909)
Co. H, 26th Regular USCT 
Musician
(African American)
[USCWG]
Samuel McCrea
(n.d.)
Co. H, 15th NJ Infantry
[USCWG]
 Pvt. Edward Benward
(1838-1884)
Battery C, 1st NJ Artillery
[Stryker, 1392]
Isaac Medick
(n.d.)
Co. H, 15th NJ Infantry
[USCWG]
 Pvt. George Blakins
(1821-1887)
Co. H, 127th USCT
[NPS]
Pvt. John Mettler
(1838-1863)
Co. C, 31st NJ
Died of Typhoid Fever at camp near Belle Plain, VA on Feb 2, 1863
[Stryker, page 945]
 Pvt. William H. Chamberlain
(1841-1900)
Co. H, 15th NJ
[NPS]
Robert Mosson
(d. 1889)
Hospital Stewart
Co. F, 7th NJ Volunteers
[USCWG]
 Pvt. Noah Sharp Cramer
(1835-1890)
Co. H, 13th IL (1861-1862)
Landsman*, US Navy, Steamer Monticello
[NPS for Army]
(Stryker, page 1640)
*Lowest rank in US Navy in 19th
and early 20th c. Given to new
recruits with little to no experience at sea.
Listed as Co. H, 13th IL Infantry at USCWG
Pvt. Peter Sickel 
(d. 1905)
Co. C, 31st NJ Volunteers
[NPS; USCWG]
Pvt. George W. Creager
(1844-1906)
Co. E, 31st NJ 
[Stryker, 948]
Pvt. Peter Sisco/Cisco
(d. 1905)
Co. C, 31st USCT 
(African American)
[USCWG]
 Pvt. Jacob Egerter
(d. 1906)
Co. E, 11th NJ Volunteers
[USCWG]
Pvt. William R. Smith
(1841-1902)
Co. H, 31st NJ  
  Pvt. Morris Hoffman
(1839-1890)
Co. H, 8th NJ
Wounded in action at Williamsburg, VA (1862)
Mustered out with disability from Fort Monroe, VA (1862) 
[Strykers, 412USCWG]
 2nd Lt. William Budd Van Antwerp 
(1839-1864)
Co. F, 13th Indiana;
2nd Lieutenant 
on April 30, 1863; 
wounded at 
Spotsylvania on May 8, 1864,
right left amputated
and died from wounds on
May 26, 1864 at
Chesapeake Hospital at
Fortress Monroe, Virginia.

[NPS, NJCWG]

Veterans that are verified through Strykers, Vol 1 & 2 or NPS Soldiers and Sailors.
Full list can be found at NJ Civil War Gravestones (Asbury Methodist Episcopal)

First Presbyterian Cemetery is associated to a now defunct First Presbyterian Church, which was built in 1868-1869 and is currently used for a multiple dwelling. 

 Pvt. John Connelly Banner
(1847-1930)
Co. A & D, 1st NJ
[USCWG]
Pvt. William H. Howard
(1843-1917)
Co. H, 15th NJ 
[USCWG]
Pvt. William Thompson
(1837-1907)
Co. K, 31st NJ
[Stryker, 
943]
 Capt. Martin Wyckoff
(1834-1914)
31st NJ
 Pvt. William Berry
(1813-1910)
Co. H, 8th NJ
[USCWG]
 Pvt. Amos Lunger
(1835-1864)
Centotaph
Co. H, 8th Infantry
Co. D, 22nd US Veteran Reserve Corps
Killed in Action
Buried in Arlington National Cemetery, VA
Grave 6,032
[Stryker, 1743; USCWG]
Pvt. William H. Thompson
(1841-1902)
Co. B, 31st or 4th NJ Volunteers
[Stryker, 943; USCWG]
 
1st Lt. Samuel A. Bristol
(1839-1916)
1st Lt. & Adjutant, 31st NJ
[NPS; USCWG]
Major Franklin Ellis Miller
(1843-1904)
66th USCT (1865-66)
(African American)
 Ordained minister after service
[USCWG]
 Dr. Stanton A. Welch
(1833-1890)
1st Asst. Surgeon
3rd PA Reserve Unit
[NPS; USCWG]
 
 Sgt. David Eugene Hicks
(1844-1863)
Co. A, 15 NJ
Killed in Action during assault on
Salem Heights, VA during Chancellorsville campaign.
[USCWG]
Dr. Frederick Plummer Shepperd
(1844-1869)
Acting Assistant Surgeon,
US Navy
(11 March - 10 Oct 1865)
 

Capt. Martin Wyckoff
(1834-1914)
Co. H, 3rd NJ Infantry (3-month unit)
Adjutant, 31st NJ Infantry
Capt., Co. C, 31st NJ Infantry
[USCWG]

 
 Major George  Hoffman
(d. 1886)
Capt., Co H, 8th NJ Volunteers
[USCWG]
Corp. Christopher F. Staats
(1845-1939)
Co. C, 31st NJ
Co. E, 38th NJ
[NJCWG
 
   

Civil War veterans who are verified are identified. US Civil War Graves (USCWG) for more information.


In 1899, Thomas Alva Edison created the Edison Portland Cement Company venture to improve the Portland cement industry. It was located on Edison Road in New Village and supplied cement for "The Concrete Mile", the first of its kind created in the State of New Jersey, for the concrete houses (Ingersoll) and the original Yankee Stadium. The property is currently owned by Victaulic Corp, which is a galvanized plating operation. Cement used to build the original Yankee Stadium (1923-2008) was produced here.

Edison Cement Works, New Village, c. 1915
(Brenda Heinrich Higgins)

The Somerville-Easton Railroad, incorporated in 1847, extended its line by 1852 from Whitehouse Station to Easton, passing through Asbury.  Later the line was changed to Central Railroad of New Jersey.  The S&E was a key component in the expansion of the Central Railroad of NJ (CNJ). A station was built at Asbury with passenger and freight service maintained until the station was closed in October 1970.
     * The SE Railroad is currently a part of the Central Railroad of New Jersey.

The Morris Canal traversed Franklin Township and was a vital part of the state's industrial development. One of the County's canal parks includes Bread Lock Park, located along Route 57 in New Village. Visitors can see a full-size canal model and participate in the Storybook walk.

Resources

"About Franklin Township." Franklin Township. [Digital

"Bread Lock Park." Warren Parks. [Digital]

Cummins, George Wyckoff. The History of Warren County, NJ. 1911. [Digital]

Dale, Frank. More Grist Mills. Warren County Chronicles. Book 12, September 2000. 

"Edison Portland Cement Company, 1901-1941." The Historical Marker Database.  [Digital]

"Franklin Township Bicentennial History, 1776-1976." Franklin Township. 

Higgins, Brenda Heinrich. "Franklin Township." Franklin Township Historic Commission. 2024.

Frelinghuysen Township

Incorporated by an Act of the NJ Legislature on March 7, 1848

Created in 1848, the township was named in honor of the Honorable Theodorus Jacobus Frelinghuysen (1787-1862), served as a captain of a Volunteer Militia during the War of 1812 in addition to  the attorney-general of New Jersey, a US Senator (1829-1835), and the president of Rutgers College (now University). The township was created from a part of Hardwick Township. 

The Frelinghuysen family first emigrated to New Jersey from the Netherlands in 1720 and members of the family played key and pivotal roles in both New Jersey and United States histories for over 300 years.

Map Johnsonburg
Beers Atlas, "Johnsonburg, Frelinghuysen", 1874
(Frelinghuysen Township Historical Society)

In 1715, Samuel "The Surveyor" Green (bc. 1676-1760) owned 1,250 acres of land on the Pequest (Lenape word for "open land") as a part of a 30,000 acre lot of Colonel Daniel Coxe IV (1673-1739), a member of the New Jersey Provincial Council in West Jersey. Green was a Freeholder and Assessor in Amwell (Hunterdon Co.) in 1723, 1726-1728, 1734-1735 before moving to Johnsonburg in Frelinghuysen.

Royal Governor Jonathan Belcher ordered that the County's courthouse and government be moved from Logg Gaol to Thomas Wolverton's tavern (Sussex Co.). Later, a courthouse and new jail were ordered built on Hairlocker's Plantation, now Newton, Sussex Co. in time for the May term of 1756.  After the jail was moved to Newton, the town was renamed as "Johnsonburg" (Cummins, 248).

 Log Gaol Sign
Logg Gaol Historic Marker

In 1760, Jonathan Hampton (1711-1777), an American colonial surveyor, merchant and military officer, advertised 6,000 acres of land for sale in Hardwick about two miles from the old jail (Logg Gaol) on both sides of the "Pawling's Kill" (Paulins Kill, a 41.6 mile tributary of the Delaware River) and about a half mile from Samuel Green's grist mill (Cummins, 248).

Milestone to Johnsonburg
"Two Miles to Logg Gaol" Marker, c. 1754
Allamuchy-Johnsonburg Road
(Frelinghuysen Township Historical Society)

Samuel Green (1670-1760) and his family were the first settlers in the region that became known as Hope Township. He was one of the first settlers to arrive in Frelinghuysen Township on May 17, 1715 to survey a line from Allamuchy to the cliff near the Minisink path (possibly Millbrook). He was one of the more prominent men in West Jersey and held several positions. He was appointed Deputy Surveyor General for the Province of New Jersey, and this position provided a significant amount of authority and wealth (New Jersey Project).

The communities that comprise Frelinghuysen Township, aside from Johnsonburg, include Marksboro (named for Colonel Mark Thomson*), Glovers Pond, Kerrs Corners, Shiloh Southtown, and Yellow Frame.
       * Colonel Mark Thomson (1739-1803) was the NJ representative to the US House, Sussex Co. Justice of the Peace (1773), member of the Provincial Convention (1774) and the Provincial Congress (1775), in addition to other political positions in the later part of the Revolution and afterwards. During the Revolution, he served in the 1st Regiment, Sussex County Militia (1776) and served as the colonel of the Battalion of Detached New Jersey Militia (1776). He built and owned the grist mill along the Paulins Kill (Paulinskill) before 1760. Later, he moved to Changewater in Washington Township (Lee, 345). It has not been determined if he died in Marksboro or Changewater, but was buried in the Hughes family plot in Pohatcong Twp.

One of the original three railroad stations along the Lackawanna Cut-Off was located in Johnsonburg and built by Hyde, McFarlan & Burke of Orange, NJ (Steam Shovel and Dredge, 404). It opened in 1911 and was located on the western portion of the Ramsey Fill. By 1940, the station was closed due to light passenger service and freight business. It was temporarily reopened in 1941 as a command post for the Armstrong Cut, and continued to be a flag stop on the Cut-Off until the 1960s.

Johnsonburg Station DLW RR 1912

Johnsonburg Lackawanna Railroad Station & Creamery, 1911.
(Frelinghuysen Township Historical Society)

There are a few cemeteries located within the boundary of Frelinghuysen and one on the boarder with Sussex County. Veterans of the American Revolution are designed with "AR" while Civil War are "CW".

 Dark Moon Burying Ground 
Dyer Burying Ground
(Private Property-- No Trespassing)
 Johnsonburg Methodist Cemetery  Johnsonburg Christian Church Cemetery  Yellow Frame Church Cemetery 
(church/cemetery on the County line with Sussex)
 Pvt. Elisha Cooke
(1716-1799)
AR
[Strykers, 550]
 John V. Dicksson
(1809-1881)
CW

 2nd Lt. Isaac S. Givens
(1848-1887)
Sgt., Co. A & L, 2nd NJ Cavalry
CW
[Strykers, 1317]

Joseph Gaston
(1738-1804)
Possibly Paymaster, Somerset Co.
AR
{Strykers, 375]
 
Pvt. Thomas Hazen
 (1732-1802)
AR
[Strykers, 624]
Walter A. Sidener
(1845-1894)
Co. D, 2nd NJ Volunteers
 
Co. B, 15th NJ Infantry
CW
[Strykers, 709]
Pvt. Isaac L. Willett
(1834-1901)
Also, Isaac L. Willits
Co. H, 31st NJ
CW
[NPS]
Col. Aaron Hankinson
(1735-1806)
Col., 2nd Sussex Regiment under Gen. David Forman
AR
[Stryker, 347]
   Peter Van Ness
(1815-1901)
CW
   Pvt. William Hankinson
(1737-1796)
Possibly Corp.,
Capt. Hankinson's Co.,
1st Regiment, Monmouth
[Strykers, 477]
  Marcena B. Wilcox
(1845-1912)
Co. B, 58th MA Volunteers
CW
  Capt. John Kirkpatrick, Sr.
(1739-1822)
LT, Capt. Henry Johnson's Co., 2nd Sussex Regiment
Capt., 2nd Sussex Co. Militia
AR
[Strykers, 398]
 
   Pvt. Jonathan S. Wilson
(1846-1876)
Co. A, B, H, 1st NJ Cavalry
Co. A, 4th NJ Infantry
CW
[NPS 1, 2]
  Pvt. John Roy
(1744-1803)
Capt. Gaven McCoy's 1st Regiment, Somerset Militia
AR
[Stryker, 740
     

 Sgt. Austin Elisha Armstrong
(1836-1862)
Co. H, 9th NJ Infantry
Killed in action,
Battle of Roanoke
Island, NC
CW
[NPS]
*Died same day under
command of Capt. Joseph J. Henry, who was killed the
same day in the same battle

       Sgt. James H. Couch
(1843-1907)
Also James F. Couch
Pvt. to 8th Sgt.
Co. D, 6th NY Infantry
CW
[NPS]
      Andrew Jackson Emmons
(1832-1916)
Co. D, 8th NJ Infantry
Co. A, 5th NJ Infantry
Co. E, 7th NJ Infantry
CW
[Strykers, 231]
      Pvt. Stephen Foster
(1819-1885)
Either
 Co. D, 38th NJ Infantry
or
Co. I, 7th NJ Infantry
CW
[NPS 1, 2]

Verification is from Strykers (Rev War, Civil War 1 and 2), NPS Soldiers & Sailors, or other. 

Resources

Barnickel, Don and Williams, Paula. "Touring the Lackawanna Cutoff." Skylands Visitor. [Digital

Cummins, George Wyckoff. The History of Warren County, NJ. 1911. [Digital]

"Frelinghuysen, Theodore, 1787-1862." Biographical Directory of the United States Congress. [Digital]

Goodspeed, Marfy. "Samuel Green of West New Jersey." Goodspeed Histories, New Jersey History and Genealogy. 20 Aug 2009.  [Digital]

"History - Hope Township." Hope Township. [Digital]

"Jonathan Hampton." Family Search. [Digital]

Lee, Francis Bazley. Genealogical and Memorial History of the State of New Jersey. Volume 1. Princeton University: Lewis Historical Publishing Co. 1910.

Natyzak, Debra. "Frelinghuysen Township." Frelinghuysen Historical Society. 2025.

"Samuel Green is part of New Jersey History." New Jersey Project. [Digital]

Steam Shovel and Dredge. International Brotherhood of Steam Shovel and Dredge Men. Volumes 21-22. Urbana-Champaign: University of Illinois. 1917.

Greenwich Township

Incorporated by an Act of the NJ Legislature on February 21, 1798

As one of the earliest townships in the County, Greenwich was formed prior to 1738 from Bethlehem Township (Hunterdon Co.) and is named for Greenwich, England. Originally the land of the Lenni Lenape, this township was originally a part of several counties including Hunterdon (October 9, 1738) and Morris (March 15, 1739) as county borders shifted.  Also, portions of the original township were taken to create other townships: Hardwick (1750), Mansfield (1754), Oxford (1754), Franklin (1839), Harmony (1839), and Phillipsburg (1851). Finally, Pohatcong separated into an individual township in 1882. Greenwich is comprised of Upper Stewartsville, Stewartsville (named for Thomas Stewart (1752-1836)), Coopersville, Kennedy Mills, Port Warren, and Still Valley.
     * Lt. Stewart served in the Revolution and enlisted in 1775 in Bucks Co., PA. On May 10, 1780, he was promoted to Lieutenant of Captain Jacob Shoup's Co., 4th Co. of the 2nd Battalion under the command of Lt. Col. John Keller. On May 12, 1783, he served as the lieutenant of the 3rd Battalion under the command of Lt. Col. Robert Robinson. Following the war, Stewart served as the Justice of the Peace at Greenwich for many years. He is buried in the Greenwich Presbyterian Cemetery. (Also listed as the 2nd Company of the 3rd Battalion, 1777).

In 1677, one of the earliest settlers to the area, John Cook, purchased 1,111 acres of land from the Lenni Lenape. He built a home and a mill on his property and was one of several mills in Warren County that provided feed and flour to the Continental Army during their encampment in Morristown during the Revolution ("Greenwich History"). 

Greenwich was named for "Mr. Green", a settler there before 1738. It has been locally referred to as "Green's Ridge", "Greenage", and lastly Greenwich (pronounced Green-which, not Gren-itch). There are two Greenwich Townships in New Jersey-- one in Warren and the other in Gloucester.

There are two very old burial grounds located in this township that includes the St. James "Straw" Lutheran Church and the old Greenwich Presbyterian Church.  The current structure for the Greenwich Presbyterian Church was built in 1835 to replace an earlier stone church constructed in 1775. Prior to that, the structure was a log church built in 1739 that was nearby the current church's location. Gen. Maxwell served under General Edward Braddock (1695-1755) during the French & Indian War as well as leading the 2nd NJ Battalion during the American Revolution. During the Rev War, he served in some of the more significant battles including the Quebec (1775-1776)and Philadelphia (1777) campaigns, Battle of Monmouth (1778), and the Sullivan Expedition & Campaign (1779). He was regarded by General Washington to be one of the best battlefield commanders in the American army.

Greenwich Presbyterian Church Cemetery -Revolutionary War.

 John Barber
(1719-1777)
Served in PA Regiment OR Sussex Co.
[NSDAR]
Robert Innes
(1734-1813) 
Capt. Benjamin McCullough
(1736-1789)
Committee of Public Safety
Captain, "Heard's Brigade" (14 June 1776), Captain, 1st Regiment, Sussex Co. Militia
(24 May 1777), NJ Assembly
(1778-1779), Freeholder,
Greenwich Twp (1781-1784)
[Stryker, 401]
Robert Kennedy
(1734-1812) 
Wagon master/
Teamster
Mill owner 
 Col. Joseph Beavers
(1728-1816)
2nd NJ Regiment, Hunterdon Co. Militia
Served under Brig. Gen. William Maxwell
[Stryker, 342]
Pvt. Jeremiah Lott
(1755-1822)
Trumpeter, Captains John Paul Shott, John Dorsey, John Heard, PA Militia
Col. Stephen Moyland, Continental Line
Capt. John Coryell, Bucks Co. Militia
[NSDAR]
Peter Smith
(1741-1814)
Capt. Coxe's Company
3rd Battalion, 2nd Establishment
Capt. Cox's Co., 3rd Regiment
1st Regiment
[Stryker, 287]
 Spencer Carter
(1739-1812)
Quartermaster & Purchasing Foragemaster
for Col. John Taylor and Gen. Matthias Williamson.
[Stryker, 836]
[NSDAR]
Capt. John Maxwell
(1739-1828)
Lieutenant in Sussex Militia
Captain in 2nd Regiment, Hunterdon Co.
Brother of Lt. Robert Maxwell and Gen. William Maxwell.
[Stryker, 400]
William Smith
(1754-1815)
Hunterdon Co. Regiment
 Major Thomas Hamlen/Hamlin, Jr.
(1729-1810)
NJ Continental Army
[NSDAR]
Lt. Robert Maxwell
(1744-1798)
Captain John Maxwell's Co.,
2nd Regiment, Hunterdon Co.
Brother of Capt. John Maxwell and Gen. William Maxwell.
[Stryker, 429]
 Robert Stewart
(1732-1809)
Possibly Capt. Bond's Co., 4th Battalion, 2nd Establishment
Father of Lt. Thomas Stewart
[Stryker, 291]
Daniel Hixon
(1752-1831) 
Brig. Gen. William Maxwell
(1733-1796) 
Colonel, 2nd Battalion, 1st Establishment
(8 Nov 1775)
Brigadier General, Continental Army
(23 Oct 1776 to 25 July 1780)
Commanded the "Jersey Line"
Sullivan Expedition

[Stryker, 64]
Lt. Thomas Stewart
(1752-1836)
Bucks Co. Militia (1775)
Lt. of Capt. Jacob Shoup's Co., 4th Co., 2nd Battalion
(under Lt. Col. John Keller)

Lt. of 3rd Battalion (1783)
under Lt. Col. Robert Robinson.
[NSDAR]
 
 Pvt. James Hyndshaw, Jr.
(1753-1816/1819)
Flying Camp at Camp Nelson, Northampton Co. Militia (1776)
Served in Battle of Fort Washington (POS, prison ship)
[NSDAR]
 

Veterans confirmed by Strykers (NJ) or Daughters of the American Revolution (NSDAR)

Greenwich Presbyterian Church Cemetery - Civil War.

 Alfred Brower
(d. 1867)
Navy Landsman, USS Receiving Ship
[USCWG]
 Isaac Hawk
(d. 1898)
Landsman, US Navy
USS Sonoma
[USCWG]
Henry W. Sidders/Siders
(1843-1936)
Co. E, 31st NJ Infantry
Landsman, US Navy, USS Seneca
[USCWG]
 

 Cpl. Joseph B. Creveling
(d. 1865)
Cenotaph
Co. B, 10th NJ Infantry
Died from diarrhea while a
prisoner at Danville, VA
Buried in National Cemetery
at Danville, VA
Cenotaph in family plot
[USCWG]

 Henry Housell/Housel
(1843-1933)
Co. G, 1st NJ Cavalry
[NJCWG]
 Charles A. Stewart
(1832-1904)
Battery E, 1st NJ Lt. Artillery
[USCWG]
 Daniel Davis
(1831-1914)
Co. D and F, 7th NJ Infantry
Deserted twice.
[USCWG]
Jacob Nunemaker
(n.d.)
Co. H, 138th PA Infantry
[NJCWG
2nd Lt. Isaac C. Stewart
(1824-1892)
Co. H, 102nd PA Infantry
[USCWG
 David Harrison
(d. 1906)
Co. C, 1st NJ Lt. Artillery
[USCWG]

 John M. Plummer
Also William Plummer
(1823-1871)
Co. C, 31st NJ Infantry
[USCWG]

 Peter Welch
(1814-1891)
Co. K, 33rd NJ Infantry
[USCWG]

Soldiers who have been verified will have Strykers (Vol 1 or Vol 2), NPS, or US Civil War Graves (USCWG).
Greenwich Presby Ch
Greenwich Presbyterian Church, c. 1740 
(Revolutionary War New Jersey)

The cornerstone of the First Lutheran Church of Stewartsville (the "Straw Church") was laid in 1851. Originally, the church was founded in 1750 by German settlers. It was originally a log building with a thatched straw roof. On early maps, the community surrounding the church was called "Straw." The first church was replaced by a stone structure in 1790, and its cornerstone is a part of the wall surrounding the St. James Cemetery across the street. There are also veterans buried in this cemetery from the Revolutionary War through the 20th c. conflicts.

Revolutionary War veterans interred at the St. James Lutheran Cemetery on Route 22 and Uniontown Road. 

 John William Beemer 
(1734-1795)
Possibly Hunterdon Co. Militia
[Strykers, 504]
 
Captain Anthony Lerch 
(1750-1798)
Northampton Co. Militia,
4th Battalion, 1st Co.
 
Bolser Zimmerman Carpenter 
(1748-1821)
 
Daniel Feit 
(1748-1805)
  
Capt. Andrew Melich

(1729-1820)
Also Andreas Malick
Capt., 1st Regiment, Sussex Co. Militia
Served under Col. Mark Thompson
[Stryker, 400]
[NSDAR]

Johannes ("John") Feit 
(1714-1790) 
 Philip Fine 
(1744-1810)
43d NJ
 
  Lt. Christopher Melick 
(1750-1832)
1st Sussex Regiment
 
George Geasserr 
(1730-1808)
 
 Philip Sager
(1754-1837)
Pvt. Benjamin Hoff 
(1740-1796)
Sussex Co. Militia
Peter Sharp
(1751-1827)
Amos Hixson 
(1753-1836)
 
 LTC Mathias Shipman 
(1726-1812)
John Howell 
Possibly "Jersey Line"
(1766-1848)
Johannus "John" Sinclair 
(1743-1821)
Wagoneer and boatman, NJ Regiment
 
[NSDAR]
 Lt. Christopher Insley 
(1739-1782)
Loyalist in the 5th Battalion
of the NJ Volunteers, King's Rangers,
and other detachments
Killed in action by Patriot fusillade
LOY
Pvt. Peter Sinclair 
(1719-1785)
Hunterdon Co. Militia 
Capt. Jacob Jacob Young 
(1756-1843) 

 

Civil War.

This will be updated as more veterans are identified.

 Pvt. Jacob A. Allhouse
(1839-1910)
Co. C, NJ 31st Infantry
Musician
[USCWG]
 Pvt. Mordecai W. Mills
(1822-1900)
Co. G, 30th NJ Infantry
Pvt. Theodore Stout
(1843-1922)
Co. E, 31st NJ Infantry
 
1Lt. Abram O.S. Carpenter
(d. 1866)
1Sgt, Co. C, 31st NJ Infantry
1st Lt. Co. C, 31st NJ Infantry
[USCWG]

 Pvt. Richard Person
(1807-1896)
Co. E, 38th PA Infantry 
(2 months, 17 days)
Pvt. Henry Franklin Ward
(1839-1918)
Co. D, 8th NJ Volunteers  
Isaac Clymer
(d. 1866)
Co. B, 3rd NJ Cavalry
(1 year enlistment)
[USCWG]
 Pvt. Jacob H. Piatt
(1833-1905)
Co. F, 31st NJ Infantry
 
 Pvt. Benjamin Warner
(1833-1918)
Co. B, 3rd NJ Cavalry
Pvt. Jonas Hoadley
 (1847-1913)
Co. D, 28th Regiment
 
Corp./Rev. Thomas C. Pritchard
(1840-1910)
Co. A, 26th PA Volunteers
Company comprised mostly of
Gettysburg College students
[USCWG]
Pvt. Charles Reading Wilson
(1842-1862)
Co. B, 153rd PA Volunteers
Died of typhoid fever at
Stafford Court House, VA on 23 Dec 1862
 Pvt. Aaron Kichline (Keichline)
(1837-1921)
Co. C, 31st NJ
Corp. William M. Randolph
(1837-1922)
Co. I, 5th NY Cavalry
Later listed as Sgt. and
Commissary Sgt.
Discharged as Private (1864)
Martin H. Wilson
(d. 1862)
Co. E, 7th NJ Infantry
[USCWG]
[NPS]
 John Loudenberry
(1845-1930)
Co. C, 31st NJ
Philip Reese
(1822-1902)
Co. E, 8th NJ Infantry
Co. I, 8th NJ Infantry
[USCWG]
Sgt. Emanuel S. Wilson
(n.d.)
Co. D, 45th PA Infantry
 John Melick
(1835-1900)
Co. C, 31st NJ Volunteers
 William S. Searfoss
(1833-1892)
Co. C, 31st NJ Volunteers
Corp. George L. Yard
(1819-1881)
Co. F, 31st NJ Infantry  
 Sebastian A. Meyers/Meyer
(1834-1909)
Co. C, 31st NJ Infantry
[USCWG]
 Jeremiah Benjamin Still
(1845-1931)
Co. F, 17th PA Cavalry
 

All military verified through Strykers, NPS, and US Civil War Graves (USCWG]

Local mills in Greenwich supplied feed and flour to the Continental Army during the Revolution.  The Kennedy House & Mill are historic properties added to the National Register on 16 May 1996 for its significance in architecture, politics, government and industry. The area is referred to as Stewartsville, but was once called Kennedy Mills.  The two-story miller's house was built around 1815-1825 of coursed rubble stone in a Federalist architectural style. The gristmill is 2-1/2 stories and located along Pohatcong Creek. Both are private properties.

The original owner of the mill property was Robert Kennedy (1733-1812), through an inheritance from his father-in-law William Henry (1716-1756), who left his property in Greenwich to his wife and six children. By 1770, it was divided by court-order to four of his surviving children, including Elizabeth (wife of Robert).  It may have operated as early as 1764.. Kennedy was a wagon master (teamster) from 1778 to 1780, where he was in charge of five teams during the Revolution.  His property was then inherited by his only surviving son, Robert Henry (Henrie) Kennedy (1787-1859), a Judge of the Court of Common Please (1830, 1835) and represented Greenwich Township on the Warren Co. Board of Chosen Freeholders from 1832 to 1839 and i 1851. He served four terms on the Governor's Council from 1837 to 1840. During his tenure as Freeholder (1835), the bridge with stone abutments erected across the creek from the mill still stands. He also donated stone and a "liberal cash contribution" for a new church (Greenwich Presbyterian Church). After his death, the property was passed onto his Robert H.'s son, Henry Robert Kennedy (1815-1884).

Kennedy Mill, c. 1810s/1820s
Private Property
[Google]

RESOURCES

"1881 History of Warren County New Jersey Greenwich Township." New Jersey Genealogical Trails.  [Digital]

Cummins, George Wyckoff. History of Warren County, New Jersey. 1911. 

"History." Greenwich Historical Society. [Digital]

"History of St. James Lutheran Church." Straw Church. [Digital]

"Kennedy House and Mill." National Register of Historic Places. US Department of the Interior. National Park Service. 15 April 1996. [Digital]

"Old Greenwich Presbyterian Church Cemetery." Revolutionary War New Jersey.  [Digital]

Sikra, James. "Greenwich Township." Greenwich Historical Society. 2025.

Stryker, William Scudder. General Maxwell's Brigade of the New Jersey Continental Line In the Expedition Against the Indians, in the Year 1779. Trenton: W.S. Sharp Printing Co., 1885. [Digital]

Hackettstown

Incorporated by an Act of the NJ Legislature on March 9, 1853

Before its incorporation, Hackettstown was a part of Independence Township. It is surrounded by Schooley's Mountain (South), Buck's Hill (North, West), and the Musconetcong River (East, South). During the canal era, the Morris Canal traveled along its northwestern border, crossing modern Route 46 before connecting with Waterloo Road. The town was named for the earliest and largest landowner of the time, Samuel Hackett (Cummins, 148).

Originally settled by Obadiah Ayers (bc. 1720), who arrived to the area from Basking Ridge with his wife, Dorothy Langdon in about 1754 and purchased 1200 acres from the heirs of Thomas Lambert (Frank & Lemasters, 1; "Chronology", 1). From 1754-1766, John Hackett purchased land from Obadiah Ayers and others in modern Hackettstown and surrounding townships. After John Hackett's death, the name "Hacketts-Town" appeared on a deed in 1767. During the Revolutionary War, many men from the town fought in the armed services. Captain William Helms led a company of men into battle. He owned a mill near the Musconetcong River.
     * Helms was breveted a Major General of the NJ Militia (1801-1811). 

In a letter to Gen. Washington, Captain Helms wrote from New Town (Sussex) on 1 July 1780, "Sir. I inform your Excellency I was sent here by Order of General Maxwell in consiquence of your Orders to him, to request the Officers of Milittia to furnish a Guard Sufficient for the security of the Stores at this place & Hackts Town, I have made applycation. Accordingly but have got but a very Insufficient number and those under bad regulations as I find it Impracticable to keep them from running home. The Colonels of Milittia complain of the Multiplysity of buisness they have at present on their hands, men to raise for the Army likewise for the defence of their Frontiers, this they fear will put it out of their power to furnish me with the men required - Should look upon a small number of Continental Troops a greater security than any number of Milittia I can collect, as men so near home will not be under any regulation... (Wm Helms Capt. 2d Regt J)."

On the 1769 map, the town was called "Halketstown", but it was named Helms' Mills or Musconetcong prior to that. The Helms family owned a mill ("Helms Mill") on the Musconetcong. Helms Mill was the first of its kind in the area and was built prior to 1764. Later a more modern mill was built on the Helms site and was called Youngblood and also later, Gruendyke. It also operated as an ice house. The mill itself ran for over 100 years before it was damaged by fire and torn down.
     * Most likely the transcriber misread the name of the town as Halketstown.

Youngblood/Gruendyke Mill, c. 1920s
Site of Helms Mill (18th c.)
(WCCHA Archives)

Formerly located on Main Street, on the side of a modern building, is a plaque that identifies the site of the home of Lt. and Mrs. Robert Wilson. Due to poor health, Lt. Wilson (1751-1779), an Irish immigrant, left the Continental Army in 1775 after a brief period of service as a muster-master general. In 1776, he married Martha Stewart (1757-1852), the daughter of Col. Charles Stewart (1729-1800), the lieutenant colonel of the Hunterdon Co. Militia (1771), colonel of a battalion of Minutemen (1776), commissary general of issues by the Continental Congress (1777), member of the Continental Congress (1784, 1785). The Wilsons purchased the property on Main Street and built their house. Two years later, in 1779, Wilson died at the age of 28, leaving his wife a widow at age twenty.  

In the center of the crossroads, the Warren House (now David's Country Inn), named for General Joseph Warren (1741-1775) who died at the Battle of Bunker Hill in 1775. It was originally constructed of logs (1787). The current structure was built in 1840 and the building served as an inn for 152 years. In the 1920s, the "Warren House" served as a tavern ("Our History").

 Davids Country Inn_early 1900s

Warren House (early 20th c.) & Billy Yank Statue (Civil War)
Currently, David's Country Inn
(WCCHA Archives)

     * Billy Yank, the personification of a US soldier during the Civil War. In Hackettstown, was a monument planned in Hackettstown in honor of Captain Holt's Company and Co. B, 15th NJ Volunteers. Thirty years after the soldiers return home from war, the town erected the monument. The town contracted J.W. Fiske Iron Works (NYC) to design and assemble the 19-foot tribute to the hometown Civil War heroes. Atop of the monument is a life-sized statue of a Civil War soldiers. The base included "a drinking fountain for humans, basins for horses and a smaller area for dogs." Monies were collected from three sources- the Hackettstown Area School Children Monument Penny Collection ($300), local businesses ($200) and the Hackettstown Town Council ($200). In 1896, Hackettstown's school children collected 30,000 pennies. On 29 December 1926, a court order was given to state was topple Billy Yank and the metal sold for scrap in order to widen Route 46. In May 1998, land was donated by Valley National Bank, Warren County and the State to reinstall the statue on the bank's property ("The Story of 'Billy Yank'").
      * J.W. Fiske & Co. of NYC produced decorative cast iron and zinc during the second half of the 19th c. in addition to garden fountains and urns, in addition to many of the cast-zinc Civil War memorials throughout the north. 

The American House, which was located on the corner of Main and High Streets, was the town's first tavern. In 1767, David Reynolds built a two-room log structure. Found guilty of passing counterfeit monies to a peddler, Reynolds was hanged for his crimes in Morristown (Morris County) and left his wife to run the business. In 1823, she sold it to Jacob Sharp, who replaced the log cabin with a five-room stone and wood structure ("The Betsy Sharp Hotel"), named in honor of his daughter. Over the next six decades, ownership of this business changed several times and by 1840, it was called "The Musconetcong Hotel." Eleven years later, James A. Hamilton bought the property and ran it until his death in 1854. It was then sold to Caleb A. Fairclo until 1860 when it was obtained by Peter Churchill, who built a three-story colonial structure ("The American House").  Col. Caleb H. Valentine (1838-1886)  and John Welsh owned the business from 1871 to 1875. Four years later, it was owned by Reuel McCracken (the son of hotelier, William McCracken), who ran it until his death in 1922. Afterwards, his daughter Minnie and her husband Alonzo Herrick acquired ownership. By 1930, the hotel was sold for the final time and eventually torn down.
     * Caleb Fairclo was one of the town's oldest and most respected citizens. He was born in Chester (Morris Co) and lived on Grand Ave. in Hackettstown. He was the proprietor of the American House and a Justice of the Peace. [Fairclo Obituary]

Hackettstown_American House
American House, Hackettstown, NJ
(Hackettstown Through the Years, Facebook)

Formerly located at the site of 176 Main Street was the Lt. Robert Wilson's house. Wilson (d. 1779/1780), an Irish immigrant, was a successful Philadelphia merchant who joined the army following the report of the Battles of Lexington and Concord (MA). When Washington was named "Commander-in-Chief" of the Continental Army by the Congress in Philadelphia (June 1775), Wilson was appointed as one of his aides-de-camp on his way to take command of the army in Cambridge, MA. Wilson's poor health eventually led him to resign his commission and by 1779, the 29-year old Lieutenant passed away. His wife, Mrs. Martha Stewart Wilson (1758-1852) was a 20-year old widow. Due to her father's position in the Army, Mrs. Wilson entertained many Revolutionary War figures in Hackettstown and her father's house in Hunterdon Co., including Gen. and Mrs. George Washington, Alexander Hamilton, the Marquis de Lafayette, Nathaniel Green, Horatio Gates, Gen. William Maxwell and Gen. Casimir Pulaski.
     * Mrs. Wilson was the daughter of Col. Charles Stewart (1729-1800), who was an Irish immigrant (Gortlea, County Donegal, Ireland) who came to the American colonies in 1750. He was a farmer who served in the Revolution, first commissioned as a lieutenant colonel of the Hunterdon Co. militia, then commissioned colonel of a battalion of Minutemen, appointed Commissary General of Issues by the Continental Congress, delegate to the Continental Congress, died in Flemington (Hunterdon Co., NJ) and buried in the Old Bethlehem Presbyterian Churchyard in Hunterdon Co., NJ. Mrs. Wilson doesn't appear to have remarried and is buried in the Lakewood Cemetery in Cooperstown, NY.  She had one child with her husband named Margaretta Matilda Wilson Bowers (1778-1872).

Located "on the hill", Centenary University, is a private university that was originally founded as a preparatory school by the Newark Conference of the Methodist Episcopal Church in 1867 (Centenary Collegiate Institute). By 1940, the school had emerged into a junior college (Centenary Junior College) and sixteen years later, became the Centenary College for Women. In 1976, Centenary College become a coeducational university and acquired university status in 2016. In 1886, a 19-year old kitchen maid employed by CCI named Matilda "Tillie" Smith (1866-1886) was attacked and murdered in a field just off of the campus. A janitor at Centenary Collegiate Institute by the name of James J. Titus  (1857-1952) was convicted of her murder (although the case was based primarily on circumstantial evidence and thereby still considered controversial). The townspeople raised money to pay for Tillie's burial in a "pauper's grave" on the hilltop in the Union Cemetery. Later, the people of Hackettstown erected the current monument over her grave. On the stone is the inscription, "She died in defence of her honor, Apr. 8, 1886, aged 19 years. Erected by an appreciative public."  Titus was supposed to be executed by hanging, but he signed a confession and served 19 years in prison instead. He was paroled in December 1904.      * Centenary commemorated 100 years of Methodism in the United States. The college was built for $200,000 and its first president was George H. Whitney, D.D. (1830-1913), who served in this capacity from 1869 to 1895 ("A Noble History Continues").

Fire at CCI 31 Oct 1899
The Fire, October 31, 1899
(Taylor Memorial Library, Centenary University)

Shortly before midnight on October 31, 1899, the 25th anniversary of the Centenary Collegiate Institute, a fire started in the main building. The origin of the fire is unknown, but possibly contributed to spontaneous combustion of painters' supplies that were stored too closely to the boiler room in the building's basement. By 2 am, the bell in the clock tower tolled for its final time before falling to the ground. Two hours later, the entire building was destroyed. Across the campus, two gymnasiums (women, men), the chemical laboratory, barn and ice house survived the fire. Students were sent home for the time being. Not willing to relent, the Board of Trustees and College President announced that the fall term would continue. On November 20th, classes resumed in local hotels, resorts, and even private homes, which served as classrooms and dormitories. Each new "hall" was named for a professor to help people differentiate the buildings from one another. The chapels on Main Street provided meals and recitation. On December 1, 1900, the cornerstone for the new building (later named "Seay" after Edward Wythe Seay (1911-1984)) was laid and the following September, the college reopened even though the chapel and recitation rooms were still under construction ("All Hallow's Even Morning"). The Seay Building was added to the National Register of Historic Places for its significant and notable architecture.

In the 1830s, the Morris Canal traversed through part of Hackettstown and a store and other structures were located at Harvey Street in the northern part of town that served as a stop on the canal. It traveled along Buck Hill area until it crossed modern Route 46 and headed towards Bilby Road and later, Saxton Falls and Waterloo Village. 

MC_under Main Street with Mitchell_Harvey canal store in the distance with dark colored canal warehouse
West under Main Street (Rt. 46) bridge.
Mitchell/Harvey canal store in distance with canal warehouse to left of bridge.
(Canal Society of NJ)

There are two cemeteries in the Hackettstown area: Old Presbyterian Burial Ground and Union Cemetery. In the Old Presbyterian Burial Ground there are 29 Revolutionary War and ten (10) War of 1812 Veterans on land donated by Obadiah Ayres. The Union Cemetery, which was established in 1857 and has 74 Civil War burials. 

Olde Presbyterian Burial Ground - Revolutionary War (AM) and War of 1812 (W1812) 

Ensign Ezekiel Stark Ayers, Jr.
Sussex Co. Militia
(Stryker, 493)
AR
Pvt. Jacob Phillips
(n.d.)
Capt. Martin's Co., 4th Battalion,
2nd Establishment
(Stryker, 265)
 Pvt. Obadiah Ayers
Middlesex Co.
*No record
AR
Jeremiah Poole
(1750-1818) 
Wagoner, Continental Line
AR
(NSDAR)
 Pvt. Conover Bowne
(1766-1840)
St. Clyde Regiment, Brown Co.
*Note his age during the Rev War
AR
Pvt. John Robertson
(1757-1817)
Morris Co. Militia 
AR
 Pvt. Joseph Campbell
(1775-1840)
1st Battalion
Listed as Rev War, but was too young.
Most likely, served in War of 1812
W1812?
Lt. John W. Schenck
(1754-1841)
3rd Regiment, Hunterdon Co.
AR
[Stryker, 408]
Pvt. Robert Carson Caskey, Sr.
 
(1747-1800)
Continental Line
AR
Pvt. Jacob Sharp
(1747-1843)
Fisher Reg't, Snook Co.
AR
Pvt. John Clark
(1763-1846)
2nd Battalion, 2nd Establishment
Capt. Hendry's Co., 2nd Regiment
AR
Col. Isaac Smith
(1753-1825)
1st Regiment, Hunterdon Co. 
AR
 Pvt. James Cook
(1760-1836)
Eastern Battalion,
Morris Co. Militia
 
AR
 Capt. Richard Stephens
(1732-1792)
Morris Co. Militia
AR
[NSDAR]
 Major John Coryell
(1730-1799)
Captain of Bucks Co. Militia
Also listed as NJ Militia
AR
[NSDAR]
Pvt. Archibald Stewart, Sr.
(1735-1792/1795)
Webster Regiment
Member of Provincial Congress (1775)
AR
[NSDAR]
    
 Edward Dunlap/Dunlop
(1748-1783)
Capt. Bond's Co., 4th Battalion, 2nd Establishment
Taken prisoner (24 Dec 1776)
Militia
AR
[Stryker, 187]
Sgt. John Stewart
(1764-1831)
Eastern Battalion, Morris Co. Militia  
AR
Pvt. John Hance
(1738-1816)
1st Battalion, Capt. Forman's Co.
AR
[Stryker, 207]
Corp. Robert Stewart
(1764-1807)
Capt. Bond's Co. 
AR
Pvt. John Hockenbery
(1766-1810)
Capt. Ballard's Co., 3rd Battalion,
2nd Establishment
Militia
 
AR
[Stryker, 213]
Pvt. Samuel Stewart
(1769-1847)
McCrea Regiment, Doty Co.
AR
Capt. Greshon Hull
(1767-1812)
4
th Regiment, Hunterdon Co. 
AR
William Stewart
(1738-1810)
 Captain Bond's Co., 4th Battalion, 2nd Establishment
Col. Ephram Martin, 4th Reg't
Col. Matthias Ogden, 1st Reg't
Taken prisoner near Woodbridge (15 April 1777)
Unsure of a Pvt. or Lt.
AR
(Stryker, 291)
(NSDAR)   
Pvt. William Lawrence
(1743-1816)
Essex Co.
Matross,
Capt. Neil's Eastern Co. Artillery,
State Troops
 
AR
Pvt. Joseph Sutton
(1762-1836)
3rd Regiment, Hunterdon Co.   
AR
Pvt. William Morgan
(1749-1810)
Capt. Helms 9th Co., 2nd Regiment
NJ Line
AR
Major John Vliet IV
(1742-1804)
1st Battalion, Somerset Co. 
AR

[Stryker, 370]
Pvt. John Patrick
(no date)
Crane Regiment, Lockwood Co.
Possibly CT Regiment
 
AR

 Veterans confirmed with Stryker book and NSDAR.
Revolutionary War Sites in Hackettstown "Old Presbyterian Burial Ground."

Union Cemetery - Civil War

 Pvt. Joseph C. Allen
(1839-1873)
Co. M, 2nd NJ Cavalry
Co. H, 2nd NJ Cavalry
 Pvt. Andrew C. Clawson
(1838-1922)
Co C,
15th NJ Volunteers
Co. G,
2nd NJ Volunteers
Jacob F. Gulick
(1848-1912)
Pvt. John Lambert
(1818-1864)
Co. B, 15th NJ Volunteers
Discharged
due to illness (Tuberculosis)
Died of Tuberculosis & Chronic Diarrhea 
Augustus Schmeal
(1841-1877)
Battery B,
1st NJ Lt. Infantry
 
Pvt. Charles W. Willever, Sr.
(1842-1927)
 
Battery B, 1st Artillery Volunteers
Battery B, NJ Light Artillery
Pvt. William Henry Ammerman
(1833-1902)
Co. E, 30th NJ Infantry 
 Pvt. William R. Clawson
(1836-1917)
Co. B,
15th NJ Volunteers 
Samuel Drake Hallock
(1847-1909)
Musician
Co. D,
67th PA Infantry
(Cenotaph)
Buried in
Los Angeles, CA
Pvt. Stephen A. Lefler
(1833-1910)
Co. E, 11th NJ Volunteers
Discharged
due to disability 
(Feb. 2, 1863)
 
Pvt. John F. Schmeal
(1830-1919)
Battery B, 1st NJ Lt. Artillery
 
Pvt. James L. Winters
(1844-1916)
Co. B, 15th NJ Volunteers
 Pvt. Woodhull F. Ammerman
(1839-1876)
Co. G, 3rd NJ Infantry
 Pvt. Oliver Coon
(1830-1876)
Co. G,
___th PA Infantry
 Lewis Hamilton
(1830-1875) 
 William Mattison, Sr.
(1842-1918)
Co. H, 2nd NJ Volunteers
 George M. Seals
(1833-1909)
Co. I, 8th NJ Volunteers
Discharged for disability, Sept. 29, 1862
Fort Lyons, VA
Pvt. William Stewart Wire
(1846-1918)
Co. H, 31st NJ Volunteers
 John D. Ayers
(1825-1887)
Co. D,
10th NJ
Infantry
Charles W. Crusen
(1835-1896)
Co. B,
15th NJ Volunteers
 
Pvt. Silas W. Hance
(1845-1911)
Co. M,
1st NJ Cavalry 
 
Pvt. William H. Marlatt
(1833-1918) 
Sgt.
Archibald R. Skinner
(1837-1919)
Co. B, 
15th NJ Volunteers
 
 Stewart Ayers
(1827-1910)
Pvt. David L. Denee
(1842--1912)
Co. D,
15th NJ Volunteers
Jacob Cummins Hart
(1843-1918)
Butterfly Hussars,
3rd NJ Cavalry
  
John O. Marsh
(1823-1852)
 
Pvt. James B. Smith
(1831-1911)
Co. G, 2nd NJ Cavalry
 
 Joseph C. Baldwin
(1835-1888)
Co. C,
26th Brigade
IL Volunteers
Sgt. David Dilley
(1834-1918)
Co. H,
48th OH Infantry 
 Joseph Sharp Hazen
(1821-1884)
Co. E, 2nd NJ Cavalry
 William Mettler
(1833-1923)
William Imla
Stewart
(1810-1879)
US Navy
 
 
Pvt. Talmage L. Bell
(1843-1906)
Co. H,
31st NJ Volunteers 
 Joseph Kitchen Drake
(1839-1902)
Theodore Trimmer Hazen
(1845-1877)
Co. E, 20th NJ Cavalry
 Pvt. Jesse S. Miller
(1838-1909)
Co. C,
27th NJ Volunteers
 William Ramsey Stewart
(1837-1902)
Co. H, 31st NJ Volunteers
 
Pvt. Nicholas L. Bilby
(1835-1865)
Co. H,
31st NJ Volunteers
 
Pvt. Justin Pember Egerton
(1829-1913)
Co. B,
31st NJ Volunteers
 Pvt. Edward B. Heed
(1822-1891)
Co. H, 31st NJ Volunteers
Pvt. John B. Miller
(1842-1918)
Co. H,
15th NJ Volunteers
 
Adolphus A. Stillwell
(1833-1911)
Co. H, ___ NJ Volunteers
 
John S. Bird
(1845-1917) 
 George W. Ellis
(1829-1907) 
LTC. William Holt
(1827-1902)
Lt. Col.,
31st NJ Volunteers  
Sgt. Maj. Theodore Neighbour 
(1834-1905) 
Co. C, 27th NJ Volunteers
Corp. to Sgt.
Sgt. to
Sgt. Maj.,
Field & Staff
Pvt. Jacob Stutz
(1831-1902)
Co. B, 15th NJ Volunteers
 
 James H. Blake
(1845-1901)
 J. Milton Everitt
(1842-1916)
Pvt. George V. Huff
(1843-1921)
Co. I,
15th NJ Volunteers
  
 Hugh Wilson Osmun
(1835-1891)
Aaron R. Sutton
(1813-1902) 
 
 Gideon Bostedo
(1840-1863)
Co. L,
27th NJ Volunteers
One of 17 soldiers that
drowned in
the Cumberland River near Somerset, KY
Dr. Levi J. Farrow
(1844-1909)
Pvt., Co. D, 
2nd NJ Cavalry
Musician,
11th PA Volunteers
Co. G,
34th PA Militia
Casper Jones, Jr.
(1843-1918) 
 Pvt. David Montgomery Price
(1842-1917)
Co. D.,
2nd NJ Volunteers
David W. Thomas
(1840-1899) 
 
 Dr. Luther Calvin Bowlby
(1833-1874)
Assistant Surgeon
Field & Staff
Surgeon,
4th NJ Volunteers
Field & Staff,
23rd NJ Infantry
William Fitzgerald
(1845-1916)
Musician,
Co. M,
2nd NJ Volunteers
Private, Co. M, 2nd NJ Cavalry
Corporal to Private 
 John Karr
(1844-1930)
 
 Pvt. Moses Price
(1838-1903)
Co. C,
2nd NJ Volunteers
 Simon Thompson
(1834-1887)
Co. M, 2nd NJ Cavalry
 
 
Dr. William Whitfield Bowlby
(1836-1886)
Asst. Surgeon, 
26th NJ Volunteers
Asst. Surgeon,
2nd NJ Cavalry
Surgeon, 3rd NJ Cavalry 
Maj. Dayton E. Flint
(1841-1926)
Sgt., Co. B,
15th NJ Volunteers
1st Lt.,
Co. B, 
15th NJ Volunteers
Battalion Major, 
15th NJ Volunteers 
  George W. King
(1816-1896)
William Price
(1839-1909)  
 Pvt. William H. Transue
(1832-1896)
Co. H, 8th NJ Volunteers
 
 Augustus Boyd
(1838-1906)
Jerry R. George
(1842-1921)  
 Edmond A. Klock
(1841-1926)
 Pvt. William A. Price
(1844-1862)
Co. D, 3rd NJ Volunteers
Died in CSA Prison, Richmond, VA
 
 Capt. David M. Trimmer
(1833-1878)
Co. H, 31st NJ Volunteers
 
  Pvt. Theodore Burris
(1843-1911)
Co. M, 2nd NJ Cavalry
Cornelius Gulick
(1845-1913)  
 Pvt. Lewis T. LaBar
(1844-1914)
Co. A, 11th PA Infantry
 
Pvt. Morris C. Richardson
(1839-1890)
Co. E, 2nd NJ Volunteers
Co. D, 14th NJ Infantry
Co. D, 2nd NJ Infantry 
Sgt. Tobias S. Van Horn
(1840-1925)
Co. __, 31st NJ Volunteers
Commissary Sgt.
 
 
  Pvt. William R. Carpenter
(1840-1914)
Co. H,
31st NJ Infantry
Co. M, 2nd NJ Cavalry
 Ezra Pool Gulick
(1838-1917)
Contracted Typhoid Fever,
Honorably Discharged
 
 Pvt. John Costner LaFaucherie
Co B, 1st NJ Militia
Co. C,
37th NJ Infantry
Co. K,
38th NJ Infantry
 
  Pvt. Jacob F. Riedinger
(1827-1914)
Co. B, 15th NJ Infantry
Corp. to Sgt.
Pvt. Simon S. Van Ness
(1844-1915)
Co. B, 15th NJ Volunteers
 
 

 Veterans that are identified were verified in Stryker Vol 1 & 2, NPS Soldiers & Sailors, and other sources.

 The Delaware, Lackawanna & Western Railroad (DL&W) had a large station in town for the Old Main alignment. This 1868 station was a large wooden structure that stood until passenger service for most of the Erie-Lackawanna branch was terminated in 1966. A three-stall brick engine house and a 54-foot turntable.

Some of the early industries in Hackettstown included an old brewery (Silas S. Harvey, 1835), the Old Crane Mill (W. T. Hardy, 1795-1816, Ross Crane and sons, 1816-1896, Johnny P. Hoffman, 1896-1902, Warren Beaty, 1902-1937 when destroyed by fire). This mill is often called the other Beaty mill (the site was located between the Union Cemetery and East Avenue along the Musconetcong River) (Hackettstown Centennial, 28). In addition, there was the carriage manufacturing, run by Jacob Day (1815-1840). The American Sawmill Machinery Co. (1885-1904), also "American Wood Working Machinery Co.", which was an important producer of circular sawmills and general-purpose woodworking machinery (1903-1960s). In addition, there was the Carteret Iron Works (or Carteret Steel Co.), which was in operation from the 1880s to the early 1900s (Hackettstown Centennial, 30). The factory had separate sections for the processing of iron and zinc. The works, located off Grand Ave., was near the one lane railroad bridge. In 1888, the Hackettstown Manufacturing Co. was formed with a number of local business men for the purpose of operating a silk mill. This plant was located on modern-Franklin St. and extended to Maple Avenue. Years later, majority interest was obtained by William H. Ashley and it continued to run as the W.H. Ashley Silk Throwing Co. (Hackettstown Centennial, 30). Lastly, the Hackettstown Hat Works was built in 1895 and manufactured "men's soft felt hats" and was located on the east side of the Lackawanna Railroad, near the High Street crossing. The factory was "completed destroyed by fire on 5 June 1913 and was never rebuilt" (Hackettstown Centennial, 31).

 American Sawmill Machinery and lumberyard along Liberty St Htown_1907

American Saw Mill Machinery Co.
(Hackettstown, NJ)

The railroad came to Hackettstown in the 1830s and many men in town found employment on the tracks and trains. The Lackawanna Railroad bought up small and weak lines to connect Hoboken, NJ with Buffalo, NY. The Morris and Essex line was incorporated on 29 January 1835 to connect Hoboken to Phillipsburg. In 1854, the road (modern-day Route 46) opened from Dover to Hackettstown, and continued to Phillipsburg by 1866. The Lackawanna and Bloomsburg Railroad consolidated in 1873 and followed the East Branch of the Susquehanna River from Northumberland to Scranton, PA. The first freight train was purchased in 1848 and transported anthracite coal (Hackettstown Centennial, 43-45).

On 17 June 1925, the worst train accident in this area occurred at Rockport (Mansfield Twp.), resulting in 52 deaths and many injuries (Hackettstown Centennial, 45). See "Mansfield Township."  A violent storm washed out debris onto a grade crossing, resulting in the Extra 1104 to derail, which killed fifty people. 

Resources.

"All Hallow's Eve Morning." Taylor Memorial Library Archives. Centenary University.  [Digital]

"A Noble History Continues." Taylor Memorial Library Archives. Centenary University. [Digital]

Brock, Donna. "The American House." Historic Hackettstown. [Digital]

Brock, Donna. "The Story of 'Billy Yank.'" Historic Hackettstown. [Digital]

"Captain William Helps to George Washington, 1 July 1780." Founders Online. National Archives. [Digital]

"Chronological History of Hackettstown." Town of Hackettstown. [Digital]

Cummins, George Wyckoff. The History of Warren County, New Jersey. 1911.

Frank, Leonard and Lemasters, Raymond. Historic Main Street, Hackettstown, NJ. Easton, PA: Harmony Press, Inc. 2006.

"Hackettstown, N.J. Centennial, 1853-1953." Town of Hackettstown. 1953. [Digital]

Nunn, J. Harold. The Story of Hackettstown, New Jersey 1754-1955. Easton, PA: Correll Printing Co., 1955. [Digital]

"Our History." David's Country Inn. [Digital]

"Revolutionary War Sites in Hackettstown, New Jersey." Revolutionary War New Jersey. [Digital]

"Telegraph Call: Q." DL&W Old Main. [Digital]

Hardwick Township

Established by Royal Charter on January 22, 1750 and incorporated by an Act of the NJ Legislature in February 21, 1798.
Pahaquarry Township was merged into Hardwick in 1997.

Hardwick was a part of a tract of land purchased from the Lenape people in 1713, which included "thirteen guns, 24 glass bottles, 21 gallons of rum" in addition to other items ("Hardwick Township", 5). The township was established by Royal Charter in 1749 when George II "decreed that the lands be given to inhabitants" (Vass Farmstead). Originally, Hardwick was one of the oldest townships in Warren County and at some point included all of Frelinghuysen, Allamuchy, Hackettstown, Independence, and Stillwater and Green in Sussex Counties. In 1782, Independence (including Allamuchy, Hackettstown and Green) were formed from it (Cummins, 155).

Hardwick_1852_Map

Hardwick Township (1854)

In 1737, William Penn's agents obtained lands of the Minsi (Lenape) of the Minisink Valley in what became the "Walking Purchase". The Minsi were duped into surrendering more land than they planned to and this resulted in animosity that led to the 1755 war party that attacked settlers in what is now Hardwick. The settlers in "the southeastern and northwestern slopes of the Blue Mountains fortified their houses by building stockades around them" and a few Minsi still living in the area lived peacefully most of the time ("Hardwick Township", 6). 

Treaty of Easton_1758
Treaty of Easton, 1758
[Bucks County]

Of the few settlers that arrived to Hardwick in 1735, a few were Quakers who came from Maiden Creek, PA and Crosswicks, NJ.  Frederick Isaac Snover, Sr. (1743-1830) and Jacob Snover moved to this area in 1735 and settled on a large tract of land in the western part of Hardwick. Frederick served in the Continental Army during the Revolution and received pay during August 1779 to 1787. 
      * Frederick is listed in the D.A.R. (Chinkchewunska Chapter, NSDAR, Wantage, NJ) and is buried in the Old Stillwater Cemetery, Stillwater, NJ. He was also a constable for Hardwick Township (1776) and a member of Hardwick Lutheran Church (Stillwater).  

The original settlers to this area in 1742 was John Peter Bernhardt (1688-1748), his daughters, and son-in-law Rev. Dr. Caspar Shafer (1711-1784). They traveled north on the Delaware and Paullins Kill (Paulinskill) from Philadelphia and settled in "old Hardwick" or modern Stillwater (Cummins, 155). After settling, Shafer erected a grist mill along the Paulins Kill in 1764, this mill ground 3 to 5 bushels of flour per day. Later, he built a saw mill, oil mill, and tannery on the site. Shafer served on the Committee of Safety (Sussex County) in 1775 and was given the authority to raise £10,000 for arms and ammunition (Shafer & Johnson, 10). He was also a delegate for Sussex County (which also included the area of Warren) to the Provincial Congress (1776) and the Continental Congress (1776). In addition, Shafer sat in the State Assembly in 1777, 1778, and 1779 (Shafer & Johnson, 13-14).
     * John Peter Bernhard (alternative spelling) and Caspar Shaver/Schaeffer (alternative spelling)
     * Schaeffer, Casper. Memoirs and Reminiscences together with Sketches of the Early History of Sussex County, NJ. Hackensack, NJ: 1907. [Digital]

The Vass House, located on Stillwater Road across from White Lake, was built around 1812 by Jon Vass, a German immigrant that arrived in Philadelphia before arriving in the Hardwick area. He was initially "bound out" or indentured when he came of age. Very little information detailed his early life. In 1802, John Vass (who was 38 years of age, purchased 548.5 acres of land in Hardwick Township from the executors of the Estate of Martin Swartwelder [Schwartswalder] (1725-1795), "paid $1,355 in 'gold and specie' for the land which included the Vass Farmstead property and access to White Lake. Eight years later he purchased another 7.5 acres located on the southwest side of his property giving another point of access to White Lake." ("The Vass Farmstead"). Vass' son, Isaac S. Vass (1817-1893) inherited his father's farm after his death in 1852. Isaac was a constable (1848), tax collector, and Justice of the Peace. He was also involved in the Township Committee (Dale). 

VASS Hardwick

 Vass House, no date.
(Hardwick Township Historical Society)

Across Stillwater Road is White Lake and the ruins of the Marl Works was involved in mining and processing marl (shells of a mollusk), which was then used in agriculture as fertilizer and in cesspools in larger cities. This site also had an ice cutting factory and warehouse where the Knickerbocker Ice Company of Pennsylvania (Philadelphia) purchased a small piece of lakefront property along the southern shore of White Lake (former White Pond). During the season, the ice warehouse, which was "26 feet long, 100 feet wide, and 32 feet high" was the largest structure in the area and would hold up to 20,000 tons of ice (Dale).
      *Johann Wass (1764-1852), who later changed to John Vass, was the former husband of Swartwelder's deceased daughter, Mary Magdalena Swartzwelder(1766-1802) (National Register, 13; Family Search).

Marl Works White Lake

Marl Works, White Lake
[Metrotrails]

The Spring Valley Christian Church Cemetery, located along Spring Valley Road, once served the people of this area and was comprised of an 1840 church and corresponding cemetery with about two dozen known graves. It was a part of the "Christian Connection", which was a part of a Christian movement in the US that developed during the late 18th and early 19th centuries. It was composed of members that left other denominations and the church itself relied strictly upon the Bible instead of a creed. 
     * There are no known veterans buried in this cemetery.

Spring Valley Christian Church Site 
Greek Revival-style building, built in 1840
(Jerrey & Roy Klotz, MD)

Hardwick is a rural township in Warren County that lacks a town center and is comprised of smaller unincorporated communities (Bass Lake, Franklin Grove, Hardwick, Hardwick Center, Millbrook, Newbakers Corner, Sand Pond, Squares Corner, and White Pond/Lake), historical sites, and natural areas that are a part of Worthington State Forest and the Delaware Water Gap National Recreational Area (DWGNRA). There are still families in the area with ties to the earlier settlers: Crismans, Motts, Shusters, Hooseys, Shipps, and Wildricks ("Historical Sites", 71).

On July 2, 1997, Pahaquarry Township was dissolved and merged into Hardwick as a combined result of the Tocks Island Dam project and the decrease in residents. Pahaquarry was one of the earlier townships in Sussex and later, Warren County. The name comes from Pahaqualong, a Lenape word that means "the place between the mountains beside the waters" ("Languages of the Park"). Prior to its formation, Pahaquarry was a part of Walpack until November 20, 1824 when Warren separated from Sussex County. Mount Tammany, named for the Lenape chief Tamenund (c. 1625-c.1770), is six miles long and 1,500 feet tall. It is located at the southern entrance of the Delaware Water Gap, opposite Mount Minsi in Pennsylvania.  

It was believed by some that the copper mines here were originally founded by the Dutch settlers of New Netherland in the 1650s, who then built Old Mine Road* that traveled 104-miles to Esopus, New York for the transportation of the ore. This has not been proven emphatically. Mining did occur in Pahaquarry from about 1750 to 1910. The earliest reports are in the 1750s when John Reading, III (1686-1767)and his partners purchased the land along Mine Brook in Walpack Township (Sussex County), along the Delaware. There were periods of inactivity, until 1901 when the Montgomery Gold Leaf Mining Company (Henry and Oliver Deshler of Belvidere) purchased the assets of the Alleghany Mining Company. The company struggled and reorganized in 1904, but during the next few years, they were only able to produce three ingots of refined copper. In 1928, the last of the mining equipment was removed and thus ending mining in Pahaquarry. According to US Census records, in 1930, there were 80 residents in Pahaquarry. By the time the township is dissolved, it consisted of 20 residents in five households ("Table 6. New Jersey Resident Population by Municipality").
      *John Reading, Jr. (1657-1717), was the first white landowner in Hunterdon County. His son, Governor John Reading (1686-1767) served in 1747 and again from September 1757 to June 1758. His youngest son, Thomas, was originally Captain of the 6th Company (3rd Battallion or Jersey Brigade) from February 1774 and served until the end of the war where he was promoted to Major of the 1st Regiment.
       *In George Wyckoff Cummin's book, The History of Warren County, New Jersey (1911), he states that the Dutch mined this area and send the ore to Esopus (NY) and then onto Holland (221). Some of the smaller communities in Pahaquarry included: Brotzmansville, Dimmick's Ferry and Dunfield (Cummins, 225).
     * 
The "Old Mine Road" is one of the oldest interstate highways in America. The Old Mine Road, by Professor C.G.  Hine (1963) states that the Old Mine Road is seen as the first road in American and was built three hundred years ago by the Dutch settlers so they could access the mines and transport the product to Holland via Eposus, NY.

Old Mine Road
Old Mine Road
[Legends of America]

Pahaquarry has two cemeteries: Calno-VanCampen Cemetery and DePue Burying Ground that have veterans from the War of 1812 (W1812) and the Civil War (CW) interred in them.

Calno-VanCampen Cemetery

DePue Burying Ground

Pvt. Isaac Bunnel
(1830-1900)
Co. D, 30th NJ
CW

 John De Pue
(1764-1842)
US Army (27 Oct 1814)
W1812

Pvt. Samuel V. Ribble
 (1827-1894)
Co. D, 30th NJ
CW
[NPS]

 

Daniel W. Shoemaker
  (1840-1903)
Co. H, 9th NJ Infantry
CW
 
 Andrew G. Spangenberg
(1843-1915)
Co. H, 9th NJ Infantry
2nd Battalion,
Veterans Reserve Corps.
CW
 

Pvt. Bartley Van Campen
(1844-1907)
Co. A, 27th NJ
CW

 

Pvt. Benjamin F. Van Campen
(1832-1900)
Co. H, 174th PA
CW

 

 Jacob S. T. Van Campen
(n.d.)
Co. H, 9th NJ Infantry
CW
 

 Pvt. Moses J. Van Campen
(1842-1925)
Co. B, 177th PA
CW
[NPS]

 

 Pvt. Amos J. Vangorden
(1831-1891)
Co. I, 9th NJ
CW
[NPS]

 

 Veterans will be verified with one or more of the following: Strykers Vol 1, Vol 2; NPS Soldiers & Sailors, Record of Officers & Men of NJ in the War with Great Britain, 1812-1815, and others.

Resources:

"1802 Deed, Martin Swartzwaller." Sussex County. Family Search. [Digital]

"Casper Shafer's Family in America- About Casper." Historic Stillwater.  [Digital

Cummins, George Wyckoff. The History of Warren County, New Jersey. 1911.

Dale, Frank. "On White Pond." Skylands. [Digital]

Hardwick Township. Hardwick Township Historical Society. 1973. 

Hine, C.G. The Old Mine Road. New Brunswick, NJ: Rutgers University Press, 1909, 1963.

Historical Sites of Warren County, NJ. Board of Chosen Freeholders. 1965.

"Languages of the Park." Delaware Water Gap National Recreation Area NJ, PA. National Park Service. [Digital]

"Martin Schwartswaelder." Family Search.  [Digital]

"Mary Magdalene Swartzwelder." Family Search. [Digital]

"Pahaquarry: What became of it and its inhabitants?"  [Digital]

Schaeffer, Caspar Rev. and Johnson, William M. Memoirs and Reminiscences: Together with Sketches of the Early History of Sussex County, New Jersey. 1907. Hackensack, NJ.  [Digital]

"Table 6. New Jersey Resident Population by Municipality." Pahaquarry, Warren Co. [Digital]

"The History of the Delaware Nation." Delaware Nation. [Digital]

"The Vass Farmstead." [Digital]

"The Vass House." National Register of Historic Places. 1999. [Digital]

Harmony Township

Incorporated on 8 April 1839 through an Act of the New Jersey Legislature

Harmony Township was originally a part of Greenwich and Oxford Townships and later lost a portion of its territory when Phillipsburg was formed (Cummins, 159). The incorporation of this township was a result of a referendum held that day. The township was named in honor of Harmanus "Harmon" Shipman (1717-1805), an early settler who was born in Franklin Township, Somerset County.
Harmon Shipman's four sons** (Nicolas (1758-1827), William V., Sr. (1756-1841), John (c. 1760-1834) and Christian (c. 1760-after 1843)) served in the Revolution. 

     * Reading was the Justice of the Peace for Hunterdon County (1755), the Representative of Hunterdon County in the Colonial Assembly (1761-1765), Surrogate of Hunterdon County (1774), and the son of Governor John Reading (1686-1767).
     
+ The family's name is also spelled Vannattas, Van Etten, Vanatto, and Vanetta.
     ^ Joseph Kirkbride from Bucks County, PA, obtained a land grant before 1723 for 1,250 acres (Dalrymple, 13).
     ** Harmon may have served in the Revolution. His sons were veterans: Nicolas/Nicholas was 16 when he enlisted as a private in the New Jersey Rifles and remained with them until the end of the war. William V. may have been a substitute for his brother, John.  John enlisted under Colonel Bond and joined the Sullivan Expedition in Wyoming, PA. Christian served as a private under Captain Clifford, Sussex Co. Militia. 

William Penn had 1,735 acres surveyed that extended to the foot of Foul Rift to Hutchinson's and was sold by Penn's heirs on December 30, 1740 to Jacobus Vanetta*, who divided the land amongst his five brothers. The fertile valley was subdivided a few more times until the 1770s. The Vannattas are descended from a Dutch family that emigrated to Raritan (Hunterdon County) before purchasing 1,735 acres of land from William Penn's heirs. The earliest deed of record^ was to  Col. George W. Reading, Sr. (1725-1792) in 1750. Twenty years later, the Vannatta brothers (Jacobus (1733-1780), Johannes (b. 1736/37), Benjamin (b. 1730),  Thomas and Peter) settled near Rocksburg (Roxburg) (Cummins, 161-162).

Johannes (1782-1862) owned a farm near the foot of Foul Rift, near a large spring, and gave a deed for one-acre to Jonathan Robeson (1695-1766) in 1744 to be used as a wharf. He was a soldier in the Revolution and later moved from Harmony to Ohio (Cummins, 162).
     * Jonathan Robeson was in a partnership with the Shippens and is responsible for building the original Oxford Furnace before selling his shares to Dr. William Shippen, Sr. and going to Changewater to run the furnace/forge there. The wharf was owned by the Oxford Furnace owners and was located just below Foul Rift. The boats were used to transport materials from the Oxford Furnace to Philadelphia and all points between.

Hutchingson Road 1944 Harmony
Hutchinson Road, 1944
(Harmony Twp. Historical Society)

The community of Brainerds, named for Rev. David Brainerd (1718-1747) who worked as a missionary to the Lenape on both sides of the Delaware. In 1744, Brainerd "proposed to instruct Christianity to the natives. The chief laughed and left him with a tribal elder who asked him why he desired the Native Americans to become Christians, considering they 'would lie, steal, and drink worse than the Indians who they had taught to get drunk'" (Dalrymple, 13). William Totamy, the son of Minsi sachem, Moses Totamy, was the interpreter for Brainerd (Dalrymple, 14).
     * William was a cultural diplomat & oftentimes accompanied the governors of NJ & PA.
     * David Brainerd was a missionary that worked with the Delaware (Lenape) of New Jersey. Moses Totamy (or Tatamy) worked with Brainerd and was his interpreter (Markey, 9).
     William "Bill" Tatemy (d. 1757) was shot near Bethlehem, PA on July 8, 1757 and died on August 9, 1757 at the home of Mr. John Jones of Bethlehem, PA. 

 Harmony Township. Walling & Hopkins Map, 1860
(WCCHA Archives)

The Belvidere-Delaware Railroad (Bel-Del) traveled along the Delaware River from Trenton to Phillipsburg to Manunka Chunk. This was an important feeder line for both the Lehigh Valley Railroad and Central Railroad of NJ.  It was formed on March 2, 1836 by state charter and endorsed by the Camden and Amboy Railroad (C&A) and provided access to coal and iron traffic from PA to the C&A.  In 1850, the construction of the Bel-Del line began in Trenton. By 1855, it had reached Phillipsburg and Belvidere and connected with the DL&W. It served as a general purpose railroad and freight traffic included produce, lumber and merchandise in addition to coal and iron products. By 1871, it had two dozen engines, a small passenger fleet and hundreds of pieces of rolling stock. The Pennsylvania railroad (PARR) leased the Bel-Del and incorporated it into its rail lines ("The Belvidere Delaware Railroad").
     * The Bel-Del line and the Lehigh & Hudson River Railroad (LHRR) formed a major route from the South to New England. It was an important route for passenger and excursion trains as well as for freight. In 1995, the Black River & Western Railroad purchased the Bel-Del line from Conrail and it became the "Belvidere & Delaware River Railway." 

American Revolution (AR) & Civil War (CW) veterans.

Harmony Presbyterian
Church Cemetery

Upper Harmony
Presbyterian Cemetery or Harmony Cemetery
 Lower Harmony Methodist
Church Cemetery

 Montana Cemetery

 Pvt. Thomas Barber
(1736-1816)
AR
Capt. Mackey, Sussex Co. Militia
Furnished Supplies
[NSDAR]

Aaron R. Cool
(1843-1924)
Co. M, 1st NJ Volunteers
under Capt. Fowler
CW
 
John M. Burd
(1840-1864)
Co. D, 15th NJ Volunteers
CW
 
 Gen. James Davison
(1791-1871)
Unsure which war
 John H. Howell
(1835-1921)
Possibly Co. D, 30th NJ Infantry
CW
[NPS]

Corp. Moses Prall
(1812-1863)
Co. H, 15th NJ Infantry
Suffered from "camp fever"
at White Oak Church
Cousin retrieved him
from VA by wagon
Discharged by
Surgeon in Charge
(Jan 19, 1863)
Lived 11 days and died on
Jan. 30, 1863
CW
[NPS]

Jacob Miller
(1789-1841)
Unsure which war

 Pvt. Thomas Warren Kitchen
(1842-1913)
Co. C, 31st NJ Infantry
CW
[NPS]
 Corp. Abraham F. "Polk" Rush
(1843-1903)
Co. H, 15th NJ Volunteers
Private, then Corp. 
Honorably discharged on June 22, 1865
CW
[NPS]
 Pvt. John H. Butts
(1842-1862)
Co. F, 129th PA Infantry
Died in Harewood Hospital 
(Jan 30, 1863) age 21
CW
[NPS]
 Pvt. John Melroy
(1821-1910)
Co. I, 30th NJ Infantry
CW
George Washington Rush
(1842-1897)
Co. I, 31st NJ Volunteers
CW

SgtTheodore T. Carling
(1835-1914)
Co. D, 30th NJ Infantry
5th Sergeant
CW
[Stryker, 926]

 George B. Reed
(1828-1914)
Pvt. Co. G, 30th NJ Infantry
OR
Pvt., Co. B, 38th NJ Infantry
OR
Pvt., Co. K, 3rd NJ Cavalry
CW
[NPS 1, 2, or 3]

Tunis Smith
(1836-1922)
CW 
Pvt. Henry Herman
(1840-1914)
Possibly Co. F, 8th NJ Infantry
CW
 
[NPS]
Pvt. William F. Reed
(1831-1911)
Co. I, 11th PA Cavalry
CW
 
Cornelius Voorhees
(1821-1864)
CW 
 Samuel V. Hineline
(1844-1903)
CW
 Peter R. Rush
(1833-1913)
CW
 

Corp. William H. Hoff
(1815-1893)
Co. D, 1st NJ Infantry
Also "William H. Hoff"
CW
[NPS]

 Aaron Beers Smith
(1839-1912)
CW
 
 John H. Miller
(1841-1909)
Co. A, 118th PA Volunteers
CW
 Thomas J. Thompson
(1842-1904)
CW
 
Thomas J. Thompson
(1842-1904)
Co I/D, 11th NJ Infantry 
(in as Corp., out as Capt.)
Co. A, 12th NJ Infantry
(Captain)
CW
 
[NPS 1 & 2]
   
 Corp. Peter Weller
(1837-1929)
Co. B, 31st NJ Volunteers
CW
[Stryker, 940]
   

 Stryker Vol 1 & 2, NPS Soldiers & Sailors, NJ Civil War Gravestones and other resources used to verify these veterans.

There are distinct communities within Harmony Township that includes Upper and Lower Harmony, Brainards, Montana (Scott's or Montana Mountain), Harmony Station, Hutchinson Station,  and Rocksburg (Roxburg, Rocksburgh) ("Harmony"; Dalrymple, 12). 
     * The crossroads by Tiptons Tavern (Roxburg) is just south of the homestead of Alexander White (White Twp.) and was settled in the early 19th c. by John Young ("Youngsville").

Lanark Inn 1800s_new Tiptons HARMONY
Lanark Inn, late 19th c.
Formerly the Roxburg Hotel (early 19th c.)
Present-day Tiptons Tavern 
(Harmony Twp. Historical Society)

RESOURCES

Brainerd, David. The Life and Diary of David Brainerd. Grand Rapids, MI: Baker Book House, 1989.  [Digital

Cummins, George Wyckoff. The History of Warren County, NJ. 1911.

Dalrymple, Jr., Richard H. Harmony Township New Jersey: Its historic communities and some of its oldest families. Ragged Ridge Press: 2021.

"Harmony." Harmony Township Historic Commission. 2 Nov 2024.

"Johannes M. Vanatta." Our Family Genealogy. [Digital]

Markey, Jessica R. "The Life and Legacy of Moses Tunda Tatamy, c. 1695- c.1761: An Indigenous Response to Colonialism in Eighteenth Century Pennsylvania." Esther G. Maynor Honors College. University of North Carolina. Dec 2017. [Digital]

Osborne, Kate Hamilton and Robeson, Susan Stroud. An historical and genealogical account of Andrew Robeson, of Scotland, New Jersey and Pennsylvania, and of his descendants from 1653 to 1916. Philadelphia: Lippincott, 1916. [Digital

Scott, Eva Alice. Jacobus Jansen Van Etten. Youngstown, OH: 1950. [Digital]

Shipman, L. "Shipman Roots." Ancestry. 27 July 2009. [Digital]

Snyder, John P. The Story of New Jersey's Civil Boundaries: 1606-1968. Bureau of Geology and Topography; Trenton, New Jersey; 1969. 

"The Belvidere Delaware Railroad." NJ Railroad. [Digital]

Hope Township

Incorporated by an Act of the New Jersey Legislature on April 8, 1839.

Hope Township was created from portions of Knowlton and Oxford. On March 25, 1926, portions of the township were used to create Liberty Township. 

As one of the earliest planned communities in the United States, Hope (originally called "Greenland") was established by Moravians in 1769 and were instrumental in the design of the town from the layout of the streets, houses, businesses, wells, farm, schoolhouse, tavern and church. Prior to the Moravians, this area was farmed by several families, but no established community was created. Two of the earliest families were Samuel Green, Jr. (c. 1670-1760) in the 1750s, and Samuel Howell (possibly 1723-1807) in 1767.
     * Samuel Green, "The Surveyor", was the son of Richard Peter Greene, Esq. (1652-1711) and Ann Quincy (1653-1739). He and his family were the first settlers of Hope. He and two companions arrived in Frelinghuysen Township on May 17, 1715 and surveyed a line to Allamuchy.

 During the 1760s, Moravians from Bethlehem, PA traveled through Hope on their way to New England to establish new communities. They would stay overnight with the Green family as they were impressed with their way of life.

The Green family was on very friendly terms with the neighboring Minsi and with the outbreak of the French & Indian War, the natives warned the Greens of an imminent attack. The family temporarily moved to Emmaus (PA) and in 1768, Samuel Green went to the Moravians in Bethlehem (PA) to offer them his entire holding of about 1,000 acres in the Hope area. On March 7, 1769, Rev. Nathaniel Seidel (1718-1782), the nominal proprietor of real estate belonging to the Unitas Fratrum (Unity of the Brethren, Moravian Church) in America, had previously baptized the Greens and was working with him on the sale. The Moravian settlement officially began on March 7, 1769, when Peter Worbass* and his family moved from Bethlehem to  Hope "Moravian Contribution," 2-3). 
     * Peter Worbas (Warbas, Warbass) built his log cabin on the corner of Cedar and Walnut Streets in 1769. 

Hope Gemeinhaus_built 1797_formerly Single Sister Choir

Hope Gemeinhaus (currently the First Hope Bank), built in 1797
Formerly "Single Sister Choir," which is located on Union Street, housed and educated young female Moravians. 
(Hope Historical Society, "Hope District National Registry")

The Worbass family were guests of the Greens until a log house for them could be constructed. He was the first manager of the Moravian settlement until he moved back to Pennsylvania a year later and Frederick Rouchemberger, his assistant, replaced Worbass as manager ("Moravian Contribution", 3). Once the settlers began to arrive, they built their first building, the Gristmill, which sent grain to George Washington's troops in Morristown. By 1774, the settlement was comprised of several farms, a brick and lime kiln, a tannery, brewery and distillery, an Inn (which was a meeting place and house of worship). The community grew and during the Revolution, it added a pottery, wheelwright shop, blacksmith shop, two sawmills, a linen weaving enterprise and an oil mill ("Village of Hope"). 

Joseph Swayze, Jr. (1766-1858), a relative of an early settler to the area, erected a grist and saw mill ("Swayze Grist Mill") a mile and a half away from the town center, along Muddy Brook in Hope. The ruins can be seen from the road and are on private property.

Swayze Grist and Saw Mill_Hope Twp
Swayze Grist & Saw Mill ruins, 1787-1874
Swayze Mill Road (private property)
(millpictures.com)

By 1781, the cornerstone was laid for a new Gemeinhaus (Moravian Church) that was used for religious services and other meetings. The plan for a self-sustaining community did not come to fruition as they were continually looking for financial support from the church. Count Nicholas Ludwig von Zinzendorf (1700-1760), of Saxony, who was the Moravian's patron and leader, was very much in debt himself. When he died, the funds to support Hope were no longer available. The last act of the Moravians was the Service Worship in the Gemeinhaus on Easter Sunday, April 17, 1808.  Following the sale of the Moravian settlement of Hope, the settlers moved back to Bethlehem or Nazareth, Pennsylvania. ("Village of Hope"). 

Hope Township experienced two major periods of growth during the 19th c. There were also two major fires (1835, 1918) that destroyed much of the historic Village. With the loss of buildings, roads were revamped to create the modern intersection of Routes 519 and 521. Little had changed in terms to the structure or population of the town since.

 Veterans of the Revolutionary War (AR) and Civil War (CW) who are buried in the two Hope cemeteries include, but are not limited to:

 Moravian Cemetery  Swayze Cemetery
Jacob Crusen
(1841-1921)
Co. G, 7th NJ Regiment
CW 

John Gibbs
(1756-1832)
1st Battalion,
2nd Establishment
Also, militia
AR 

 Dr. George Drake Fitch
(1838-1912)
Assistant Surgeon,
15th NJ Volunteers
Assistant Surgeon,
2nd NJ Volunteers
CW
 
 Corp. William P. Hagerman
(1826-1897)
Co. D, 91st PA Volunteers
Co. E, 47th PA Infantry
Mustered in as Private
Mustered out as Corporal
CW
[NPS]

Pvt. George Washington Hartman
(1839-1875)
Co. A, 5th VA Cavalry (CSA)
CW
 
Henry R. Poyer
(1838-1908)
Co. G, 31st NJ Volunteers
CW 
 
 Joseph C. Sutton
(1822-1901)
Co. C, 31st NJ Volunteers
CW
 
 Dr. Theophilus Hunt Turner
(1841-1869)
1st Lt. & Assistant Surgeon
Promoted as Captain
 
CW
 
 Daniel VanSyckel
(1844-1918)
Cenotaph
Co. I, 47th PA Volunteers
 
CW
 
 James Warner
(1836-1898)
Co. B, 1st NJ Cavalry
 
CW
 

Those verified with digital records will be from the Revolution (Strykers), Civil War from NPS Soldiers & Sailors (NPS), Stryker's NJ Civil War Records (Strykers 1 or Strykers 2), or other.

In addition to the town center, Hope Township consists of Feebletown, Locust Lake, Mount Herman, and Swayzes Mill.

RESOURCES:

Antonoff, Paul S. "The Moravian Village of Hope is Marked as a Historic Site." New York Times. 7 Oct 1973. [Digital

"Hope District- National Register of Historic Places Inventory." National Parks Service.  [Digital]

Langley, Barbara K., ed. "Hope: A Moravian Experience, 1769-1994, 225th Anniversary." Draft Copy. 21 Oct 1994.

"Moravian Contribution to the town of Hope, New Jersey." Hope Historical Society. 1955. 

"Village of Hope." Hope Historic Preservation Commission. 2025.

Independence Township

Incorporated by an act of the New Jersey Legislature on February 21, 1798.

Independence was named in 1782 that was originally known as "Lower Hardwick" for several years until it was divided from Hardwick in 1782. Land from Independence was used to create Green in Sussex Co. (1824), Hackettstown (1853), and Allamuchy (1872). The township was named in honor of American independence from Great Britain in 1782.

VIENNA GR MEADOWS 1909

View of Vienna & Great Meadows (no date)
(Hackettstown Over the Years) 

In the New Jersey Geological and Water Survey (Report 43), there is an article about the Garden State Mastodons, some of which are located in the County. In only pond in the township ("Mastodon Pond") was located in this township . The most sites that yielded remains of Mastodons were found in Vienna (1844), Near Hackettstown (1965), and Petersburg Road (1973). According to Report No 43, there were four adults and one calf found in Vienna when a boggy depression on the Ayers farm was drained. Three of skeletons were standing and one was on its back. Once exposed to air, the bones began to deteriorate. Four of the five skeletons have been lost and the survivor was sent to the Museum of Comparative Zoology at Harvard University (Pallis, 15), currently at the Harvard Museum of Natural History in Cambridge, MA.  

Mastodon

The first settlers in Vienna were Philip (1750-1828), Christeon (Christian) (1751-1833), and their father, Johann (John) Cummins (1716-1781), and they arrived around 1770. The Cummins family arrived from Germany to Asbury, and some of the children relocated to Vienna (Independence Twp.). Johann was born in Germany and arrived in Philadelphia aboard the  Molly from Rotterdam on October 16, 1741. He was the first Cummins to immigrate and settle in New Jersey in 1741 and had eleven children with his wife, Catherine Bayles (1723-1796). He owned three farms (650 acres) in NJ. He and his wife had no money and indentured themselves to pay for their passages (they arrived on separate ships in Philadelphia). He was a tailor and worked nights to pay the debt. He invested in a farm in Asbury (Vienna). All of their children were born in New Jersey (Chambers, 317; Cummins, Annie B.T.). George Wyckoff Cummins (1865-1942), who was born in Vienna, was the great grandson of Philip Cummins.

During the Revolution, men from the Independence area served with Captain William Helms (d. 1813) of Hackettstown, who was the captain of the 9th Company of the 2nd Regiment of the NJ Continental Line.  The 9th Regiment  joined General Sullivan's Expedition against the Iroquois(Cummins, 177). 
      * William Helms began his service in the Revolution as an Ensign in the 2nd NJ (7 Nov 1775) and worked his way up to Brevet Major on 30 Sept 1783. He was born in Sussex County and died in Hamilton, Ohio. He was a member of the NJ State House of Assembly (1791-92), US Congress from NJ (1801-11), and Major General of the NJ Militia. 
     * The Strykers book has Helms listed as a 1st Lieutenant of the 9th Co., and promoted to Captain (page 34). On page 52, he is listed as a Company office with the rank of Captain. His military record with ranks and regiments is listed on page 81.

Other men from the township served in the Revolution (AR) and Civil War (CW) are buried in the Danville Presbyterian Church Cemetery in Great Meadows:

 Pvt. Thomas Fleming, Jr.
(1753-1829)
1st Regiment,
Morris Co. Troops, NJ
AR
[Stryker, 594; NSDAR]
Pvt. Daniel Stewart Ayers 
(1812-1893)
Co. A, 12th NJ Infantry
CW
[NPS; USCWG]
 Capt. Samuel Axford Vansyckle
(1803-1848) 

Unknown which war or
if member of standing military

Rev. John Rosbrugh
(1714-1777)
Presbyterian Chaplain, Continental Army
Bayoneted by Hessians at Trenton (Jan 2, 1777)
First Army Chaplain killed in war
Buried in Trenton
Cenotaph in Danville
(Great Meadows) 
AR
[ClydeChaplain Kit]

Sgt. Alexander T. Beaty
(1839-1863)
Co. F, 15th NJ Volunteers
Died of gangrene of feet,
Lincoln Hospital,
Washington, DC
(Feb 10, 1863),

age 24 
CW
 
Pvt.  Daniel Vliet, Jr. 
(1752-1841)
Served under father,
Capt. Daniel Vliet from
Spring 1777 to Fall 1778
AR
[Stryker, 807]
 John Orr
(1822-1893)
Possibly
Co. B, 24th NJ Infantry
and/or
Co. F, 24th NJ Infantry
CW 
[NPS 1NPS 2,
Stryker, 810]
 
Capt. Daniel Vliet, Sr.
Captain of 2nd Regiment,
Hunterdon Co. Militia and
1st Regiment, Sussex Co. Militia
Several of his sons served
on behalf of the patriotic cause
Purchased 600 acres of land
from Samuel Hacketts' estate,
became a large property holder after the war
AR
 

[NSDAR]
   

 Strykers' Revolution, Civil War Vol 1 and 2, NPS Soldiers and Sailors, and others.

The notorious Tory (Loyalist) leader,  Lt. James Moody  (c. 1744/46-1809), frequently visited the area of Independence to force patriots to swear allegiance to the Crown. "Moody would call on Philip Cummins at regular intervals to make him take the oath, although it was well known among his relations that his sympathies were with the colonies" (Cummins, 178).  In 1780, Moody led a small group of men to free eight Loyalist prisoners held in the Sussex County jail in Newton. He freed the men and fled with them, alluding capture by the Continental/Patriotic forces ("Sussex County Courthouse"). Although he was a notorious Loyalist/Tory, he initially wanted to remain neutral at the start of the Revolution. He fled to the British line and joined Brigadier General Cortlandt Skinner's 1st NJ Volunteers (Loyalist). Quickly, he rose to the rank of Lieutenant. 
     * Moody was a wealthy Sussex Co. farmer who owned about 500 acres of land near the Delaware River. He was also one of New Jersey's most ardent Loyalist. 

Vienna had a hotel, church, and a foundry (Fleming and Carr) before 1860. In 1866, the foundry was sold to Simon Armenius Cummins (1790-1873)who manufactured double corn plows. Other industries in Vienna would include a saw mill, which was rebuilt in 1839 and destroyed by fire in 1865.  A steam mill, owned by Benjamin Hall, was located to the rear of the foundry and furnished materials for wagon wheels. The business moved to Hackettstown in the 1880s after a fire destroyed the steam mill. The Bulgin Brothers chair factory was prosperous but it, too, suffered the same fate-- it burned down in 1870 (Cummins, 179).  There were also tanneries, farms, the Crane Iron Company Store (c. 1875), Woodbridge Manufacturing Co. and other industries in Vienna in the 18th to early 20th c. (Cummins, 181). One of the grist mills in the township was the Barker's or Gibb's Mill, built in 1815 (Cummins, 183; Snell, 741) and downstream were an old feed and plaster mill and a saw mill, built by William W. Wilson in the 1820s.
     * Crane Iron Works was owned by Empire Steel & Iron Co. (1899-1938), which control most of the iron works in northern NJ, eastern PA and various locations in the South.

Barker's Mill
(Frank Dale)

Great Meadows was named in 1764 in Quaker meeting records. Several times discussions occurred regarding draining the meadows, located between Vienna and Hackettstown. Dr. J. Marshall Paul (1800-1879) of Belvidere reclaimed 200 acres of bog land in 1850 around the area of Schmuck's saw mill. He burned the bogs and used the ash as fertilizer. He then dug ditches to drain the land. Due to petitions by land owners, the NJ Supreme Court appointed commissioners for the draining of Great Meadows: Amos Hoagland, (1804-1886), James F. Boyd, and William L. Johnson (1817-1891), with Abram (Abraham) Robertson Day (1817-1880) serving as their engineer. As a result, the Pequest was widened and deepened with a channel from Long Bridge down a mile below Vienna. The cost for accessing 6,000 acres was at $28 per acre. The landowners couldn't manage the payments, so the commissioners sold the land for a predetermined amount of time (Cummings, 182).
     * Great Meadows Quaker Meeting is considered a part of the Hardwick Meeting. The "'Friends of Meadows' requested that the Kingwood Meeting (Hunterdon Co.) to appoint a committee to help them choose a place to site their meeting house" (NJ Quaker Meeting, 310).

There are several Civil War veterans buried in the Pequest Union Cemetery in Great Meadows.

 Pvt. Caleb Aber
(1845-1925)
Co. A, 70th NY Volunteers
Co. D, 73rd NY Volunteers
Co. F, 12th NJ Volunteers
Deserted at Bailey's Cross Roads, VA
(June 25, 1865)
Filed for US Army Invalid Veteran Pension
(Oct 4, 1878)
Widow filed for US Army Widow's Pension
(July 2, 1926)
[NPS 1, 2, 3; USCWG]
William H. Mitten
(1847-1928)
Co. I, 10th NJ Volunteers
[USCWG]
 Amaziah Adams
(d. 1911)
Battalion M, 
1st NJ Lt. Artillery
[USCWG]
Charles Pierce (Pearce)
(d. 1910)
Co. I, 15th NJ Infantry
Co. E, 2nd NJ Infantry
[USCWG]
 William H. Campbell
(1845-1926)
Landman, US Navy
USS Commodore Morris
[USCWG]
George Quick
(1832-1901)
Co. H, 1st NJ Calvary
OR
Co. G, 31st NJ Infantry 
[NPS 12; USCWG]
Sgt. James Hoagland Cox
(1831-1916)
Co. A, 21st NJ Infantry
[USCWG]
 Aaron Rader
(1841-1919)

Battalion D, 
1st US Artillery
[USCWG]
Pvt. Christian Cummins
(1832-1885) 
Co. B, 1st NJ Volunteers
[USCWG]
 Pvt. John George Schrumpf
(1834-1913)
Co. E, 35th NJ Volunteers
[USCWG]
Pvt. Nathanial Cummins
(1832-1885)
Battery B, NJ Lt. Artillery
 
[USCWG]
David Staples
(1841-1919) 
Also John D. Staples
Co. H, 31st NJ Infantry
[USCWG]
 William Cyphers
Co. C, 31st NJ Volunteers
[USCWG]
Henry H. Sutton
(1824-1873)
Co. G, 31st NJ Infantry
[USCWG
Sgt. David Fleming
(1825-1891)
Co. H, 1st NJ Cavalry 
[USCWG]
Whitfield Taylor
(1833-1883)
Co. F, 4th NJ Infantry
[USCWG]
 William Hall
(1841-1914)
Co. A, 47th PA Infantry
[USCWG]
 George W. Umpherd
(1840-1912)
Co. H, 176th PA Infantry (Drafted)
Co. C, 176th PA Infantry (Drafted)
[NPS 1, 2]
Pvt. Andrew H. Hibler
(1841-1904)
Co. H, 31st NJ Infantry
[NPS; USCWG]
 Pvt. Uzal Ogden Whitesell
(1826-1913)
Co. B, 15th NJ Volunteers
Filed under Ogden Whitesell
[NPS]
 
 Jacob M. Hill
(1835-1917)
Co. E, 1st NJ Infantry
[USCWG]
 
 Corp. Stephen B. Johnson
(d. 1892)
Corp., Co. F, 9th NY Infantry
Corp., Co. K, 3rd NY Infantry
 
 William Marlatt
(1834-1912)
Co. B, 46th PA Infantry
Co. G, 4th PA Infantry
[USCWG]
 
 George E. Martin
(d. 1894)
Sailor, US Navy
USS Proteus, NY
[USCWG]
 
 Corp. Amos H. Merrell/Merrill
(1839-1925)
Co. G, 31st NJ Volunteers
[USCWG]
 

Veterans to be verified with Strykers Vol 1 and 2, NPS Soldiers & Sailors, US Civil War Gravestones and other resources.

Vienna United Methodist Church Cemetery - Civil War.

 Thomas H. Cooper
(d. 1867)
Co. F, 37th NJ Infantry
Died of typhoid at
10th Army Corps Hospital
[USCWG]
Thomas B. Matlock
(1837-1870)
Co. M, 2nd NJ Cavalry
[USCWG]
 
 John Frace
(d. 1897)
Co. B, 2nd NJ Infantry
Corp., Co. D, 39th NJ
Sgt., Co. D, 39th NJ
[USCWG]
Pvt. Nelson Schuyler
(d. 1884)
CO. E, 7th NJ Volunteers
[USCWG]
  
 Pvt. Francis Henry
(d. 1897)
Co. F, 22nd NJ USCT
(African American)
[USCWG]
 
 Henry Wolfe
(d. 1866)
Co. A, 9th NJ Infantry
[USCWG]
 

 Veterans verified with Stryker Vol 1 & 2, NPS Soldiers & Sailors, US Civil War Gravestones, and other resources.

The communities that comprise Independence Township includes Cumminstown (Cummins family), Wiggins (Wiggins family), Fleming (Andrew Fleming), most of Great Meadows (formerly Danville) and Townsbury, Vliet, and all of Vienna and Petersburgh (formerly Catswamp or Caddington).

RESOURCES:

Chambers, Theodore Frelinghuysen. The Early Germans of New jersey, their History, Churches and Genealogies. Dover, NJ: Dover Printing Co. 1895. [Digital]

Clyde, John Cunningham. Rosbrugh, a tale of the Revolution, or Life, Labors and Death of Rev. John Rosbrugh. Easton, PA: 1880. [Digital]

Cummins, Annie Blair Titman. Cummins-Titman and Allied Families. Hartford, CT: States Historical Co. 1946. [Digital]

Cummins, George Wyckoff. History of Warren County, New Jersey. 1911.

"Helms, William." Biographical Directory of the United States. US Congress. [Digital]

"New Jersey Volunteers: The Wartime Adventures of Lt. James Moody." The On-Line Institute for Advanced Loyalist Studies. 2001, updated 14 April 2025. [Digital]

Pallis, Ted. Garden State Mastodons. New Jersey Geological & Water Survey Report 43. 2018, revised 2024. Trenton, NJ: NJ Department of Environmental Protection. [Digital]

Snell, James P., Clayton, W.W. History of Sussex and Warren Counties, New Jersey. Philadelphia: Everts & Peck. 1881.

Stryker, William Scudder. Official Register of the officers and men of New Jersey in the revolutionary war. Trenton, NJ: W.T. Nicholson. 1872. [Digital]

"Sussex Court House." Newton, NJ. [Digital]

Tvaryanas, Damon. The New Jersey Quaker Meeting House: A Typology and Inventory. University of Pennsylvania. 1993. [Digital]

Knowlton Township

Created as a precinct by Royal charter from portions of Oxford on February 23, 1763
Incorporated by an Act of the New Jersey Legislature on February 21, 1798

The Minsi (Lenape) lived in the northern region along the Delaware River prior to the arrival of colonial families, which settled in the area and farmed. The township was named "Knoll town" due to its hills and limestone knobs when it was sections off from Oxford Township in 1768 ("KT Historic Commission"; Cummins, 184). It could also be related to Thomas Knowlton, a Colonel in the Revolution who died in the Battle of Harlem Heights (Snell, 623,25).  Knowlton was one of the original townships of Warren County and portions of the township were taken to form Hope (1839) and Blairstown (1845) (Snell, 475).

Knowlton_1852 

Knowlton, 1852
(Old Town Maps)

The area of Ramsaysburg was named for James and Adam Ramsay, who were Irish immigrants that settled in 1795. The community had "a post office, three saw mills, two blacksmith shops, a Baptist church, an Episcopal church, a hotel, a wheelwright shop, a clover mill, a school house and a physician" (Cummins, 184).
     * Ramsaysburg Homestead is a 12-acre park along the Delaware River, just south of the Delaware Water Gap. It is leased by the Township of Knowlton from the State of NJ Green Acres program. The tavern, barn, cottage, smokehouse and shed were built between 1800 and 1870 (Cummins, 184-85; "Ramsaysburg Historic Homestead"). The Ramsays were involved in timber rafting (timber transported down the Delaware to sites like Ramsaysburg to be sent to saw mills and elsewhere).

Ramsaysburg Homestead (tavern)
(Friends of Ramsaysburg)

Veterans buried in Knowlton Twp. will be identified by the war they were involved in: Revolutionary War = AR; Civil War = CW; Loyalists during the Revolution will be identified as LOY.

 Fairview Cemetery
Auble Rd.
Fairview Cemetery
Simpson Rd.
Columbia ME Cemetery  Hainesburg Cemetery   Knowlton Presbyterian
(Knowlton Frame)
 Ramsaysburg Cemetery
 James P. Cool
(1844-1913)
CW
Abraham Ackerman
(1821-1899)
Co. K, 153rd PA Volunteers
CW
[NPS]
 
Samuel Albert
(1816-1902)
Corp. to Sgt.
Co. G, 153rd PA Infantry 
CW
Pvt. Lewis Mullison Billings
(1814-1895)
Co. A, 57th PA Volunteers
CW
 
 Adam Dils 
(1743-1798)
Took Oath of Allegiance
to the
British Crown

LOY
Robert Allison 
(1735-1822)
AR
 Major John Loller
(1801-1869)
CW

 Jeremiah Creamer
(1833-1925)
Co. G, 143rd PA Infantry
CW
 Pvt. Enos Chamberlain
(1842-1917)
Co. K, 153rd PA Volunteers
CW
 Andrew T. Linaberry
(1839-1911)
Co. B, 2nd NJ Volunteers
CW
 William Henry Hayes
(1747-1793)
Promoted to 2nd LT, Co. C, 13th Reg't
[Stryker, 141)
AR
William Angle
(1733-1793)
AR
   Elijah H. Eyer
(1834-1898)
Co. F, 11th OH Infantry
CW
[NPS]
 Pvt. Owen E. Phillips
(1844-1890)
Co. G, 31st NJ Volunteers
CW
John Phillips
(1846-1892)
Co. C, 48th PA Volunteers
CW
 Pvt. Elias Harris
(1843-1931)
Co. M, 2nd NJ Cavalry
CW
 Andrew Banghart, Sr.
(1749-1819)
AR
   Pvt. Phillip S. Garrison
(1815-1893)
Co. I, 9th NJ Volunteers
CW
[NPS]
 Samuel Phillips
(1841-1890)
Multiple men
with same
name listed in several
regiments
CW
 Corp. George W. Shipps
(1830-1897)
Co. D, 15th NJ Volunteers
CW
[NPS]
Pvt. Levi Temple Pond
(1828-1911)
Co. K, 5th NY Infantry
Wounded at 2nd Bull Run/ Manassas, VA
(30 Aug 1862)
CW

Pvt. Barney Banghart
(1746-1822)
Capt. R. Cox's Co.
3rd NJ Regiment
AR 
  Pvt. Ephraim Gilbert
(1820-1888)
Co. G, 31st NJ Volunteers
CW 
 Pvt. William L. Slack
(1844-1892)
Co. I, 11th PA Cavalry
 
108th Volunteers
CW
[NPS]
Reuben Snyder
(1829-1873)
Either
Co. B, 2nd NJ Cavalry
or
Co. D, 30th NJ Infantry
CW 
[NPS 1, 2]
 Corp. Nathan S. Smith
(1825-1906)
Co. D, 3rd NJ Infantry
CW
 
 James Brown, Sr.
(1716-1793)
AR
(Multiple entries for same name)
   Lt. James F. Green
(1828-1901)
Co. G, 31st NJ Volunteers
CW
  Sgt. Andrew C. Yeomans
(1841-1894)
Co. B, 15th NJ Volunteers 
CW
[NPS]
 Lewis VanKirk
(1835-1901)
Co. B, 2nd NJ Cavalry
CW
[NPS]
Col. William C. Smith
(1831-1899)
Commander
1st TN Volunteers (CSA)
CW  
Paul Engle
(1752-1808)
AR 
  Peter Hunt
(1837-1923)
Co. I, 21st PA Volunteers Cavalry
CW
       John Hay, Sr.
(d. 1846)
Wagon Master
8th Regiment
AR
[Stryker, 367]
  Pvt. John Lauer
(1828-1901)
Co. D, 67th PA
Volunteers
CW
[NPS]
  Capt. Jonathan Georg Ribble
(1741-1822)
Col. Sylvanus Seeley,
1st Reg't & Sussex Co. Militia 
AR
   Pvt. John Sigmont Lauer
(1829-1901)
Co. D, 6th PA Volunteers
CW
  Pvt. Jacob Angle 
(d. 1876)
Co. G, 31st NJ Volunteers
CW
[NPS]
   Pvt. William F. Wideman
(1831-1907)
Co. F, 129th PA Volunteers
CW
[NPS]
  Whitfield Ebenezer Barnes
(1847-1931)
Co. I, 21st PA Cavalry
CW
 
           Lt. William Bowers
(1829-1916)
Co. G, 31st NJ Volunteers
1st Sgt.
1st Lt.
CW
[NPS]
           Pvt. Enos Henry Butz
(1847-1894)
Co. K, 88th PA Volunteers
CW
[NPS]
           Rev. Garret F. Cook
(1828-1892)
Chaplain,
21st NJ Volunteers
CW
[Stryker, 755]
           Sgt. Edward Cramer
(1821-1900)
Co. E, 13th NJ Volunteers
CW
[Stryker, 643]
           Robert James Eilenberger
(1835-1882)
Co. G, 153rd PA Infantry
CW
           E.F. Fitzgerald
(1822-1870)

CW
           Alfid Henry
(n.d.)
Co. C, 31st NJ Infantry
CW
          Pvt. Aaron V. Hulsizer
(1829-1926)
Co. I, 31st NJ Volunteers
CW
 
[NPS]
           Alfred Leida
(1835-1898)
CW

Veterans will be verified with NPS Soldiers & Sailors, Strykers' Vol. 1 and 2, among other sources. CSA refers to the Confederate States of America.

In Hainesburg, located in the northern portion of the township and situated alongside the Paulins Kill, there was once a stone grist mill along the river.

Industries such as mining, timber, and slate (Delaware Water Gap Slate Co.) were significant in Knowlton Township. The first man to successfully run a slate business in Warren County was Owen Evans who arrived from Wales in 1825. The Columbia Glass Works (of which not much has been written), was the key part of the Columbia's economy in the early 1800s, with employees living in close proximity to the works. The glassworks closed in 1825, which led to the decline of Columbia, even with a bridge that was constructed across the Delaware.  
     * The Slateford Loop Trail passes the former slate quarry and farm.

In Hainesburg to the north, a stone grist mill was erected on the Paulins Kill prior to the Revolution, but destroyed by fire in 1908. A tannery was built by Jacob Hibler in 1840. The Beck brothers acquired Hainesburg in 1843 and divided into lots. The community was originally called "Sodom", but was later named for John Haines who donated a significant amount to the school. In 1841, a saw mill was built by George Adams (Cummins, 190; "New Jersey, A Guide to its Present and Past", 457).

Hainesburg Manor

Hainesburg Manor, built 1828

     * The Hainesburg Manor, which was built by Andrew Smith, was sold to Jacob M. Blair (1843) and sold to the Beck Brothers. They broke up the property into individual village lots. By 1885, the mansion was purchased by railroad magnate Jacob Andress (1845-1921), who added the third floor and two ornate towners on the northern side.  He lived at the mansion with his wife, Minerva and their sickly son, Gilbert. The family maintained ownership of the house until the 1920s when it was sold and operated as an illegal speak easy during Prohibition. Later, it was a series of restaurants, shops and a discothèque in the 1970s before it shut down. Currently, it is the "Animal Mansion" (veterinarian's office of Dr. Jon Bertoldo). Behind the house was the Delaware, Lackawanna & Western Railroad.

During the mid-19th c., the railroad was significant in Knowlton due to its proximity to the Delaware River, mining and other manufacturing and included the Warren Railroad (WRR, built in 1846 by John I. Blair as the mainline of the DL&W until the Lackawanna Cut-Off was completed; abandoned in 1970), the Delaware, Lackawanna & Western Railroad (DL&W), Blairstown Railway (BRWY, opened in 1877 from a connection to the WRR and part of NYS&W, abandoned from Columbia north in 1941, abandoned east to Sparta in 1962), New York Susquehanna & Western (NYS&W), Lehigh & New England (L&NE, extended to Knowlton in 1886; abandoned in 1961), and the Lackawanna Cut-Off (opened 1911 as the last main line in NJ; replaced the "Old Road") ("Historic Railroads in Knowlton Township"). The Paulinskill Viaduct crosses the Delaware River in Columbia and in Hainesburg, both made of reinforced concrete (Cummins, 192).  There were several stations in Knowlton in the communities of Hainesburg, Columbia, and Delaware ("Historic Railroads").

Lackawanna Cutoff Bridge Hainesburg NJ no date
Lackawanna Cutoff Bridge, Hainesburg
(WCCHA)

The Manunka Chunk tunnels were built by the Warren Railroad around 1856 and later became the main line for the DLW. A second bore (tunnel) was added in the late 1860s for double-tracking. The tunnels experienced a decline in 1911 as the Lackawanna Cut-Off was built, and continual flooding issues, which led to the abandonment of the Erie Lackawanna Railroad in 1970. The track was entirely removed in 1970-1971. The tunnels have had flooding issues and are partially collapsed. In 2023, after a significant storm impacted parts of the County, water flowing through the tunnels created a landslide on the hillside near the entrance of the tunnel. The tunnels are partially collapsed and visiting them are not recommended. They are entirely visible from Route 46.

ManunkaChunk 1916 mudslide

A mudslide affected the tracks and "U-Tower"
at the Manunka Chunk Tunnels (DLW), c. 1913/1916.
[Railfanguides.us]

The township consists of Hainesburg, Mount Pleasant, Walnut Corner (Brandsville, named for Abram Brands), Centerville (Knowlton center),  Polkville (named for President Polk), Warrington (or Kill Mills, Knowlton Mills), Columbia, Chapel Hill and Delaware, which includes Ramsaysburg Farmstead (Cummins, 184).

The first mill dam in the Delaware Valley was constructed in Columbia on the Paulins Kill River. In 1909, Jersey Central Power and Light (JCP&L) built a larger hydroelectric dam (Columbia Lake Dam) which formed Columbia Lake. In 2018, the dam was removed to provide safe passage and to "improve the river and stream habitat" ("New Jersey", 457-58; "Columbia Lake Dam Removal").

Columbia Dam before removal (2018)
(Princeton Hydro)

Knowlton Twp. was comprised of a variety of smaller districts that included Fairview, Water Gap, Polkville, Kill Mills, Wolftown, Centerville, Hainesburg, Mount Pleasant, Columbia, and Delaware Station.

RESOURCES

"Celebrating the Columbia Dam Removal." Princeton Hydro. 13 July 2018.  [Digital]

Cummins, George W. History of Warren County, New Jersey. 1911. 

"Historic Railroads in Knowlton Township." NJ Skylands. [Digital]

"KT Historic Commission, Warren County, New Jersey." 10 April 2025. [Digital]

New Jersey, a Guide to Its Present and Past. NY: Viking. 1939. 

"Ramsaysburg Historic Homestead." Ramsaysburg. [Digital]

Snell, James P., Clayton, W.W. History of Sussex and Warren Counties, New Jersey. Philadelphia: Everts & Peck. 1881. [Digital]

Liberty Township

Incorporated by an act of the NJ Legislature on March 26, 1926

Liberty Township was created from the southern part of Hope Township as a result of a referendum held on April 30, 1926 and the last created in Warren County. The township consists of parts of Great Meadows,  Danville, Mountain Lake and Townsbury. While most of Liberty's history is tied to  Hope Township, the individual hamlets are significant in their own rights.

1874 Part of Hope
Hope Township, 1874
Part became Liberty Twp. in 1926

Townsbury is on land that Col. Daniel Coxe originally surveyed along the Pequest River. John Meng bought this site on March 4, 1783, developed water power and constructed the old stone grist mill, which was known for many years as "Meng's Mill" (Cummins, 176; Snell, 663). Later, the mill would be associated with the Town family and Nelson Vliet.  
     * 
John and Benjamin Town, for which this village is named, took over ownership of the grist mill in the 1780s. By 1882, Townsbury had a post office, school, grist and lumber mills, and a thriving local trade (Cummins, 175).
      * Nelson Vliet (1813-1901), who arrived to the area in 1854 with his family owned a distillery, store, mill and other interests. Nelson and his family were listed on the 1850-1880 US Census as having lived in Hope/Independence. In the census reports, he was listed as having had the occupation of "farmer" and "merchant." Nelson was also the Townsbury Post Master in 1879 and was the descendant of the Vliets who served in the Revolution on the side of independence.
     * According to James P. Snell, "The water-power at Townsbury is one of the best mill-sites on the Pequest" (663).

TOWNSBURY 1874
Map of Townsbury in 1874
[Beers Atlas]

Mountain Lake is located in the township and is the largest natural glacial lake in the County. It is 12,000 years old and 122 acres in size with depth of 17 to 38 feet. It is overlooked by Jenny Jump Mountain, a 1,129 foot tall mountain within Frelinghuysen, Hope, Independence and Liberty Townships. In 1834, Jenny Jump was in the northern part of Oxford Township, Warren Co., and extended northwest and southwest for about 10 miles into Independence Township (Gordon, 162). Found in the mountain were limestone and magnetic iron, in addition to other minerals. In the 1830s, the ore was transported to the Oxford Furnace, run by William Henry III and John Jordan under Henry, Jordan & Co. The Parks' saw mill was located at Green's Pond many years ago and rebuilt by J. Parks, the owner in the 1880s.  
     *The Crane Iron Co. (formerly the Lehigh Crane Iron Co.) worked the "Kishpaugh Mine", south of Jenny Jump, and raised "large quantities of 'magnetic ore', which was carted to the railroad at Hackettstown" (Snell, 668).

The mines around the County have not been active for many years and are extremely dangerous to venture onto or into. 
Please avoid all of the mines for your safety and the safety of others.

Mountain Lake, Bridgeville, NJ

Mountain Lake
(Liberty Township)

During the 19th c., Great Meadows was called "Danville" and is located in the very fertile tract of land located in the extreme southeast of the township. Today, parts of Great Meadows are in Independence while the remaining area is located in Liberty. 

The Great Meadows Station is located between Vienna and Great Meadows on the abandoned Lehigh & Hudson River Railroad (L&H), just south of modern-day Route 46. The station was established in 1882 for passenger and freight. The L&H traversed Warren County through the Pequest River Valley. On the complex were four frame buildings: Stick-style (overlay board strips) passenger depot (1882), freight house, workmen's shanty, and a small coal shed ("Great Meadows Railroad Station", 2).  The line runs through Liberty but the station is situated in Independence Township.

The Lehigh & Hudson River Railway (L&HR) passed through Great Meadows. The station was built in 1882 and added to the National Register of Historic Places in 1989. Conrail removed the tracks from Sparta to Belvidere in 1986. In more recent years, the building has been occupied by an engineering company.

 

 Lehigh & Hudson River Railway Station, built 1822
Great Meadows (Liberty)
(Hackettstown Through the Years)

RESOURCES

Cummins, George Wyckoff. History of Warren County, New Jersey. 1911. 

Dale, Frank. Vigorous Villages of Yesteryear. County Chronicles. Book #19. August 2003. 

Gordon, Thomas Francis. A Gazetteer of the State of New Jersey.  Trenton: Daniel Fenton. 1834. [Digital]

"Great Meadows Railroad Station." National Register of Historic Places Registration Form. 21 Feb 1989. [Digital]

"Lehigh & Hudson River Railway." Those Alphabet Route.  [Digital]

"Natural History of Mountain Lake." Liberty Township. [Digital]

"Oxford Furnace." Warren County Cultural & Heritage Affairs. [Digital]

Snell, James P. and Clayton, W.W. History of Sussex and Warren Counties, New Jersey. Philadelphia: Everts & Peck. 1881.

Lopatcong Township

Incorporated by an act of the NJ Legislature on March 7, 1851

The township is comprised of land from Greenwich and Harmony Townships. Originally called "Phillipsburg Township" from 1851 until March 8, 1861 when Phillipsburg was incorporated as an independent municipality. The township changed its name to Lopatcong after the local creek. In the Lenape language, Lopatcong means "Lowan peek achtu onk" or "winter watering place for deer" (Snell, 678; Lopatcong Township, 13).


Lopatcong & Greenwich map, 1754
(Beers Atlas)

In as early as 1740, immigrants from Germany, England, France, Holland, and Scotland ("Lopatcong Centennial", 1). John Feit, a German immigrant, arrived to the area around 1740, with deeds dating to 1749, which shows that Feit, who lived in Greenwich, was a yeoman (farmer). He acquired 100 acres of land from Samuel Carman for 80 English Pounds (Snell, 678). 
     * Although John Feit's grave is unknown, he had family members buried in the St. James Lutheran Cemetery in Greenwich.

The largest peach orchards were on the farm of Joseph Crater's sons in Uniontown, which contained about 40,000 trees (Cummins, 193). 

Revolutionary War (AR) veterans interred at the St. James Lutheran Cemetery on Route 22 and Uniontown Road. See Greenwich Township.

Early settlement was tied to the Delaware River Valley and the Morris Canal. The canal played a significant role in the township and the Lopatcong Creek was the key water source.

Originally, the Morris and Essex Railroad (later a part of the main line of the Delaware, Lackawanna & Western Railroad) connected Newark to Morristown (January 1835), but the line was extended to Phillipsburg by 1865, which brought the line into a part of Lopatcong (Bowe, 129). 

The Marble Hill Natural Resource Area, located in Lopatcong and Harmony Townships, has a summit of 771 feet and overlooks the Delaware River. The Fulmer Mine (also known as the Marble Mountain Mine) ran from 1860 to 1886 and claimed over 1,000 tons of usable ore (Koppenhaver, "Marble Mountain"). 

Marble Hill Natural Resource

Marble Hill Natural Resource
Warren County Park System
(Warren County Parks)

Lopatcong was originally comprised of Lows Hollow, Hillcrest, Delaware Park, Peach Orchards, Uniontown Soapstone, and until 1903, Ingersoll Heights (now a part of Phillipsburg). Low's Hollow is in the eastern part of the township where a 1903 reservoir was built originally as a water supply for Phillipsburg and the Ingersoll-Rand Drill Co. (Cummins, 193). Later, the reservoir was became Merrill Creek Reservoir.

Merrill Creek Harmony
Merrill Creek Reservoir
(NJ Skylands)

 

The communities that comprise Lopatcong include Lows Hollow, Ingersoll Heights (incorporated into Phillipsburg in 1903), Delaware Park and Uniontown.

RESOURCES

150th Anniversary Celebration of Lopatcong Township. Lopatcong Township. 2013. 

Bowe, Don. "The Story of the Morris & Essex Railroad." NJPH. Vol. 45, No. 3. Aug 2016.  [Digital]

Cummins, George Wyckoff. History of Warren County, New Jersey. 1911.

Koppenhaver, Bob. "Big Skylands Country." NJ Skylands. August 2012. [Digital]

Koppenhaver, Bob. "Marble Mountain Natural Resource Area." Spring 2013.  [Digital]

Lopatcong Centennial. Lopatcong Township. 1963.

"Marble Mountain." Mindat. [Digital]

Snell, James P., Clayton, W.W. History of Sussex and Warren Counties, New Jersey. Philadelphia: Everts & Peck. 1881.

"St. James Lutheran (Greenwich) Cemetery." New Jersey Civil War Gravestones.  [Digital]

Mansfield Township

Incorporated by an act of the NJ Legislature on May 30, 1754 
Was one of NJ's initial group of 104 townships by an act of New Jersey Legislature.

The township was originally called "Mansfield-Woodhouse Township" and was formed from portions of Greenwich Township and an area that was still a part of Sussex Co. After Warren County was created, portions of this township were used to make Franklin (1839) and Washington Townships (1849). Mansfield is named for William Murray, 1st Earl of Mansfield (Snell, 257). The Mansfield-Woodhouse Presbyterian Church was "erected between the years 1739 and 1744" (Snell, 566). The church structure is long gone, but the old cemetery still is visible from Route 31. There are several Revolutionary War and Civil War soldiers (including a few members of the US Colored Troops). Peggy Vliet Warne (1746-1840) and the Changewater Murder victims are also buried in this cemetery. The cemetery is currently located in Washington Township.
     * The cemetery is located today in Washington Township.

Beattystown, one of the communities in Mansfield, is located on the Musconetcong River. It was a thriving village in 1800 and was the chief market for grain and produce. The "Beatty's Mill" was named in honor of the man who built the first mill before the Revolution. In 1820, there were more houses than elsewhere. The first hotel was built long before the Revolution. During the Revolution, Captain Jacob Henry  drafted 300 men from this community, stayed at the hotel and marched to Sandy Hook the next day. Also in Changewater (Washington Twp.) were a tavern and stage coach stop (c. 1820) at the top of Kings Highway. The old coach road entered town from Morris County over an old stone bridge, and entered at the foot of Schooley's Mountain (remnants of the bridge can be seen by the traffic light near Home Depot). The old turnpike road was built in 1812 and ran through Beattystown. It may be the oldest road in the township, which at the time was dirt and lined with maple trees on both sides. In 1911, the road was widened and macadamized ("Highlights of the Historical Yesteryears of Beattystown", 3; Cummins, 195).

beattystown 1860

Map of Beattystown, 1860

The Morris Canal traveled through Mansfield Township, particularly in Port Murray and along Rockport Road.  Port Murray emerged in 1754 when the township separated from Greenwich Township. In 1803, John Bryan of Lebanon Township (Hunterdon Co.) acquired the area of Port Murray, which he farmed. Main stores (such as the Perry store in Port Murray), mills and more were often situated along the canal for the transference of goods between Phillipsburg and Newark. The canal basin in Port Murray would be used for church baptisms and in the winter, to harvest ice. 

The Morris & Essex Railroad station is located in Port Murray and was listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1996. 

Plane 5W Port Murray
Plane 5 West, Port Murray
(Canal Society of NJ)

The Anderson Hotel, on the corner of Asbury-Anderson Road and Route 57, was the center of this small hamlet that also included the Methodist Church across the street. Joseph Anderson, who founded this community around 1787, operated the general store across the street from his hotel. The first grist mill was built in 1798 by William Little. The mill was powered by a small, nameless stream that traveled downhill towards the Musconetcong River. Dr. Moses Beavers/Bevers (1754-1831) settled in this community and practiced medicine in 1800. 

Anderson Hotel
Anderson Hotel
(Metrotrails)

Along the banks of the abandoned canal was the State game farm, which bred, raised and stocked pheasants for the state's hunters (Dale 1, 1-2). In 1925, a violent storm washed debris across the grade crossing of the Lackawanna Railroad (DL&W), which caused the train to derail and crash, which killed 42 passengers, 5 crewmen and injured 23 others. The Extra East 1104  was a special train that carried German-American tourists from their homes in Chicago to the ocean liner Republic, which was docked at the Hudson River in Hoboken. A heavy electrical storm recently passed through the area and as Fred Loomis (the conductor) drove the train east towards Hackettstown, he may not have seen the debris affecting the rail line. When Loomis entered the "Rockport Sag" around 3am, the train continued upright for about 200 feet before plowing up ties and twisting rails. When the train hit the crossover switch, it derailed and went up a 12-foot embankment on the right, flipped over. The first coach slammed into the engine car, the second coach landed on top of the first, and the sleeper collided and overturned. The engine's boilers exploded, pouring "live steam into the open coaches and sleeper" (Dale, 7). Locals heard the crash and men ran towards the crash. The scene was violent and grisly with mangled bodies visible to bystanders. More people arrived in this village that by later in the day, there was an estimated 20,000 onlookers who had arrived in town.

Rockport Train Wreck 1925 b
Lackawanna train (Extra 1104) derailed on June 16, 1925.
[Express Times]

To watch the "Extra 1104: The Story of the Rockport Train Wreck" by John General, please click the link.

Mansfield_Erie Lackawanna freight train Pt Murray Dairy 1960s
Erie-Lackawanna freight train passes Port Murray Dairy, c. 1960s
Although the dairy was demolished, the Morris & Essex Railroad Station remains.
(Hackettstown Through the Years)

Cemeteries with veterans from the Revolution (AR) and Civil War (CW) interred within. There are no known Revolutionary or Civil War veterans buried in the Rockport Presbyterian Church Cemetery.

 Mt. Bethel Methodist 
Church Cemetery

Ongoing construction at this site,
cemetery is closed to the public
Port Murray Cemetery
Mansfield Baptist Cemetery 
Dr. Robert Cummins
(1742-1806)
AR 
William Bentron
(1848-1917) 
CW
 Joseph Hart
(1840-1917)
Co. B, 15th NJ Volunteers
CW
 James M. Clary
(1832-1932)
Co. B, 8th NJ Volunteers
CW
Corp. George T. Nunn
(1824-1896)
 Co. H, 31st NJ Infantry
 Benjamin Felver
(1828-1900)
Co. H, 31st NJ Volunteers
CW
Joseph C. Pool
(1848-1922)
Co. G, 31st NJ Volunteers
CW
 
 Samuel Hoppock
(1841-1912)
Co. B, 31st NJ Volunteers
CW
  John D. Ketcham
(1841-1922)
Co. H, 8th NJ Volunteers
 
CW
   Pvt. James McClary
(1843-1922)
Co. H, 8th NJ Volunteers
CW
   Jacob Mitchell
(1843-1919)
CW
   Pvt. William S. Opdyke
(1843-1906)
Co. B, 31st NJ Volunteers
CW
   Pvt. Levi Rush
(1840-1916)
Co. H, 15th NJ Volunteers
CW

   Pvt. Jacob W. Yawger
(1837-1913)
Co. C, 27th NJ Volunteers

Veterans that are verified for Revolution from Stryker, Civil War from Stryker Vol 1 & 2, NPS Soldiers & Sailors and other resources. 

Mansfield Township consists of the communities of Port Murray, Anderson, Karrsville, Beattystown, Mt. Bethel, Timberswamp, Jackson Valley, Rockport, and Vannest's Gap in the extreme northwest corner of the township (Cummins, 216). 

RESOURCES

Cummins, George W. History of Warren County, New Jersey. NY: Lewis Historical Publishing Co., 1911. 

Dale, Frank. Disaster at Rockport. Hackettstown: Hackettstown Historical Society, 1995.

Dale, Frank. The Story of Mansfield Township. County Chronicles, Part 1. Book #20. December 2003.  

General, John. Extra 1104. 2024. [Digital]

Highlights of the Historical Yesteryears of Beattystown. Bicentennial Celebration, July 4, 1976. Friendship Guild of the Beattystown Presbyterian Church. Hackettstown, NJ. 1975.

"Port Murray Historic District." Living Places. [Digital]

Snell, James P., Clayton, W.W. History of Sussex and Warren Counties, New Jersey. 1881. [Digital]

Oxford Township

Incorporated by an act of the NJ Legislature on May 30, 1754 

Oxford was originally created from a part of Greenwich and is one of the original townships in the newly formed Warren County in 1824.  Land was taken from Oxford Township to create Knowlton, Franklin, Harmony and Hope, as well a Belvidere and White. The primary village was named after the furnace and is situated in the southwest area of the township, along the line of the former Delaware, Lackawanna & Western Railroad, along with the surrounding hills (Snell, 609). 

In 1726, John Charles Axford (1692-1771) and George Green arrived to "Morris" (Hunterdon) County from Bucks Co., PA . After dividing the land between themselves, Axford built a log cabin "at Charles Scranton's Spring" (Lower Denmark) in Oxford while Green took the land to the north (Green's Pond or Mountain Lake, through Hope)(Morgan, 2-3). George was the brother of Samuel Green (bc. 1670/75-1760/85), a deputy surveyor for the West Jersey Proprietors who owned several tracts of land in Hardwick and Greenwich. Samuel surveyed 610 acres of land for George in what became Hope Township in 1725. George originally lived in Amwell, Hunterdon Co., before arriving in what is now Warren Co. (Snell, 32-33). It was described as a "horrid wilderness", but survey teams were interested in areas located near water sources, particularly for the building of mills (Morgan, 3). 
     * 
Axford and his wife, Joanna "Anna" Biles Beakes (1696-1767) had five children: Samuel (1723/4-1811), Jonathan (1730-1806), John, Jr. (1735-1809), Abraham (bc. 1740-1792) and Martha (1741-1801).  
     * Green and Axford found large mineral deposits in the Oxford area (Robeson, 32).

Around 1730, Joseph Shippen, Sr. (1678-1741), of the prominent Philadelphia family, purchased land from William Coxe (1723-1801), the son of West Jersey Proprietor, Colonel Daniel Coxe (1673-1739) for the deposits of magnetite iron ore. Shippen leased the Oxford lands to Jonathan Robeson (1695-1766), who lived in neighboring White Marsh (PA). Jonathan's father, the Honorable Andrew Robeson, Jr. (1653-1719) who was an experienced iron master who trained his son that permitted him to play a significant role at the Oxford iron works (Morgan, 4). 
    * Andrew Robeson, Jr. was a Scottish immigrant and Quaker who graduated from Oxford University in Great Britain. He was a member of the Council and a Chief Justice in Pennsylvania. He lived in the Province of West Jersey where he served on the Council of Proprietors from 1687 to 1693. 

 During the first few years, Robeson was the iron master and owner of about 3,000 acres of land and by 1745, he entered into a partnership with Joseph "Gentleman Joe" Shippen, Jr. (1706-1793), of Philadelphia.

Mining began around the 1730s and in 1741, construction of the Oxford Furnace began under the guidance of Robeson. The Oxford Furnace is the third colonial furnace to be built in New Jersey, the first constructed nearest the local iron mines, and the oldest surviving iron furnace in NJ. It was "blasted in" around 1741 with its first production of pig iron on March 9, 1743 (Snell, 609). Robeson bought one-half interest in the Furnace Tract but was unable to obtain the controlling interest. He sold one-forth interest to Dr. Shippen, Sr. Robeson was one of the first judges of the Court of Common Pleas for Sussex Co. With the money from Dr. Shippen, Sr., Robeson builds a large forge at Changewater, on the Musconetcong River. Four years later, Dr. Shippen, Sr. purchases part interest from his older brother and Jonathan Robeson. 
     * Dr. Shippen, Sr. was a notable member of the Philadelphia Shippen dynasty. He was the Founder & Trustee of the College of New Jersey (Princeton University), Trustee of the University of Pennsylvania, and a delegate to the Continental Congress (1778-79).

In c. 1754, the town is named "Oxford" by a Commission and Richard Shackleton (1720-1790), the contractor who built the millrace. became the manager of the furnace for Robeson. That year, Sussex Co. (including what is now Warren) split from Morris County. Robeson sold his interest in the mine lands to Dr. Shippen, Sr. for 100 tons of pig iron a year that would be delivered to Robeson's forge at Changewater (Warren200.com). By 1756, Dr. Shippen, Sr. purchased his brother's interests and leases the furnace to Jacob Starn (d. Dec 1773). His second son, Joseph William (1737-1795) begins to live at the Manor to oversee the property ("furnace tract") (Warren200.com). 
     * The Changewater Forge was located along the Musconetcong River at the southern boundary of Washington Township. 

pig iron

Oxford Pig Iron (no date)
[WCCHA Collections]

Industrial expansion occurs most especially following the Shippen-era when William Henry III (1794-1878) and the Scrantons assume control over the "iron plantation." In 1834, Henry refitted the furnace to enable "hot blast," which enabled it to operate at higher temperatures. This was first successful use of hot blast in the United States.
     * William Henry was a former co-owner of the Boulton Gun Works in Nazareth, PA. He sold his shares to his brother, John Joseph Henry (1786-1836) and leased the furnace property from Tacy Paul Robeson (1769-1849), the widow of Jonathan Robeson's grandson, David Morris Robeson (1759-1823). She even offered the new Freeholders for Warren Co. money and land in Oxford if they agreed to make it the County seat. She petitioned in the Belvidere Apollo several times in the early months of 1825.

FURNACE 1
Oxford Furnace #1, no date
[WCCHA Archives]

After William Henry returned to Pennsylvania, he left George Whitfield Scranton (1811-1861) and his brother, Selden T. Scranton (1814-1891) in charge of the iron works. The company name changes a few times, but inevitably, Selden and their younger brother, Charles (1822-1888) operated the works in Oxford until Selden's death. In addition to the iron industry, the Scrantons and remaining Henry relatives became involved with the Delaware, Lackawanna & Western Railroad (DL&W) and the Warren Railroad *WRR) that traversed the town. From 1854 to 1862, construction of a 3,002-foot train tunnel (Van Nest Gap/Oxford Tunnel) began and was leased and operated by the DL&W. 

Oxford Train Station 1909
Oxford Train Station, 1909
[WCCHA Archives]

Following the Henry-Scranton era, different businesses will obtain control over the iron works. The Manor will continue to house superintendents of these businesses, Empire Steel & Iron (1899-1921), Replogle Steel Co. (1922), Warren Pipe & Foundry Corp. (1922-1941), and Alan Wood Steel Co. (1941-64). The last two families that privately owned the Manor before it was obtained by the State and later, the County were the Woods (1950-53) and Kapplers (1954-1974).

At its height, Oxford had two furnaces, a stove factory, machine shop, foundry, ore kilns, rolling mill, nail factory and warehouse, a train station, car wheel factory, carpenter shop, a grist mill (which was converted to a church in 1913), in addition to its over 200-year old mining industry that ended in 1964. Even though the remnants of the industrial era of Oxford has long since ceased, its impact on county and state histories was significant.

Kilns Oxford
Ore Kilns of Oxford (no date)
[WCCHA Archives]

The unincorporated communities and localities include Pequest.

*Note, due to the lack of written documentation during the early years of Oxford, especially during the Shippen era and regarding Furnace #1, the dates and transitions between owners and managers is estimated. Also, at this time, there is no documentation found at this time that proves the Furnace produced cannonballs during the Revolution (or any 18th/19th c. wars). As information is uncovered, the history of Oxford will be updated.

The following veterans are known to have served in the Civil War (CW) in Hillside Cemetery and St. Rose of Lima Cemetery

 Hillside Cemetery  St. Rose of Lima Cemetery
 Pvt. William B. Cobb, Sr.
(1846-1935)
Possibly Co. B, 3rd NJ Infantry
or
Co. D, 25th NJ Infantry
[NPS 1, 2]
 Pvt. Lewis Balkenberg
(1832-1911)
Co. B, 31st NJ Volunteers
[Stryker, 943]

Pvt. John Gross
(1821-1904)
Co. B, 97th PA Infantry
[NPS]

Ensign John C. Finnigan
(1832-1886)
US Navy
Seaman Fireman, USS Merrimac 
 John McNear
(1833-1921)
Possibly Cpl., Co. K, 31st NJ Infantry
[NPS]
[Stryker, 956]
Corp. James Henigen
(1836-1884)
 Co. D, 69th PA Infantry
Wounded in action at
Battle of Antietam (right knee);
recovered in time to fight
at Gettysburg

James L. Pierson
(1838-1915)
Co. I, 31st NJ Volunteers
 
[NPS]
 
 Peter Spatz
(1834-1908)
Possible Civil War veteran
 
 Capt. Christopher "Tip" C. Weston
(1839-1909)
Sgt., Co. C, 7th MA Volunteers
Capt., Co. F, 7th MA Volunteers
[NPS]
 

 Civil War Veterans are verified through Soldiers & Sailors (NPS) and Strykers' book (Volume 1, 2).

RESOURCES

Chavez, Steve R. and Clemensen, A. Berle. Final Cultural Landscape Report: Pahaquarry Copper Mine. Delaware Water Gap National Recreation Area, NJ Vol. 1. Denver: US National Park Service. 1995. 

Cummins, George Wyckoff. History of Warren County, New Jersey. 1911.

Morgan, Susan P. Shippen Manor and The Village of Oxford an 18th c. History. Warren County Cultural & Heritage Commission. Bulletin No. 2. 1994.

"Oxford Furnace History." Hagley Museum Archives. 1944-1946. [Digital]

Robeson, Susan Stroud, et. al. An historical and genealogical account of Andrew Robeson, of Scotland, New Jersey and Pennsylvania, and of his descendants from 1653 to 1916. Philadelphia: Lippincott, 1916. [Digital]

Snell, James P. History of Sussex and Warren Counties, New Jersey. 1881.

Warne, George K., ed. Oxford Furnace, Oxford Furnace, New Jersey: A Short Narrative. Warren County Cultural & Heritage Commission. 1991. 

Wood, Summer Joy. "The Shippens of Philadelphia: Quaker Oats That Were Never Sowed." Thesis. Rutgers University Graduate School at Camden. 2011. [Digital]

Phillipsburg, Town of

Incorporated by an act of the NJ Legislature on March 8, 1861

The village of Chintewink was established earlier and was written about as early as 1654 and was referred to one a map created by a Dutch engineer (McKelvey). The are two theories about the origin of the name of the town. One is that the town was named after their chief, Philip, of the local Lenape tribal settlement. An alley in town still retains that name (between Broad Street and Rose Street, west of North Main Street). Chief Philip was a close friend of the prominent Lenape chief, Teedyuscung (c. 1705-1763). In December 1755, Philip and fourteen other warriors were arrested by New Jersey authorities and taken to the nearest jail in Easton. They were not charged with a crime, but kept at the jail as the tensions between the colonists and indigeneous peoples grew more intense following a massacre at another site on November 24 (Phillipsburg, 2).
     * Teedyscung protested the unfairness of the Walking Purchase of 1737, a fraudulent land transation where the Penn family acquired 1.2 million acres of Lenni Lenape land in Pennsyvania by falsely claiming an old treaty that allowed them to purchase land equivalent to what a man could walk in a day and a half. 

Colonel Daniel Coxe received a warrant in 1715 to locate 1250 acres of land across from the Forks of the Delaware River where the Lehigh and Delaware Rivers converge. The heirs of Coxe conveyed 500 acres of the southwestern part of this tract to John Feith (Feit), which adjoined the lands of Peter Kenney and John Roseberry (Cummins, 226-227; Philipsburg, NJ, 3). The tract was laid out as the "intended town of Phillipsburg" in 1789 when it came into the possession of Jacob Arndt, Jr. of Easton, PA.

Mile marker S Main 41 mls to Brunswick
Mile Marker "44 Miles to Brunswick"
[Metrotrails]

The Brunswick Turnpike (also New Jersey Turnpike, also Easton-New Brunswick Turnpike) connected Brunswick (now New Brunswick) to Phillipsburg and was built to Union Square. The turnpike was chartered in 1806 and follows the route through town on South Main Street to routes 173, 22, 28, Easton Ave., and more. The small brownstone marker has etched on its surface the distance from Phillipsburg to Brunswick (today's New Brunswick). The modern portion of the Washington Turnpike was originally part of the Washington Turnpike before it was incorporated into the William Penn Auto Trail (1916).
     * The Washington Turnpike, legislated to run from Morristown to Phillipsburg in 1806 were later incorporated into the William Penn Highway (1916).


Roseberry-Gess House, c. 1787
[Phillipsburg Area Historical Society]

Phillipsburg, located at the confluence of the Delaware and Lehigh Rivers, was a historic transportation hub, connecting to Easton, PA via "two rivers, three canals (one being the Morris Canal), five railroads, five streetcar and interurban railway companies, numerous stagecoach, bus and truck enterprises" ("Branding Iron"). It is also the "terminus of two historic trans-New Jersey turnpikes and... a number of manufacturing companies directly and heavily involved the transportation" ("Branding Iron"). The Central Railroad (CNJ) first ran in 1852 and the DL&W's Morris & Essex, Lehigh & Hudson River Railway (L&HR), Lehigh Valley Railroad (LVRR) and the Pennsylvania Railroad's (PRR) Belvidere Delaware (Bel-Del) Railroad ("Branding Iron").
      * The Morris Canal & Banking Co. was chartered in 1824 to construct the Morris Canal from Phillipsburg to Newark for the transportation of anthracite coal from Pennsylvania and other products. The canal connected the Delaware & Lehigh Rivers with the Passaic River. In 1836, the canal was extended from Newark to New York Harbor at Jersey City, which totaled 102.15 miles (Canal Society of NJ).


Morris Canal, Inclined Plane 11 West
Foot of plane is at the Delaware River
Most western inclined plane on the Morris Canal
[Canal Society of NJ]

During the Civil War, many men from Warren County served in regiments in NJ, PA, NY and elsewhere. Shappell Park, located at the intersection of South Main and Sitgreaves Streets is the Civil War monument dedicated to the men who served from Phillipsburg. Situated in the park are three Civil War mortars situated in the park, surrounding the monument. These were used in battle and have been decommissioned and deactivated. 


Civil War Monument, 1910
Formerly known as "Lovell Square"
[Adventures in History]

Civil War (CW) veterans are interred in a couple of the cemeteries in the Phillipsburg area. Phillipsburg Cemetery, alone, has a tremendous number of Civil War veterans interred there.

Fairmount Cemetery
123 Belvidere Road
Phillipsburg Cemetery Memorials
199 Filmore Street
Lt. Lewis Tucker Brant
(1834-1899)
Sgt. Co. E, 8th NJ
2nd Lt. Co. B, 8th NJ 
John Adams
(1841-1900)
Co. G, 54th PA
 
 Pvt. George A. Carey
(1845-1914)
Co. H, 51st PA
 Philip Cook
(1844-1925)
Co. H, 8th NJ
 Horace L. Ames
(1833-1875)
Drum Major
2nd NJ Infantry
 Capt. Samuel B. Carhart
(1832-1890)
Co. A, 31st NJ
 Pvt. Louis Albert ("Lewis") Dick
(1839-1909)
Co. K, 2nd MD
 Pvt. Jacob L. Apgar
(1809-1890)
Theodore Carhart
(1838-1883)
Co. D, 1st NJ 
Michael W. Fitzpatrick
(1842-1922)
Co. F, 77th PA 
 Pbt. Henry John Atwood
(1818-1901)
 David S. Carling
(1839-1908)
Battery D,
2nd US Artillery
Pvt. Oscar Henry Kays
(1847-1921)
Co. F, 9th NJ
 
 Sgt. John S. Barnett
(1837-1897)
Co. F,
3rd NJ Cavalry
Oliver P. Case
(1838-1910)
Co. C,
2nd NJ Cavalry 
Frank "Reddin" Keller
(1843-1904)
Co. D, 129th PA

Henry Bercaw
(1843-1905) 
Co. I, 35th NJ
 William Cease
(1835-1891)
Co. C, 31st NJ
Pvt. Alonzo Mace
(1841-1920)
Co. I, 5th NY
 
 Henry Berdux
(1836-1906)
Co. K, 162nd NY
Milton Charles
(1840-1923)
Co. C, 5th US Artillery 
 Pvt. Levi Raub
(1847-1924)
Co. D, 11th NJ
 Pvt. Alexander H. Berry
(1833-1908)
Co. K, 9th NJ
 James J. Clark
(1833-1910)
 Pvt. Irven Rodenbough
(1843-1907)
Co. H, 9th NJ
 John F. Blake
(1840-1918)
Battalion F & M
4th US Artillery
 Charles W. Cole
(1845-1925)
 Pvt. Jacob R. Stout
(1839-1914)
Co. F, 3rd NJ Cavalry
 Pvt. Jerome B. Bogart
(1840-1883)
Co. E, 3rd NJ
Pvt. Thomas Pratt Cole
(1826-1913)
Co. E, 35th Indiana
 
   Pvt. Joseph Henry Brensinger
(1846-1924)
29th, 97th, &124th PA
Wounded at Petersburg
(May 18, 1864)
 James Conn
(1846-1909)
Co. A, 1st NJ Cavalry
  Charles Brown
(1836-1910)
Co. B, 7th NH
 
Corp. Edward L. Creveling
(1840-1864)
Co. E, 7th NJ 
  Joseph Bruch
(1845-1939)
Co. K, 54th PA
 
Pvt. William Dagon
(1833-1890)
Co. B, 31st NJ
 
  Pvt. Daniel James Buss
(1838-1908)
Co. H, 54th PA
 
Sgt. John G. Daub
(1838-1885) 
   Joseph Silliman Call
(1843-1907)
Co. A, 93rd PA
 
  Edward Calligan
(1842-1913)
Battery B,
5th US Artillery
 
 

Veterans who are verified are through Stryker Vol 1 & 2 (Stryker), Soldiers & Sailors (NPS) and other resources.

 

RESOURCES:

"Branding Iron." Skylands Visitor. Summer 1997.  [Digital]

Cummins, George Wyckoff. History of Warren County, NJ. NY: Lewis Historical Publishing Co., 1911.

Drew. "Phillipsburg, Pennsylvania Civil War Memorial." Adventures in History. 30 Dec 2013. [Digital]

"Explore the Morris Canal." Canal Society of New Jersey. 

McKelvey, Bill. "Phillipsburg Area Transportation Chronology." Liberty Historic Railway of New Jersey. 21 March 2018. [Digital]

Phillipsburg, N.J. Centennial 1961. Centennial Committee, Inc. Phillipsburg. 1961.

Snyder, John F.. "The Story of New Jersey's Civil Boundaries 1606-1968."State of New Mersey, Department of Environmental Protection. 1968. [Digital]

Soldiers & Sailors Database. National Park System. [Digital]

Strykers, William Scudder. Records of officers and men of New Jersey in the Civil War, 1861-1865. Volume 1. Trenton, NJ: State Legislature. [Digital]

Strykers, William Scudder. Records of officers and men of New Jersey in the Civil War, 1861-1865. Volume 2. Trenton, NJ: State Legislature. 1876. [Digital]

Pohatcong Township

Incorporated by an act of the NJ Legislature on March 24, 1881

Much like elsewhere in the County, the Lenape were the original inhabitants of the Musconetcong Valley who arrived ten thousand years ago. Their campsites and farms dotted the landscape and each year, they would burn off the meadow to maintain their grasslands for hunting. The township's name means "stream between split hills" for the valley that formed much of the territory (Cummins, 240).

The original survey of the area was done in January 1714, which was approved in November 1717 on a tract of land consisting of 9,009 acres on both sides of the Musconetcong River and along the Delaware River, which was surveyed for Colonel Thomas Byerly. Present-day Pohatcong is comprised of 1,701 acres of the original tract of land (Cummins, 240-41). The first white occupants date to abut 1720 and by the mid-18th c., the Lenape left Lower Pohatcong due to negative impact due to contact with European settlement. It was the last of the civil divisions created by the 1880s. It was formed in 1881 from the extreme southwestern corner of Greenwich (Cummins, 240). 

Long before the Revolution, the small community of Hughesville was named for a Welshman named Hugh Hughes (1738-1790) who bought the land and built a forge three miles from the mouth of the Musconetcong River. Hughes was a lawyer from Philadelphia who married Mary Breckenridge. They had two daughters and three sons. 
     * Hughes took possession of the Greenwich Forge, which had been successful and used iron ore from the Durham Furnace in Pennsylvania and ran until after the Revolution. It was converted by James M. Long into a Gristmill, which was consumed by fire. Hughes built his house (located on Warren Glen-Riegelsville Road/CR 627) and is currently privately owned.
     * Greenwich Forge was one of the early iron forges in Colonial New Jersey that was originally in Greenwich Township. It was located about four miles from the mouth of the Musconetcong River, but the origin is not known. It was making iron before July 1750 as per a letter from Jacob Starn (d. 1773) to the clerk of the Moravian settlement in Bethlehem, PA (Boyer, 75). Starn was the sole owner of the Greenwich Forge until he sold one-half interest to John Hughes of Philadelphia in a partnership. Starn owned a 1,000-acre tract between the Musconetcong and Pohatcong Creeks where he built an iron forge, gristmill and sawmill (Boyer, 75).

 HUGH HUGHES HOUSE POHATCONG
Hugh Hughes residence 
[Private Residence]

In Hunt's Meadow, along Warren Glen-Riegelsville Road (CR 627), there is a historical marker that identifies the Revolutionary-era site of Hunt's Meadow. The sign positioned alongside the road states, "Patriot Edward Hunt settled here on his father's 600 acres of land prior to 1772. In 1778, 60 cavalry horses belonging to the Continental Army were wintered here and returned in spring in excellent condition. Before the Revolution, Edward began digging the mill race here. It is 8/10 mile long and once powered a saw mill and a gristmill that began the Riegel Paper Co." ("Revolutionary War New Jersey"; Lineage Book, 207).

     * According to the NSDAR Lineage Book, Hunt was born in Hunterdon County (207).
     * Edward Hunt, Sr. (1744-1786) was born in Amwell, Hunterdon Co.

Nearby is the farmstead of Benjamin Seigel (1736-1798), who served as a militia captain in Pennsylvania during the Revolution. Ten years after the war ended, he purchased the property  and made red clay pottery known as Seigelware (Lineage Book, 207). The homestead is called "Seigletown" and is currently private property.

Seigletown
Seigletown Marker
[The Historical Marker Database]

Riegelsville, is located in the southernmost town in Warren County, located at the mouth of the Musconetcong River. John W. Riegel used the area to power his grist mill.  The river also provided water power to the Warren Manufacturing Company, which produced manila paper.  The Riegelsville Company Town Historic District was listed on the NJ Register of Historic Places in 1998.

     * Located in Riegelsville at the Delaware, Shank's Ferry (c. 18th c.) was established for crossings of the river. It was later called "Riegel's Ferry" and the first bridge was built at this site around 1837 ("Riegelsville Historic District").
      * The mill, located on the Hunterdon Co. side of the Musconetcong in Finesville was originally the Fines (Fein) Grit Mill in the first half of the 19th c., and later was converted into a paper mill by John L. Riegel. The first paper was produced in 1862 at this location. The smaller site, located a few miles away at "The Forge" was the Warren Paper Mills. It was formerly referred to as "The Forge"," although no forge was ever found at this site (Cummins 242; "A Drive in the Country").
     * Benjamin Riegel House (c. 1832) is located on Route 611 in Riegelstown, PA within the Riegelsville Historic District and is along the Delaware & Lehigh Canal.

     ORIGINAL PAPER MILL Riegel

Original Paper Mill, Finesville, c. 1862 
[Millpictures.com]

In 1797, Thomas Pursell (1769-1841) built a mill at the mouth of the Musconetcong River. 

In the northern part of the township, the New Brunswick turnpike crossed, and was replaced in 1769 in Carpentersville (Cummins, 240).

In 1850, the Shimer Mansion was constructed by William Brown Shimer (1820-1887), a banker and gentleman farmer. It was situated on a bluff over the Easton-Brunswick Turnpike and originally consisted of 120 acres. It was located about a half-mile east of the Morris Canal (Lock 10 West) along South Main Street at Green's Bridge in Phillipsburg. 
     * William B. Shimer was born in Still Valley (Pohatcong Township). He married Mary Margaret Sharps(1824-1884), daughter of Jacob Sharps (1798-1843) and Sophia Shipman (1805-1870). Margaret's grandfather, Isaac Shipmen (1766-1852) was the Sheriff in Warren County and her grandmother was Mary Magdalena Fine (1774-1854), daughter of Phillip Fein, Sr. (1744-1810).


Shimer Mansion, c. 1860
[Pohatcong History & Heritage Society]

Civil War veterans are found to be buried in the Finesville Union Cemetery, on Route 627 (Riegelsville-Warren Glen Rd.), which was located on the Hunt farm about halfway between Finesville and Riegelsville.  The veterans include: Pvt. Ephraim T. Dalton (1842-1885, Co. H, 34th NJ Volunteers), Captain Peter Hart (1821-1896, created Co. F, 31st NJ Volunteers), Corp. Isaac S. Laubach (1806-1873, Co. F, 31st NJ Infantry-- was mustered in as a private, mustered out as a corporal), Pvt. Hiram G. Lippincott (d. 1868, Co. G, 42nd NY Infantry "Tammany Regiment"-- wounded in action (June 30, 1862) at Glendale, VA; transferred to 82nd NY (June 1864-July1865), and Pvt. Oscar H. Smith (b. 1842, Co. F, 31st NJ Infantry).

There are three railroads the traverse the township-- the Belvidere division of the Pennsylvania Railroad (PRR), built 1854 with stations in Riegelsville and Carpentersville, the Lehigh Valley Railroad (LVRR) and the Central Railroad of New Jersey (CRNJ) that traveled from New York to Phillipsburg (Cummins, 240). 

RAILROAD DEPOT RIEGELSVILLE
Riegelsville Train Depot (no date)
[Holland Township History NJ]

The township consists of the unincorporated communities of Upper Pohatcong, Still Valley, Hughesville, Finesville, Huntington, Kennedys, Riegelsville, Springtown, Warren, Warren Glen, and Carpentersville. Alpha was formerly a part of Pohatcong and incorporated as a borough from portions of Pohatcong Township by an act of the State Legislature in 1911 (Cummins, 242). 

RESOURCES

Boyer, Charles Shimer. Early Forges & Furnaces in New Jersey. Philadelphia: University of Philadelphia Press. 1931.

Cummins, George Wyckoff. History of Warren County, New Jersey. 1911. 

"Finesville-Seigletown Historic District." National Register of Historic Places Registration Form. 29 Sept. 2010. [Digital]

Lineage Book. National Society of the Daughters of the American Revolution. Volume 51. Washington, D.C.: Judd & Detweiler, Inc. 1919. 

"Pohatcong." Pohatcong History & Heritage Society. [Digital]

"Revolutionary War Sites in Pohatcong, New Jersey." Revolutionary War New Jersey. [Digital]

"Riegelsville Historic District."  The Historical Marker Database. [Digital]

"Pohatong, Warren County, NJ." The Historical Marker Database. [Digital]

Washington Borough

Incorporated as a borough by an Act of the New Jersey Legislature on February 20, 1868

The borough of Washington was incorporated on February 20, 1868. It is 1.95 square miles, all taken from Washington Township, which completely encompasses the borough, creating what is called “a donut-hole town”.  By 1852, the town's name was officially changed to Washington (Borough) (Frank, 13).

The earliest settlers, the Bowlby family, arrived about 1741 and agreed to allow a log church to be built on a portion of their property.  The log church was located in what is now Washington Township.  The area was called Mansfield Woodhouse after the town the Bowlbys left behind in England.
     * Mansfield Woodhouse is a town and civil parish in the Mansfield district of Nottinghamshire, England.
     * There are a lot of Bowlby family members living in what is now Warren Co.  Thomas Bowlby (1665-1730) migrated from Mansfield Woodhouse in England to Burlington County, NJ. He married Martha Barker (1671-1752) and they had at least nine children-- Jordan (1696-1726), Samuel (1698-1724), John (1703-1782), Elizabeth (1706-1784), Thomas (1708-1789), George (1711-1773), Martha (b. 1713), Jane (b. 1714) and Richard, Sr. (1718-1818). Thomas Bowlby (1744-1827), son of John and (unnamed mother) served in the American Revolution.

In 1811, Colonel William McCullough (1759-1840) built the brick tavern ("Washington House"), situated near the intersection of the Spruce Run and Washington Turnpikes (present East Washington and Belvidere Avenues). The building soon became known as the "Washington Tavern" in the village of Mansfield.  Eventually, the village of Mansfield became known as Washington.  
     * McCullough was born in Mansfield when it was still a part of Sussex County, in the vicinity of Asbury. When he was seventeen, he enlisted in a Sussex Co. Militia along with his father, Capt. Benjamin McCullough (1736-1789), to fight in the Revolution. William was involved in skirmishes in Bound Brook, Springfield, and Millstone, NJ. He was promoted to brigade quartermaster as he was quite efficient and had integrity. He settled in Asbury (then called Hall's Mills) in 1784 and built a home overlooking the Musconetcong River (currently, private property). In the 1780s, Col. McCullough was involved in establishing the Asbury Methodist Church. He was a County Freeholder for Mansfield (1797), a member of the NJ Assembly (1793-1799), and a member of the Council of NJ (1800-1803). In addition, he served as a Judge for the Courts of Common Pleas (Sussex & Warren Counties) for thirty-five consecutive years. 
     * Colonel William McCullough is recorded as being the "Captain and Conductor of Team Brigade; also private, militia"  and his father, Benjamin, was recorded as being in "Heard's Brigade" (June 14, 1776 and the 1st Regiment, Sussex (May 24, 1777)) (Strykers, 401, 849).

The Washington House (c. 1861)
[Washington Borough Historical Society]

The northwestern part of the Borough was once a farm owned by Major Cornelius Carhart (172-1810), who arrived in 1753 from Monmouth County along with his Warne cousins. During the Revolution, he served as a Captain in the Continental Army and later, a major in the 3rd Regiment, Hunterdon Co. He was often called "Colonel" (Cummins, 252). 
     * The Strykers Book has Carhart listed as Second Major in the 2nd Regiment, Hunterdon County (page 342). On page 363, he is listed as Captain, 3rd Regiment, Hunterdon Co., and Second Major, 2nd Regiment, Hunterdon Co. as of April 20, 1778. 

The agricultural area of Washington soon became a thriving community with a stop along the Trenton to Belvidere Stage route.  Later, the Morris Canal traversed the north side of the village.  In 1859 the village was selected as a junction point for several railroads.  Known, worldwide as the organ capital of the world, the railroad allowed the shipment of organs and pianos around the globe.  Although the organ factories are long gone, industry still plays an important role in the existence of the borough, that continues to prosper.

Morris Canal Bridge (Broad Street)
[Washington Borough Historical Society]

Washington Borough was also the home of several piano and organ manufacturers from the mid-1850s with melodeons to the 1920s with pianos and organs. The reason that Washington Borough was a prime location for this type of manufacture was for two reasons: the Shabbecong Creek and the Morris Canal. Prior to 1800, the Borough was referred to as the "Barrens" because before 1811, there were few houses and a few small structures. The first post office in 1814 used the name "Mansfield" and by 1837, the Easton-Morristown Turnpike (east-west, Route 57, "Washington Turnpike," c. 1806) and Belvidere-Trenton Turnpike (north-south) traveled through the town. At that time, there were around forty dwellings (some mechanics' shops and stores that included two cabinetmakers). The advent of the organ and piano manufacture utilized the large supply of walnut trees in the area and helped to develop it into a transportation center (Frank, 13).  The Turnpikes' decline occurred around the rise of the railroad and canals. 

ORGAN AND PIANO MANUF Len Frank
Frank, Len. "Organ Capital of the World: Part 3."
njpostalhistory.org

Frank, Len. "Organ Capital of the World: Part 3."
njpostalhistory.org

In addition to the organ and piano factories, Washington became a bustling industrial center and included Castle Creek Prints, Inc. (fine linens and draperies), Pohatcong Hosier Mills (ladies' full-fashioned hosiery, converted to apartments on Park Drive & Rt 31 ), Unit Flooring Company (fine oak flooring blocks), Washington Brass Foundry (toilet seat hinges, tank trimmings, castings), Standard Oil Company (later BASF), Washington Porcelain Co. (electrical porcelain manufactures), Vikon Tile Co. (enameled steel and aluminum wall tile), Washington Woodcraft Corp. (dinette furniture), Washington Pattern Co. (wood patterns), Ideal Farms (dairy products), Washington Manufacturing Co. (lingerie and knit products), and Tidewater Associated Oil Co. 
     * Vikon Tile Co. was originally founded as Sanimetal Tile Co. (1926) and was purchased by Vikon in 1946.

Washington Silk Mills 1900
Washington Silk Mills (1900)
[WCCHA Archives]

Passenger and freight service was operated by the Delaware, Lackawanna and Western Railroad, with service to New York City. The line connected with the Pennsylvania Central Railroad and the Lehigh Valley Railroad at Easton. In the mid-20th c., the Blue Coach Bus Company operated to New York, Philadelphia, Trenton, and Allentown. Greyhound service was available in Buttzville and the Martz line traveled to Newark, NJ and New York City with a scheduled stop on Washington. The Central Bus Terminal in Easton and the Trans-Bridge Bus Co. also maintained hourly schedules in the mid-20th c. from Washington to Easton, PA (About Washington New Jersey). 

RESOURCES

About Washington.  Chamber of Commerce. [Digital]

Cummins, George Wyckoff. History of Warren County, NJ. 1911. [Digital]

Frank, Len. "The Organ Capital of the World: Part 3 Other Manufacturers in Washington Borough, Warren County, New Jersey." The Journal of the New Jersey Postal History Society. Vol 32, No 1. February 2004.  [Digital]

 Motto, Anne. "The Turnpike Era." Morris County Historical Society. 9 March 2021. [Digital]

Stryker, William Scudder. Official Register of the Officers and Men of New Jersey in the Revolutionary War. Trenton: W.T. Nicholson. 1872. [Digital]

"Architects' and builders' data file: Vikon Tile Corp." Vikon Tile Corp. 1960. [Digital]

"Washington Borough." Brenda Heinrich Higgins. 2025.

Washington Township

Incorporated by an act of the New Jersey Legislature on April 9, 1849

Washington Township was originally a part of "Mansfield-Woodhouse", later Mansfield Township from 1754 until 1849. On April 9, 1849, portions of Mansfield Township were used to create Washington Township.

The Delaware, Lackawanna & Western Railroad (DLW), a US class 1 railroad, crossed the township from east to west and north to south, with the two lines crossing in Washington. The north-south line was the Warren Railroad (1856-1911) that connected with the Central Railroad of New Jersey (1830s-1976) at Hampton Junction (Hunterdon Co.).

The Morris Canal and the Easton & Washington Traction Company (trolley line that ran from 1911 to 1923) also passed through the township. Port Colden produced bricks and had a distillery that operated for many years by John Updyke. The Port Colden Manor, built as a hotel in 1836, was originally called the "Colden House." Advertised on the Great Western Turnpike, where two stage lines crossed, was later used as a boarding school. 
      * Port Colden was created along the Morris Canal in 1831. It was named in honor of Cadwallader David Colden (1769-1834), the president of the Morris Canal & Banking Co. 
     * Inclined Plane 6 West (Morris Canal) was a fifty-foot lift near Port Colden.
     * The Port Colden Manor was built in the 1840s and served as a ladies' finishing school called St. Matthew's Hall, and later converted into a hotel and stagecoach stop (c. 1850) called the "Colden House". It was abandoned in 1895 and had offices at one point. It has been empty for over a decade.
     * The Easton & Washington Traction Co. line ran from Phillipsburg. 

PLANE 7W BOWERSTOWN
Plane 7 West, Bowerstown
[Metrotrails.org]

The Brass Castle section of the township is located at the foot of Montana Mountain. It was once surrounded by the Brass Castle Creek, Pohatcong Creek and the Morris Canal. The first settler in this area was Jacobus Van der Lin from Holland, who arrived to the area with his wife around 1765. The village was named after the residence (cabin or "castle") of Jacob Brass. By the 1870s, the community had a school (private residence in area of Little Philadelphia Road), sawmill, gristmill, several smithys (including Adam Wandling's (1769-1857), and about a dozen residences. Brass Castle also had an early brickyard and papermill. 
     * Adam Wandling, Sr. was the of his family to settle in Brass Castle. He ran a blacksmith shop in a log cabin until his father built him the stone structure that still remains (Meadow Breeze Lane). He worked enough to earn 500 acres of land. His son, Adam, Jr. (1816-1894), who was a farmer for most of his life, erected a gristmill and saw mill at Brass Castle and he focused primarily on lumber and grain and used the Morris Canal to transport his products to New York City. 


Adam Wandling, Sr.'s smithys at Meadow Breeze
[WCCHA Archives]

The Mansfield-Woodhouse Cemetery, located near the intersection of Cemetery Hill Road and St. Lincoln Ave. dates back to the 18th c. and is possibly one of the oldest, if not the oldest, cemetery in the County. The original Presbyterian Church was founded in 1740 in what was Mansfield Wood House. The congregation moved to a log church built at the cemetery in 1840 until they moved to their current location on Washington Ave., in Washington Borough. Many of Washington's earliest settlers are buried here, including many veterans of earlier wars. American Revolution (AR), War of 1812 (W1812), Interwar (IW) and Civil War (CW) veterans buried in this cemetery include:

Pvt. Abram Andrews 
(d. 1908)
Co. I, 11th Regiment,
NJ Volunteers
and
Co. I, 8th USCT
(African American soldier)
CW
  
Lt. Thomas Force 
(1743-1829)
AR
  
Pvt. Benjamin B. Andrews
(d. 1892)
Co. A, 25th Regiment, USCT
(African American soldier)
CW
Pvt. William W. Force 
(d. 1904)
Battery B,
1st NJ Volunteer
Light Artillery
CW
Pvt. George B. Andrews
 (d. 1903)
Co. E, 25th Regiment,
USCT
(African American soldier)
CW
  
Pvt. James A. Furman
(1839-1907)
Co. E, 54th Regiment
MA Cavalry USCT
(African American soldier) 
CW
 William W. Andrews 
(1847-1890)
Co. I, 8th Regiment,
NJ Volunteers
CW
Pvt. John Gross
(d. 1900)
Co. I, 47th Regiment,
PA Infantry
CW
 Capt. John Axford III 
(1760-1843)
Commissioned Captain
under Gen. Washington
After the war, moved to Oxford,
Became a drover
G
randson of Oxford's founder, 
John Charles Axford (1692-1771)
through
 John Axford, Jr. (1735-1809). 
His wife, Eleanor Polhemus (1767-1848)
was the daughter of 
Major John Polhemus (1738-1834)
and granddaughter of Signer, 
John Hart (1713-1779)
of Hopewell in Hunterdon Co.
AR
Samuel B. Hartpence 
(1840-1882)
Co. H, 31st Regiment,
NJ Volunteers
CW
Pvt. Michael B. Baylor 
(1756-1833)
Captain Petty's Co., NJ Militia
Served under Capt. Benjamin Warner,
Capt. John Tilletson, and
Col. Mark Thompson.
He was a shoemaker;
his family relocates to
Knowlton Township
AR
Pvt. George Hoffman
(1840-1905)
Co. H, 11th Regiment,
NJ Volunteers
CW
Captain Robert Beavers, Jr. 
(1747-1822)
Major Abraham Bescherer,
1st Regiment, Sussex Co. Militia
and
Col. Ephraim Martin,
NJ State Troops
 
Captain Robert Beavers.
1st Regiment, Sussex Co. [Stryker, 
382] 
AR
 
Pvt. Charles Lanning, Jr.
(1840-1863)
Co. I, 31st Regiment,
NJ Volunteers
Killed in action at Plain, VA
CW

Pvt. William J. Bodine 
(1742-1864)
Co. H, 15th NJ Volunteers
Killed near Spotsylvania
Court House, VA
on 12 May 1864
CW

David Lundy 
(d. 1914)
Co. E, USCT
(African American soldier)
CW
Pvt. Thomas Bowlby 
(1744-1827)
Soldier of Revolution
AR
Christopher Petty
(d. 1879)
Co. B, 31st Regiment,
NJ Volunteer Infantry
CW
 
Major Cornelius "Colonel"
Carhart, Sr.
 
(1726-1810)
Fought as a captain in the 3rd Regiment,
2nd Major under Col. Joseph Beavers
and Brig. Gen. Philemon Dickinson.  
2nd Major Cornelius Carhart, 2nd Regiment
AR
Pvt. Charles Rader
(1848-1884)
Co. B, 2nd Regiment,
NJ Volunteers
 
Pvt. Robert Carhart
(1760-1834)
2nd Regiment, Hunterdon Co., (1778),
son of Major Carhart, Sr. Robert Carhart,
Hunterdon Co.
[Strykers, 531]
AR
Charles M. Reed
(d. 1871) 
CW
 
George Chamberlin 
(1824-1904)
Warren Blues
(Militia before the Civil War)
IW
 
Pvt. Daniel Vosler
 (d. 1908)
Co. ?, 11th Regiment,
NJ Volunteers
 
CW
 Dr. Samuel Weldon Fell 
(1768-1824)
Captain of a company
of volunteers under 
Col. John Frelinghuysen 
(1776-1883)
who served in the War of 1812
until the close of the war. 
It is possible that the information
listed at Find-A -Grave for
Dr. Fell is incorrect.
He was born in 1788;
too young to serve in
Revolution, not too young
for the War of 1812.
War 1812
[Genealogy of the Fell
Family in America
]
Pvt. George Watts
(1835-1881)
Co. I, 2nd Regiment,
NJ Infantry
Discharged for disability
on 28 Feb 1863 at
Newark, NJ
CW

Veterans to be verified with Stykers' (American Revolution; Civil War 1 and 2), NPS Soldiers & Sailors, and other

 Some of the notable individuals buried in the Mansfield-Woodhouse Cemetery including members of the Axford, Beatty, Bibinger, Bowlby, Castner, Cornish, and Parke families, as well as other founding families of the area.

In 1843, four members of the Parke-Castner family were brutally murdered in Changewater (Washington Twp). They are buried alongside one another, surrounded by other family members. The Parkes' two surviving sons are buried in the Washington Cemetery.

 John S. Castner 
(1807-1843)
Murder Victim
Husband of Maria
Father of Mary M.,
Victor & Eugene
 John B. Parke
(1782-1843)
Murder Victim
Brother of Maria B.
Parke Castner
Large Property Owner
 Maria Bergen ("Mary")
Parke Castner 

(1801-1843)
Murder Victim
Wife of John S. Castner
Mother of Mary M.,
Victor & Eugene
 Rev. Jacob Randolph Castner
(1785-1848)
Not a member of the
same Castner family
(as far as we know)
Created a frenzy
Resulted in the execution
of two men who may
be innocent

 Mary Matilda Castner
(1840-1843)
Murder Victim
Youngest child of John & Mari Castner
Sister of Victor & Eugene
Buried with her mother

 Rebekkah Parke Hulshizer 
(1793-1865)
Sister of Maria and John Parke,
Married to William Hulshizer 
(1787-1869)
Many believe he was possibly
involved in the murders.
Abner Parke 
(1789-1873)
Wife, 
Lydia Bowlby Parke
 
(1791-1829)
Abner was the brother of  
Maria Parke and John B. Parke;
Lydia was the daughter of 
Pvt. Thomas Bowlby (1744-1827). 

In the St. Josephs Catholic Cemetery (Jackson Valley Road), a few Civil War veterans are interred.

 Francis B. Fash
(d. 1883)
Co. B & D,
15th NY Engineers
[USCWG]
 
 John Nier
(d. 1901)
Co. K, 31st NJ Infantry
[USCWG]
 
 Michael Kearns
(d. 1896)
Co. Unassigned,
33rd NJ Infantry
[USCWG]
 Martin Sexton
(d. 1888)
Co. B, 21st NJ Infantry
[USCWG]

The third cemetery in Washington Township, Washington Cemetery (South Lincoln Ave.) actually lies in both Washington Borough and Washington Township. There are both white and black Civil War veterans buried in this cemetery.

 Corp. Hiram W. Alleger
(1838-1924)
Co. I, 31st NJ Infantry
 
 Corp. William Mack Dildine, Sr.
(1816-1911)
Co. B, 38th NJ Infantry
[NPS]
Pvt. Charles Nixon
(1843-1873)
Co. D, 1st NJ Artillery
 Pvt. John Clugson Andrews
(1842-1905)
Co. H, 15th NJ Infantry (1862)
Battery D, US Light Artillery
2nd Lt. James Donnelly
(1840-1895)
Co. A, 15th NJ Volunteers  
Benjamin Opdyke
(1836-1919)

Co. B, 31st NJ Volunteers
William H. Apgar
(1841-1918)  
Pvt. Isaiah W. Emmons
(1841-1909)
Co. B, 31st NJ Volunteers
 
[NPS]
Samuel R. Opdyke
(1838-1912)
Pvt. Jacob W. Baker 
(1842-1920)
Co. B, 31st NJ Volunteers 
Pvt. Clark Felver
(1832-1921)  
Co. B, 31st NJ Infantry
[NPS]
Sgt. John Calvin Osmun
(1839-1901)
Co. E, 7th NJ Infantry  
Theodore Beers
(1847-1915)
Co. C, 37th NJ Volunteers
 
Pvt. Peter C. Felver
(1841-1919)
Co. B, 31st NJ
Volunteers
 
[NPS]
1 Lt. David Pierson
(1835-1911)  
1 Lt. Co. D,
35th NJ Infantry
Capt., Co. E & G, 35th NJ Infantry
[USCWG]
Levi H. Bowlby 
(1846-1906)
 
Dayton E. Flint
 (1841-1926)
Co. B, D & H,
15th NJ Volunteers
Second Corporal, Co. H
Sergeant, Co. H
Lieutenant, Co. H
Captain Co. H
[NPS]
Pvt. John S. Plotts
(1843-1916)
Co. B, 1st NJ Artillery
Pvt. Stewart C. Bowlby
(1845-1878)
Battery B., 1st Regiment, Artillery Volunteers
 
  Sgt. William Forrester
(1839-1907)
Co. H, 15th NJ Volunteers
 
8th Corporal
Sergeant
Originally filed as
William Forester

[NPS]
William Rauch
(1831-1900)
CO. A, 12th PA Cavalry   
Pvt. Whitfield W. Bowlby
(1843-1883)
Co. B, 31st Regiment, NJ Infantry  
George W. Gardner
(1837-1896)
Co. K, 12th Ohio
Infantry
[NPS]
 
Pvt. Daniel W. Sine
(1833-1904)
Co. D, 1st NJ Artillery 
William Q. Brotzman
(1841-1872)

Musician in the Company Band of 47th PA Infantry    

 Cpl. Martin P. Garey
(1841-1900)
Co. H, 15th NJ
Volunteers 
Private
Corporal
(Originally filed under Martin Gary)
[NPS]
Pvt. Adam R. Smith
(1844-1891)
Co. B, 1st NJ Artillery
 Christopher M. Bryan 
(1844-1925)
Co. K, 31st NJ Volunteers
 John S. Gaston
(1835-1898) 
(Several with same
name, different
regiments)
John H. Snyder
(1817-1902)    
Co. E, 35th NJ Infantry
[USCWG]
Joseph G. Bryan 
(1842-1932)
 
Co. B, 31st NJ Infantry
[USCWG]
Corp. Sylvester Groff
(1838-1920)
Co. E, 31st NJ Volunteers
Private
Corporal
[NPS]
J. Stewart
(1825-1878)  
Henry E. Butler 
(1842-1933)
Co. C, 31st NJ Volunteers
Pvt. Joseph Gross
(1831-1915)
Batteries A & D,
1st NJ Artillery 
[NPS]
 
William Coit Thompson
(1840-1897)
 William Campbell
(1819-1900)
 
(Several of the same name
in various regiments)
Abram Gulick
(1840-1893)    
Moses J. Thorpe
(1845-1929)
Battery B, NJ Lt Artillery
  Dr. Joseph Swift Cook 
(1830-1903)
Assistant Surgeon
Co. F & S,
31st NJ Volunteers
 
[NPS]
George W. Hahn
(1842-1896)
(Multiple with same
name, different
regiments)
Pvt. Sylvester J. Tinsman
(1847-1906)
Co. I, 9th NJ Volunteers
 Robert Cooke 
(1818-1883)
 
{Several with same name
in different regiments)
 Pvt. George Hendershot
(1848-1902)
Co. E, 5th NJ Lt Artillery
Battery A, NJ 1st Lt Artillery
Battery E, NJ 1st Lt Artillery 
Jacob H. Trimmer
(1841-1908)
 
 Pvt. Daniel Cowell/Couell
(1841-1901)
Co. H, 8th NJ Volunteers 
[NPS]
 Pvt. George Hoffman
(1840-1905)
Co. H, 11th NJ Volunteers 
Henry B. Wandling
(1835-1912)
Co. B, 31st NJ Volunteers
 
Pvt./Dr. Henry Major Cox
(1843-1902)
Co. A, 3rd NJ Cavalry
 
[NPS]
Samuel Holden
(1832-1905)
 Co. G, 153rd PA Volunteers 
Adam C. Warne
(1844-1901)  
William Lewis Crane
(1829-1887) 
(Several with same name
in multiple regiments)
 Caleb H. Hollingshead
(1827-1915)
Co. B, 31st NJ Volunteers
 William C. Waters, Sr.
(1830-1915)
5th NJ Infantry
 Pvt. George Robbins Creveling
(1844-1928)
Co. B, 31st NJ Volunteers
[NPS]
Pvt. Ezra Judson Hutchings
(1841-1906)
Co. D, 1st NJ Volunteers
  
William Henry Weaver
(1844-1919)
Co. A, 11th NJ Volunteers
 Capt. Henry H. Crocker
(1839-1913)
Co. F, 2 MA Cavalry
2nd Lieutenant
Captain
Medal of Honor Recipient
for bravery at Battle of Cedar
Creek (VA) on 19 Oct 1864,
awarded on 10 Jan 1896
Wounded in battle
[NPS]

Pvt. Philip Crater Hutchings
(1842-1863)
Co. B, 31st NJ Volunteers
Died of typhoid fever in an
army camp near steamboat landing,
Belle Plains, VA
 
Jacob Weller
(1828-1920)  
Pvt. Gabrial B. Williams
(1828-1904)
Co. K, 15th NJ Volunteers  
Pvt. Alpheus Cyphers
(1829-1907)
Co B, 31st NJ Infantry 
[NPS]
Charles Jeffery
(1840-1924)
Co. B, 2nd NY Cavalry 
John R. Witte
(1839-1924)
Co. D, 1st NJ Infantry
Pvt. James H. Cyphers
(1833-1910)
Co. C, 15th NJ Volunteers
  
[NPS]
David Krise
(1841-1911)
Co. B, 31st NJ Volunteers
 
Lt. Wilson Dailey
(1836-1909)
Co. H & K, 73rd IN     
Originally filed under Wilson Daily 
Sergeant
2nd Lieutenant
[NPS]
Capt. John T. Langstaff
(1838-1914)
Commander Co. H, 30th PA
Emergency Infantry
 
Peter DaVann
(1827-1899)
Co. G, 2nd PA Cavalry
Pvt. Stephen D. Lanning
(1835-1926)
Co. I, 36th NJ Volunteers
 






Peter Davidson
(1827-1899)
2nd NJ 
Joseph Lee
(1843-1916)
CO. K, 31st NJ Volunteers
 
Newton C. Dealing
(1845-1921)
Co. H, 33rd NJ Volunteers
[NPS]
1st Lt. Frederick Longer
(1838-1913)
Co. H, 8th NJ Volunteers
 
Pvt. Isaac R. Deremer
(1838-1893)
Co. H, 15th NJ Volunteers 
[NPS]
Sgt. William R. Melroy
(1820-1888)
Co. H, 15th NJ Volunteers   
Sgt. William Deremer
(1844-1904)
Co. H, 15th NJ Infantry
Private
Sergeant
Originally filed under
William Dereamer
[NPS]
 Joseph J. Miller
(1848-1929)
Co. H, 35th NJ Volunteers
 

Veterans to be verified with Stryker's (American Revolution; Civil War Volumes 1 and 2; NPS Soldiers & Sailors).

The township consists of the smaller villages and hamlets of Bowerstown, Brass Castle, Butler Park, Changewater, Imlaydale, Pleasant Valley and Port Colden. 

RESOURCES

"Ancestor Search." Genealogy Search. Daughters of the Revolution. [Digital]

Cook, Lewis D. The American Genealogist, Vol. XXXIV.  Philadelphia, PA: 1958.

Cummins, George Wyckoff. The History of Warren County, New Jersey. 1911.

"Explore the Morris Canal." Canal Society of NJ. [Digital]

"Hamlets and Districts." Washington Township. [Digital]

Strykers, William Scutter. Official Register of the Officers and Men of New Jersey in the Revolutionary War. NJ Adjutant-General's Office, 1872. 

White Township

Incorporated by an act of the New Jersey Legislature on April 9, 1913

 The township of White was created from portions of Oxford Township, based on a referendum held on 1 May 1913. It was named for Alexander White (c. 1710-Sept 1776), who came to the area before 1760 and build his stone house called "The White House" which was located on CR 519/Phillipsburg-Belvidere Road near Roxburg, a small hamlet within the township. He married Mary McMurtrie (1711-1781), the daughter of 
     * The house burned down in 1924, and a man and his infant son were rescued by men from Belvidere who were on their way to work in Phillipsburg, NJ.
     * Alexander White's will, dated 17 Sept 1776.
     * His son, Captain Alexander McMurtrie White, Jr. (1752-1815) served in the American Revolution in the Army. HIs other son, Samuel Alexander White (1758-1841) enlisted in the Colonial Army a few months after turning 18 and left for war before his father drew his last will and testament. On 7 Sept 1776, Samuel was shot at Stoney Point (VA) and left for dead, then scalped by warring natives.  After the Revolution, Samuel returned to Sussex (Warren) Co. for five years, then relocated to Hardy Co., VA for 18 years, and Franklin Township, OH in 1805, where he remained until he died (Columbus, Franklin Co., OH) in 1841.

Alford Purchase
Alford Tract
[Find a Grave]

     * The Alford Tract was a 1,250-acre parcel of land in Warren County that now includes part of Belvidere, in Oxford Twp. Col. John Alford of Charlestown, MA Bay Colony was the original owner. The Tract was located along the Delaware, south of the Pequest River. It was recorded and filed in Burlington, NJ on 5 Nov 1750. ("McMurtrie Family")

The area of White Township is situated in the foothills of the Blue Mountains and bordered to the northwest by the Delaware River. The Limestone Quarry at Sarepta operated until 1910 and the lime would be loaded onto cars and shipped to Scranton, PA for iron production. The township also has glacial deposits including the gravel pits on two historic farms, deposits of sand (molding sand) on other farms ("White Township", 2). 

Originally, John C. Axford (1692-1771) and George Green received the land grant from the West Jersey proprietors in 1726. According to legend, they climbed Rattlesnake Hill (near Pequest Road, Oxford) to better see the land. While Green chose the western section, Axford chose the eastern. The border line is currently unknown, but Green claimed 1200 acres (along with his two brothers-- Samuel (1676-1760) and Thomas west of the Pequest that included Mt. Lake (formerly Green's Pond, Liberty Twp.). John Axford claimed 1600 acres and built his cabin near a big spring and steady stream of water in Oxford ("White Township", 3).
     * The "White Township" history booklet actually states that "William Axford" was the co-founder of the area. Modern documentation and histories show that it was actually John C. Axford.

The oldest continuous Presbyterian church on its original site in Warren County is the Oxford First Presbyterian Church in Hazen (founded 1744). There are several Revolutionary War soldiers buried here in addition to members of the Axford and Blair families. The original log church was built in 1734, and a newer brick structure was constructed in 1856. The church is located next to the ruins of the old 19th c. grist mill, which is adjacent to CR 519 alongside the slope above the creek.

OXF 1st Pres
Rendering of the Oxford First Presbyterian Church
[White Township History]

Revolutionary War.

 

Michael Banghart 
(1740-1824)

      Sgt. John Linn 
    (1741-1844)
    Captain Manning's Co.,
    1st NJ Regiment.
    Private in Captain Manning's Co.,
    1st Regiment, Sussex Co.,
    Pr
    omoted to Sergeant
    There are two John Linns listed on 
    Find a Grave in the cemetery,
    but there appears to only be
    one marker.
    [Stryker, page 467]

      Captain John Craig 
    (1750-1829)
    Captain of 4th Regiment Light Dragoons, Continental Army
    [Stryker, 
    page 59]
      Pvt George Hidlay, Sr. 
    (1735-1794)
    Aerved in Capt. Francis Rhoad's Northampton Co., PA Militia
    Captain Joseph Mackey 
    (1741-1798)
    Captain of the 1st Regiment of
    NJ Militia Troops, Sussex Co. [Stryker, 
    page 675

      Judge John W. McMurtrie 
    (1738-1792)

    Members of John Insley Blair's (1802-1899) immediate family members are buried in this cemetery and he erected the black granite obelisk monument.

     James Blair 
    (1769-1816)
    Father
    Worked at the
    Oxford Furnace
    company's wharf
    on the Delaware River,
    just south of the Foul Rift.
     John Blair, Sr. 
    (1718-1798)
    Grandfather
    Rachel Insley Blair 
    (1777-1857)
    Mother
     

     Mary Hazlett Blair 
    (1734-1819)
    G
    randmother

    William Blair 
    (c. 1800-1866)
    Brother
     

    John I. Blair was born near Foul Rift (Rifton) on 22 Aug 1802. 

    The other cemeteries located in White Township include:  Summerfield Methodist Cemetery, White-Davidson-Roxburg Cemetery (private property), Buttzville Methodist Episcopal Cemetery, and Lower Hazen Cemetery. There are many veterans in these cemeteries, mostly from the Civil War through modern wars.

    Rev War (RW) Civil War (CW) veterans at these cemeteries include the following men:

     BUTTZVILLE  LOWER HAZEN  SUMMERFIELD  WHITE-DAVIDSON-ROXBURG
     John S. Banghart
    (1837-1916)
    Co. I, 31st NJ
    CW
    [NPS]

    Mark Blessing
    (1835-1918)
    Co. H, 174th PA
    Pvt. "Mox" Blessing
    CW
    [NPS]

    Samuel L. Cole
    (1831-1892)
    CW 
    (Too many
    same name,
    different regiments)
    Lt. Charles McHenry
    (1743-1812)
    5th PA
    RW

     Pvt. Charles Flatt 
    (1832-1923)
    Co. I, 31st NJ
    CW
    [NPS]

    Samuel B. Danley
    (1838-1916) 
    Co. B, 15th NJ
    CW
    [NPS]
     Levi Dalrymple
    (1827-1898)
    CW
     
    Lt. John Robbins
    (1828-1896)
    Co. E, 31st NJ
    Sgt.
    2nd Lt.
    CW
    [NPS]
    James Gould
    (1836-1929)
    Co. E, 35th NJ
    CW 
    [NPS]

    Pvt. Justice "Jessie" L. Force
    (1829-1890)
    Co. H, 15th NJ
     
    CW 
    [NPS]
     
     William J. Wallen
    (1843-1918)
    Co. H, 7th NJ
    CW
    [NPS]
    George W. Linn
    (1824-1900)
    Co. K, 132nd PA
    CW
    [NPS]

       
     Andrew R. Wildrick
    (1830-1918)
    Co. C, 31st NJ
    CW
    [NPS]
    John Raisley
    (1836-1917)
    Co. I, 31st NJ
     
    CW
       
     

    George Rissmiller
    (1836-1895)
    Co. 1, 153rd PA
    George Rismiller
    CW
    [NPS]

       
      Pvt. John P. Taylor
    (1840-1914)
    Co. H, 9th NJ
     
    CW
    [NPS]
       

     Verification through Strykers Volumes 1 and 2, Soldiers & Sailors (NPS) and others.

    *     The 9th NJ was led by Capt. Joseph J. Henry (1834-1862), Oxford, who died on the first day of battle and was the first NJ officer to die in battle.

    There were numerous iron mining operations in White Township that included the Barton, Riddle, McQueen, and Dalhke mines, which were situated in the vicinity of the Edison Lime Stone Quarries, Pequest Iron mines, the Shoemaker & Roseberry mines (Deep Hollow) and others. The Oxford Furnace, when put into blast around 1743, consumed 300 to 400 bushels of charcoal, which was used to produce the iron. Old charcoal pits were located on a few of the older farms. The need for this fuel source, which predated the arrival of anthracite coal transported on the Morris Canal, resulted in a depletion of timber in the area. In the 19th c., the Scranton family (Oxford Iron Co.) owned all mineral rights and Robeson & Maxwell, George W. & Selden T. Scranton owned all of the mines in this township by 24 March 1858 ("White Township", 5).  

    The Pequest Furnace was erected in 1873 and produced 10,000 tons per year (as compared to the 16,000 tons the Oxford Iron Co. produced).  The Pequest Furnace ceased operation about 30 years after it first began. It is possible that William Henry Scranton (1840-1889), son of George W. Scranton (1811-1861), ran the Pequest Furnace in the early years. Soon after, it was obtained by Cooper & Hewitt, who owned the iron operations at the Andover Furnace (Phillipsburg), Durham (PA) and Long Pond (Ringwood) around the same time. The Lehigh & Hudson River Railroad (LHRR) ran along the lower part of the Pequest Furnace (along modern-day Route 46) and the Pequest Furnace Railroad (also referred to as the Warren Railroad) that broke off from the old Lackawanna main line ran above the furnace. 
         * George W. Scranton and his brother, Selden, were originally affiliated with the Oxford Furnace property when William Henry left it in their charge so he could return to PA. George was the founder of the Lackawanna Iron & Coal Co. and the city of Scranton, PA. He served as president of two railroad companies, elected Republican to the 36th and 37th Congresses (serving from 4 March 1859 to his death in Scranton, PA on 24 March 1861). 
         * Cooper & Hewitt purchased ironworks, property and iron mines in the mid to late 19th c., including the Trenton Iron Co. (built in 1845), blast furnaces in Phillipsburg (built 1847), mines at Ringwood, NJ (purchased 1853), and the Durham Iron Works in PA (purchased 1870).

     Pequest Furnace 1
    Pequest Furnace
    [WCCHA Archives]

    The first Warren County fair ("The Warren County Farmers, Mechanics and Manufacturing Association") was organized on 17 March 1859 and on grounds leased by Abraham McMurtrie (1789-1861), about a mile south of Belvidere on two fields adjacent to CR 519.  The first fair was held on 11-14 Oct 1859 and was largely attended ("White Township History", 6).  

    County Fair on Rt 519 just outside of Belvidere
    Warren County Fair, Belvidere
    [WCCHA Archives]

    Rail lines traversed White Township, specifically in Buttzville, Manuka Chunk, Bridgeville, and Pequest. The Bridgeville Station was located north of Route 46 on CR 519. The tracks were removed in 1970 and the buildings are currently being used by modern businesses.


    DLW Railroad Bridge and Rt 30 (now 46)
    [Metrotrails]

    White Township consists of Buttzville, Rifton/Foul Rift, Brookfield, Manuka Chunk, Lommason Glen, Summerfield, Pequest and Bridgeville.

    Resources.

    "McMurtrie Family of Sussex/Warren Co., NJ."  Rootsweb. [Digital]

    "Pequest Watershed." Skylands Visitor. 2022. [Digital]

    Stryker, William Scudder. Official Register of the Officers and Men of New Jersey in the Revolutionary War. Adjutant-General's Office. University of Toronto. 1872. [Digital

    "What did God wrought? Mines Metal and Men: The Pequest Furnace." Skylands Visitor. Winter 2002/2025. [Digital]

    "White Mansion Burned Down; Man and Child Nearly Perished." Easton Argus. 20 Sept 1924. [Digital]

    White Township History from the Days of the Indian to the Present. Tercentenary Committee of White Township. 1964. [Digital